Chevron Left
Back to Data Science in Real Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science in Real Life by Johns Hopkins University

4.4
1,545 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever had the perfect data science experience? The data pull went perfectly. There were no merging errors or missing data. Hypotheses were clearly defined prior to analyses. Randomization was performed for the treatment of interest. The analytic plan was outlined prior to analysis and followed exactly. The conclusions were clear and actionable decisions were obvious. Has that every happened to you? Of course not. Data analysis in real life is messy. How does one manage a team facing real data analyses? In this one-week course, we contrast the ideal with what happens in real life. By contrasting the ideal, you will learn key concepts that will help you manage real life analyses. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on doing data science in real life. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to: 1, Describe the “perfect” data science experience 2. Identify strengths and weaknesses in experimental designs 3. Describe possible pitfalls when pulling / assembling data and learn solutions for managing data pulls. 4. Challenge statistical modeling assumptions and drive feedback to data analysts 5. Describe common pitfalls in communicating data analyses 6. Get a glimpse into a day in the life of a data analysis manager. The course will be taught at a conceptual level for active managers of data scientists and statisticians. Some key concepts being discussed include: 1. Experimental design, randomization, A/B testing 2. Causal inference, counterfactuals, 3. Strategies for managing data quality. 4. Bias and confounding 5. Contrasting machine learning versus classical statistical inference Course promo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BIYmw5wnBI Course cover image by Jonathan Gross. Creative Commons BY-ND https://flic.kr/p/q1vudb...
Highlights
Statistics review
(44 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Aug 20, 2017

A very good and concise course that helps to understand the basics of the Data Science and its applications. The examples are very relevant and helps to understand the topic easily.

ES

Nov 12, 2017

Highly educational course on the realities of data analysis. Many good tips for your own analyses as well as for managing others responsible for coherent and accurate analyses.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 184 Reviews for Data Science in Real Life

By HYUN K

Mar 13, 2017

This class was bit more difficult than the previous ones and it requires really focused attention on understanding the subject matter. The course is intended to improve your understanding in subjects of surrogate variables, and how to become a better database manager. Excellent course!

By Joseph G

Dec 29, 2016

The other courses in the exec series are a little simple. This started to address some core analysis issues and how to address them in a real life situation. A good reminder and thought provoker on what should be trying to do within the enterprise

By Scott R H

Jun 05, 2016

Great information. For real newbies like me, might help to review basic concepts a few times (e.g. what does "p" mean? I know it was explained, but didn't grasp it the first time, helps if I hear it a few times, etc.) But, hey, you guys have done a fantastic job pulling all this together and teaching it at the 30,000 ft. view level. So great job.

By Abid C

Jul 10, 2017

It is not easy to make experience fell like "a simple" course, congratulation and thank-you .

By Elliot S

Nov 12, 2017

Highly educational course on the realities of data analysis. Many good tips for your own analyses as well as for managing others responsible for coherent and accurate analyses.

By Asif J

Mar 27, 2017

this course gave good foundation.

By Terry L J

Jun 30, 2017

Good information.

By SagarSrinivas

Oct 03, 2017

It's too good!.

By Julien N

Feb 20, 2018

I really liked the approach of this class --comparing pure theory with what could possibly happen in real life!

This gave us a nice palette of problems and some tips about corresponding techniques / tools that can be used to solve them.

By Christos G

Sep 01, 2017

Smartly selected topics for an executive course. Well balanced between theory and examples.

By David G

Dec 14, 2016

Nice course thx

By LEE S B

Mar 22, 2017

Thanks for the awesome content!!!

By Chris S

Jul 18, 2016

Like this one as well as the others in the series

By Gabriel U U

May 26, 2018

Great Learning experience

By Matthias L

Aug 27, 2017

This is very useful and a good primer on what to look out for when working in real life. Well done!

By ANDREA G F

Aug 15, 2017

great comparison between ideal data results and what happens in real life

By Allen J M A

Oct 19, 2017

Very engaging topic. The course will provide a very good and practical application of data science in real-world scenarios. The course materials are quite enough to gain understanding on the different topics presented. Kudos JHU!

By Sohail B

Sep 23, 2017

Brief Profile: Sohail Butt

I am a man of 58 years old and having an experience of almost 30 years of Business Management of Pharmaceutical & Nutraceutical Industries of Pakistan. Presently I am having my own Consulting Company " AIMMS CONSULTING" and extending my services as Management Consultant to different companies of said sectors.

I am of the conviction that learning is never ending and have a habit of learning new ideas about my favorite subject about Data Science. Although I have the limited usage of this subject in my working areas but I love to know about new areas of different specialties.

I really appreciate highly the efforts of Mr. BRIAN CAFFO and enjoyed the course material and videos presentation of this course. Mind blowing approach was adopted especially in the basic components of Data Science in Real Life.

SUGGESTION:

MY PERSONAL HUMBLE REQUEST, Please make also the important components of course material as a part of this Certificate with % AGGREGATE so that it has a much more worth & impact for the courses participated.

A separate Transcript must be issued with having Aggregate % Score and important Components of participated course.

Hard Copy of this certificate mail to my home address in Pakistan. Please use my credit card,I am ready to pay all expenses in this connection.

Thanks & best wishes to all Coursera Team.

By Martin B

Jun 19, 2018

Enjoyed it very much. Keep it up guys ;-) Greetings from germany

By John E

Dec 11, 2017

Very helpful overview

By Alberto D E

May 14, 2018

A crash course on what can go wrong in real Data Science projects, and how to improve your chances of success.

By austin v v

Apr 24, 2018

Another great lesson series.

By 周宁 N Z L

Mar 28, 2016

Practical using the data science in real life, a lot of extending learning.

By Leonardo J T G

Apr 17, 2018

very interesting, nice examples !!!!

By Peter E

Mar 12, 2017

Brian Caffo does a terrific job teaching some of more advanced material, I very much appreciate his jokes and humor, as well as his helpful explanations of the material.