Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Qualitative Research by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
416 ratings

About the Course

In this course, the second in the Market Research Specialization, you will go in-depth with qualitative market research methods, from design to implementation to analysis. Week 1: Define qualitative research and how it differs from quantitative research. Explore the various qualitative research methods and evaluate when and how to use them for your research project. Week 2: Design the qualitative instruments necessary for your interviews or focus groups, and plan your recruitment efforts. Write questions and prompts to ask in an interview or focus group. Design a moderator guide and a screening questionnaire to use when recruiting your participants. Week 3: Recruit participants for your focus group and apply techniques to ensure they show up and participate. Act as a moderator during your focus group and apply strategies to handle various types of situations. Probe responses and engage participants in a group discussion, while collecting qualitative data and keep the discussion moving. Week 4: Organize and analyze the data you have collected. Transcribe the audio from your focus group or interview and interpret your notes. Write a focus group report that can be presented to your stakeholders and see how this information might relate to your quantitative research. Take Qualitative Research as a standalone course or as part of the Market Research Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Research Report: Initiating Research, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top reviews

DS

Sep 6, 2020

Really good! But be sure to take up the first courses if you're new to Market Research, and honestly, if you already have experience in this. You will learn a lot! :D Very recommendable

AR

Jul 4, 2023

I felt like this course did a pretty good job equipping you to write and understand screeners, qualitative questions, and tackle all the steps involved in a focus group.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 85 Reviews for Qualitative Research

By Flt L G R

May 16, 2020

THANKS

By Mark D

May 27, 2020

I would have liked to see more about the thematic analysis. There are now some very good low cost or free Computer Assisted Qualitative Analysis System.

By Descartes D

Oct 28, 2019

This course is very interesting. Explanations were clear and in a short period (4 weeks) I learned a lot about qualitative research. Thanks!

By Devkant K

May 3, 2020

Well designed and nicely delivered.

By Paras V

Jul 2, 2020

nyc work mam

By John P D

Oct 11, 2020

I enjoyed Prof. Suzan presentations,

It was so exciting and impressive.

I will pass the message to my colleagues, and I hope to complete my journey throughout the Market Search course.

Again, thanks a lot Prof. Suzan for your kind and motivational teaching.

Sincerely,

John Paco Dradria

By Rohan N

Feb 13, 2022

I got In -depth Knowledge about qualitative research. It teaches us both theoretical and practical knowledge. The facilitator of the course is highly knowledgable and skillfull. Learnt a lot about general research and qualitative research

By Alena A

Jul 5, 2020

I found the course rather challenging, but it was fun nevertheless. Susan Berman is an excellent teacher. I particularly appreciated her practical approach and the possibility to view sample documents after completing the task.

By Abigail R

Jul 5, 2023

I felt like this course did a pretty good job equipping you to write and understand screeners, qualitative questions, and tackle all the steps involved in a focus group.

By Erica C

Dec 1, 2022

Esse é um curso muito completo para quem tem interesse em pesquisa de mercado. As atividades são envolventes e , de fato, proporcionam aprendizado.

By Malini R

Aug 25, 2020

Worth doing the course,very well explained sessions, review questions help us check if we understood concepts correctly, a good experience

By Khup S

Oct 6, 2022

Excellent course to understand Qualitative Research. gained new skills and knowledge alfter completeing the course. highly recommended.

By Sruthi M

Feb 13, 2023

Helped me a lot in understanding focus group discussions.Thank you.

I loved the way the classes were conducted and the course criteria.

By Rose J

Oct 23, 2023

wonderfully designed course and this lays a great foundation for a qualitative research for those who aim to explore the field.

By Anup B

Jul 28, 2020

Wonderful course. The energy level of the instructor is something I admire. I am glad that I enrolled for this course.

By Ikhtiar A

Sep 19, 2023

Excellent course and method. The material presented in video and assignment were more beneficial in learning process.

By Arushi G

Sep 8, 2021

The course provided a complete round for qualitative research. It was amazing studying from wonderful instructors.

By Lucy W

Jul 11, 2022

The course is very well designed and presented. The instructor is amazing, and I enjoyed the classes very much.

By Partha S

May 18, 2022

Excellent content and wornderful insights. SOme more downloadable docs or handouts would be appreciated.

By Tetyana C

Oct 7, 2020

the course is very understandable and instructor is great, very good presentation and explanation.

By Vijeta K

Jun 17, 2020

Susan ma'am is really awesome & the way she has given the real example of focus group is amazing.

By Muthia C

Apr 9, 2023

All the learning materials, lectures, and assignments are well-prepared and well-thought.

By Tarun G

Jan 17, 2022

Good course. It gives a lot of clarity to perform activities which can be recognized.

By Monica H

May 14, 2021

Informative, hands-on approach to learning about qualitative research. Really good!

By Christian D G R

Jul 27, 2020

Nice course and Susan was a really great professional, Greeting from Colombia.