Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.8
stars
801 ratings

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

JB

Jun 15, 2021

Amazing! I am happy to see how it is possible to obtain good results by sharing with plurality and concern for inclusion. I learned a lot, with direct practical use in my current roles in my company.

MS

Jan 18, 2021

Thank you for this opportunity. I learned a lot from this Course.This is very relevant. I will definitely recommend this course to my workmates and peers who are currently working from their homes.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 285 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Hisham Z

Jan 27, 2022

The course was very helpful for those who plan to transfer the work to Remote, and discuss many topics in this field. I advise strongly to be taken.

By Kristi T

Nov 3, 2022

This course hilighted many topics and aspects I had not considered before. Truly valuable course from people who know what they are talking about.

By Donna-Luisa E

Apr 14, 2021

Excellent Course. Would recommend for most companies to have their teams use this as a point to pivot from. Its a lot of information in bite sizes.

By Oskar B

Jul 16, 2022

Course had a lot of interesting documentation and ideas, I'm impressed in all the info Gitlab has developed and shared with everyone. Thanks!

By BMG

Nov 16, 2020

Great course! I love the transparency that GitLab is offering the community. I've downloaded the online handbook to use for future endeavors.

By paul w

Feb 8, 2021

Really comprehensive course - the assignment and feedback at the end was particularly useful in creating an actionable transition plan.

By Jacob A W

Jan 12, 2021

Really enjoyed learning how Gitlab is scaling remote work and the links they provided for self-studying to learn from their experience.

By André d O

Dec 9, 2022

Curso Excelente, pude aprender bastante no sentido de ajustar e aperfeiçoar os valores para capacitar uma equipe multidisciplinar.

By Valentinos H

Nov 20, 2020

An excelent course highlighting the key aspects of remote work from truly professional and experience pople . Very well presented .

By Adam J

Mar 21, 2022

Thorough treatment of an important, emerging topic with excellent resources. Foundational to navigating the new work environment.

By Pierce

Nov 20, 2021

Informative ad timely. It's worth checking out for the course materials alone (GitLab's employee manual and guide to remote work).

By Christina K

Mar 18, 2021

Very concise in the overview and outline of the course. Trainers were great and although prerecorded still came over as engaging.

By Reinaldo B N

Mar 23, 2021

The course provides a high level framework and valuable insights to support planning the transition to a remote work structure.

By Pradeep K I

Mar 13, 2022

The course taught me a lot, and I intend to use this knowledge to improve my leadership skills and move on to the next level.

By Sebastian O

Jan 6, 2021

Very good course to be prepert and educated for remote working - especially recommended for leadership and management people!

By Julio B

Jul 4, 2022

Este curso muestra las herramientas para manejar un equipo remoto y los puntos que se deben tener presente para lograr esto.

By Ernesto A R

Oct 4, 2020

Excellent course about remoting cultura, values and best practices. I will recommend all managers in my company to take it.

By Marcelo M C

Mar 30, 2021

very objective, with rich content for people with and without experience in remote work. It's possible to do it in 1 week.

By Caroline K D R

Apr 27, 2021

A very helpful tool to understand the "new normal" trend of working environment and how I can manage my team remotely

By Michele T

Apr 21, 2021

Great course, absolutely and extremely important nowadays! Also great the "open resources" approach! Congratulations!

By Matthieu B

Feb 1, 2021

Great insights and training is clear. I appreciated it is made from people that experienced remote work first hands.

By Ang B T

Jul 28, 2022

Very good course and sharing view available around the world. How a company improve in working culture, I gain alot

By Francisco B C

Jun 8, 2021

I found it very useful during these times of uncertainty and helpful to redirect the course of my management skills

By Chen C

Jun 5, 2021

This course contains very useful insights to help everyone is preparing to transform her team to be remote ready.

By Yago R

Feb 2, 2021

It was a wonderful experience to understand how a full-remote company works! Thank you for this amazing course.