Chevron Left
Back to Reviews & Metrics for Software Improvements

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Reviews & Metrics for Software Improvements by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,472 ratings
187 reviews

About the Course

This course covers techniques for monitoring your projects in order to align client needs, project plans, and software production. It focuses on metrics and reviews to track and improve project progress and software quality....

Top reviews

VS
Jun 2, 2020

Does let you know practices that help in making the right product that is managed right and done right, with retrospective techniques that can be implemented after the project is completed.

I
May 5, 2020

In this course, I lean a lot of things based on review and metrics for software, such as sprint iteration, project iteration, daily scrum, project perspective, and many more.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 180 Reviews for Reviews & Metrics for Software Improvements

By Ajay C

Feb 22, 2016

Very nice content and presented so nicely. Must read and highly recommended course for all managers and business analysts.

By Seyed M H M

Aug 18, 2019

Generally was a good course although I've expected more metrics for product like HEART and Pirate

By Jacob C

Apr 27, 2016

Great course to learn all about tracking progress in your software project

By Rafik B

Feb 20, 2020

I learned a lot and it will help me understand the processes much better

By Helen G F

Feb 13, 2019

It was challenging but Coursera made learning easy. Student must focus!

By Sumit G

Mar 8, 2017

Pretty good course, although could have been a bit more exhaustive

By Kevin S

Jun 22, 2017

One of the best parts of the specialization! Really recommended

By Victor U

Aug 10, 2017

Good course, but it reviewed items found in other courses.

By Konstantin K

Sep 15, 2017

Good of reviews. A few of metrics

By Baby J M

May 21, 2017

Very helpful training. Thank you.

By Pratik

Aug 4, 2020

Include a practical video

By sumit a

Apr 3, 2019

very Helpful

By Raghu K V

Mar 18, 2016

Good Course.

By Chanchal D

May 9, 2020

Thank You

By Jose H L

Dec 24, 2016

excelente

By Duy P

Jul 15, 2017

good

By Freek d B

Dec 22, 2018

It's challenging to teach and learn product management through an online course. You can get an overview of the important topics and learn the theory, but this doesn't enable discussion, exchanging experiences, and forming balanced opinions. A product management does a lot of her/his work by talking (to many different people involved), which is very difficult to train online (it could be done with role playing assignments supported by video conferencing, but I think learning from experienced colleagues in practice is a much better way). The quizzes are often a good way to rehearse the topics that have been explained, but sometimes feel like an extremely simplified black-white view on very nuanced issues.

The best parts of the Software Product Management courses for me were the larger assignments you make that are reviewed by fellow students (getting feedback is very useful and it's also instructive to see what approach your peers took) and the interviews with experienced product managers which offer valuable insights in the complicated situations product managers often have to deal with.

I recommend this course to anyone that is new to software product management and quite new to software development. The course can be a good first step on your path to becoming a product manager, as long as you realize that you will also need a lot of skills that an online course cannot teach you.

By Subob H S

May 17, 2020

I think the lesson about Project Retrospective is too "theoretical" instead of applicable. I don't known n the real world industry outside my country (Indonesia), I have been in few companies and discussing about project retrospective with my colleague in the same fields, this is quite "awkward" to be done.

And I think you should also include more examples of business metrics that widely used for software product like CVR (conversion rate), TPV (total purchase volume), Chunk Rate, etc

By Oleksandr K

Apr 25, 2018

I feel the information given in this course would have been better served in parts of other courses. Comparing to other courses in this specialization, this one felt very dull and not useful on its own.

By Han Y W

Mar 20, 2016

Should include recent material. A reference book from 2001 is very out of date, especially in the software world.

By Abdullah S

Jun 20, 2020

Needs improvement. All previous courses are excellent. Not this one, however.

By Hugo A C G d S A

Feb 25, 2017

There was some nice content, but not practical enoough

By Hussein H

Mar 7, 2016

More assignments would help reinforce learning

By Medhat M

Aug 14, 2018

Too boring course...

By mostafa-ibraheem

Mar 27, 2018

ambiguity language