Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,718 ratings
610 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

GM
Nov 15, 2020

Excellent course! Well narrated, even entertaining, VERY well structured, with supporting material, and a great mix of theory and examples or discussions. Perhaps the best MOOC I've ever encountered.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 603 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Tien P

Aug 25, 2016

Good lectures, well-designed videos and tests. However, coordinators are low responsive. No extra reading is provided.

By Liam M

Apr 26, 2018

Good although the peer review system needs work and the quizzes that pop up during videos are annoying and useless

By Rejane R d C P

Oct 19, 2020

Very nice course. I learned a lot. Assessments really make you progress in learning, despite being demanding.

By Yifat B B

Jun 7, 2020

I am a Ph.D. student and this course has greatly contributed to my understanding of social science research.

By Cesar G V R

Feb 15, 2016

Es buen curso

Es una buena introducción a la metodología de la investigación cuantitativa. Muy recomendable

By Andrzej W

Jul 3, 2017

It was a good course, although it could have been better with more practical approach. Thanks!

By Sathyajith M 1

Jun 3, 2020

I was able to understand a lot more about research methods by doing this course.

By Juan K A

Mar 16, 2018

I recommend it because in did increase my knowledge in social science methods

By Joe M

Feb 1, 2017

Good content, good ideas, great examples. The forums were a little abandoned.

By Vibhor B

Oct 22, 2020

The videos are comprehensive and the assignments really test your learning

By Hanneke L

Jan 13, 2020

Love the videos and the clear explanations of all concepts discussed.

By Georgina D

Jul 8, 2019

Great course. Broad scope and hones in on important ethical aspects.

By Tobias R A

Jul 29, 2020

A very good course, with very good examples, lectures and exams

By ThomasIwalla

Mar 2, 2019

A very intensive course. Learnt a lot from the course so far.

By Jennifer P

May 7, 2016

Good pacing, good explanations, reasonable expectations.

By 婉佑 田

Aug 17, 2016

it's really good for a student in planning department.

By Toshan M

Nov 19, 2018

Good introduction to statistics and social science.

By Chris C

Aug 24, 2020

Very interesting but could have been more rigorous

By Enchill G L

Nov 14, 2020

It is a pleasure and great to learn this course.

By Fabian G

Dec 2, 2015

Interesting and concise. Straight to the point.

By Bartosz K

Dec 10, 2015

Great content and delivered in a clear way.

By Mahalakshmi V

Sep 11, 2020

good and easy understandable subject

By Juan S B M

Jan 12, 2017

very good course, well structured!!

By Madiha G

Aug 13, 2020

Good one for beginners

By PUSPARGHYA S

Aug 29, 2020

THIS HELPS A LOT.