Chevron Left
Back to Refugees in the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Refugees in the 21st Century by University of London

4.8
stars
366 ratings
129 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC provides insight into the refugee phenomenon as one of the most complex, compelling and (arguably) misunderstood features of the 21st century. Taking a global perspective, it will outline the fundamentals of who ‘refugees’ are, where they come from and where they go, as well as delving into the features of the global system for refugee protection and ‘solutions’ for those who have been forcibly displaced. It places the student at the centre of the learning experience through engagement with a range of robust and challenging activities, materials and online peer engagement....

Top reviews

OA
Jan 18, 2021

Thank you so much Prof DAVID AND PROF SARAH, you both made this course very interesting and educative. l am leaving here with an enlighten mind on issues that borders migration and refugees.

DT
Mar 23, 2021

Thanks a lot, a must for people interested in social science, it gives an approach as to how governments, ONG's and UNHCR address these topics, the background and the challenges ahead

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 131 Reviews for Refugees in the 21st Century

By Greta b

Dec 3, 2020

Very insightful and well-structured!

By Muhammad I R

Oct 5, 2020

Indeed a great learning opportunity!

By Aquib R

Sep 21, 2020

its really good and informative.

By Krishna P प

Aug 28, 2020

I love the course. Thank You.

By Hilda O

Apr 6, 2021

Invaluable information!!

By Abdisamad A A

Jul 14, 2021

a well designed course

By Ariadne K

Jan 4, 2021

Excellent tutoring !

By Juliette R

Aug 8, 2021

​Very good course!

By Radha K

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent course

By Gargi J

May 14, 2021

Great Course

By Mona A A

Jul 11, 2020

good

By Lale A

Sep 29, 2020

I am professional working as a caseworker, even for me this was a great course to compile my knowledge and have a look at general issues related with refugees and migration. I updated what I knew up until now. The only thing is missing is global migration theories, I would like to see those. Enjoyed all videos, syllabus, forums and discussions. Thank you!

By Andrea C d S

Apr 6, 2020

Although the reedings were very informative and insightful, I would have liked to have more recorded lessons from the professor with slides, or maybe even recorded interviews with professional who see the realities in the field. But over all, I learned a lot! I am looking forward to an opportunity to work with refugees. Thank you! Andrea

By sophie b

Mar 30, 2021

Thank you for this course. It was clear and gives a good overview of the evolution of the UN policies acoording to refugees and IDPs' rights. It allows us to think the future of the displacements that will take place in the next decades. Thank you again. If I could, I would enter the MA "Refugee Protection and Forced Migration Studies".

By Rameshwari

Apr 7, 2020

The overall reading material provided for the course was good. The major area of improvement could be the course managers explaining the nuances of such an important subject. I also felt that the grading could be done with more Q&As. And if possible, there could be more recommendations for books written on this subject. Thank you.

By Ana V A

Feb 14, 2021

Very good course! It helps to understand the complex problem of refugees, as well as the actions that are being carried out and what remains to be done.

The assignments helps to share opinions with other students. Highly recommended to anyone interested in social issues or international conflicts.

By Arsene M

Jun 28, 2020

This is an excellent and resourceful course. It provides theories and practical notes with figures of refugees since their origin, current situation and project some lights to future considerations. I recommend it to everyone especially those humanitarians.

By Olivia B

Aug 7, 2021

Very interesting course - perhaps more of a mix of videos and interviews, interactive activities and readings would increase the attractiveness of the course, as opposed to the set structure of intro video, list of readings and discussions.

By 19-UEC-280 J K

Oct 12, 2020

This course presented valuable information to me as it helped me get some awareness of the global refugee crisis, I think the presentations could use some work other than that a solid 4 stars from me keep up the great work!

By Kamilia E

May 18, 2020

The course is for beginners who wish to accumulate fundamental and essential knowledge about refugees, and stateless, and IDP. It has informative readings and interesting assignments.

By Trevor P

Apr 27, 2020

Covers the very basics of the current refugee crises and the surrounding international efforts to mitigate them. A good balance of accessibility with insightful material and concepts.

By joel s

Oct 26, 2020

Good i had enjoyed the course and all material within to it.(text , videos, film) I will have a different point of view on migrants, refugees

By Rosalinda S

Aug 18, 2020

The course offers good insight to the problematic of the contemporary phenomena of refugees. I would appreciate more videos from the lectures.

By Ishika m

May 1, 2020

Good Contents. The course covered overall basics of Refugee studies. Would have been better if more interactive videos were used as materials.

By Jen H

May 14, 2020

Great course! The subject matter was a great mix of foundational and current, applicable, issues, and scenarios.