Chevron Left
Back to Development of Real-Time Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Development of Real-Time Systems by EIT Digital

4.5
303 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended for the Master's student and computer engineer who likes practical programming and problem solving! After completing this course, you will have the knowledge to plan and set-up a real-time system both on paper and in practice. The course centers around the problem of achieving timing correctness in embedded systems, which means to guarantee that the system reacts within the real-time requirements. Examples of such systems include airbags, emergency breaks, avionics, and also multi-media systems like video playback and QoS in web servers. The course teaches how to plan real-time systems in theory using established mathematical proofs and how to implement them in practice by using the most common scheduling methods. We also learn and how to program the system in the C language using the FreeRTOS real-time kernel. Finally we have a look at the future of real-time systems namely multi-core real-time systems! This course focus on the learn-by-doing approach with many examples and real-world programming assignments. We have 5 modules, each with a gentle graded quiz in the end and one peer reviewed programming assignment. In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform The course is actually quite fun! -Simon Holmbacka / Åbo Akademi University Check out our whole curriculum: https://research.it.abo.fi/...

Top reviews

LP

Jul 12, 2017

Real-Time systems are very demanded nowadays. Excellent course to review some aspects in this field or to learn everything from the beginning.

GT

Apr 23, 2018

I feel having in depth analysis on various scheduling algorithms would be helpful. I have learnt many things from this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 70 Reviews for Development of Real-Time Systems

By Eslam M A A

Sep 17, 2018

great course and contents but It needs more practical examples with embedded systems

By david w

Feb 28, 2019

Thrilled to see a course on this fairly obscure, but essential topic. Thank you!

By nayir

Feb 11, 2019

low quality course, it never talk in core of real time systems.

it takes it from a mathematical prospective which made me confused and not interested in completing this course

By Aleksander R

Dec 03, 2018

Отличный курс!

By nikhil

Mar 23, 2019

NICE

By kim g

Apr 04, 2019

Great class covers a lot of real time systems and scheduling using the SimSo, and FreeRtos tools

By BAKACHE A

Dec 05, 2018

Good course...Thank you

By K S K

Aug 11, 2018

The course was very informative and what I was exactly looking for. The Peer graded assignments were also well curated.

By VARICHITTY K

Oct 15, 2018

NICE COURSE AND EXCELLENT TEACHING

By Alampally N

Oct 27, 2018

good

By Muhammad O M

Nov 08, 2018

Very Good Course which starts from basics of real time systems and gives a flavor of complexities involved in the development of real time systems. Excellent for start Real time systems Development journey...

By Sriram K

Apr 11, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By SFUA

Apr 20, 2017

Great course

By Durga A S

Jul 16, 2016

A must for beginners. Loved the way of teaching and assignments help in self-learning

By Sandesh A

Nov 05, 2017

It is not a beginner level course. Very good theory. Tutorials on FreeRTOS would have been helpful for those who have not used any RTOS api before. Assignments are good but more advanced questions would have been helpful to get a better grasp on RTOS. Request you to provide advance level course. Overall very good material and teaching. Thanks a lot.

By Roberto H

Oct 16, 2017

Really good course .. thanks a lot ¡¡

By Jackson H

May 11, 2016

Excellent Course!

By Nikos P

Jul 15, 2017

The course absolutely covers in detail all the subjects mentioned in the syllabus. The assignments are well-designed and good for an introductory course in real-time systems. The lecturer and all the mentors are doing an amazing job supporting the course . If only there were further courses to advance in this subject !

By Myrzakhanov Y

Mar 16, 2018

thanks for tasks

By Sunit

May 22, 2018

This is an excellent. Most of us know Operating System very well. But when we add "Realtime" to it then it turns out we have just some general idea about it. This course lets us gain deep insight into Realtime system and let's us know what to expect from a real time system.

By Y.SaiKrishna S

Jul 04, 2016

Awesome.

By Srinivasan S

Oct 08, 2017

A good blend of theory and practice that gives deeper understanding and arriving at solutions in RTS

By Kaustubh M

Apr 07, 2018

Good course for beginners who like to study RealTime systems

By Dimas F

Oct 30, 2017

more RTOS and FreeRTOS with various platform pls

By jose c

May 02, 2018

Great course