Chevron Left
Back to Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.7
stars
693 ratings

About the Course

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Top reviews

RS

Sep 14, 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

SM

Jul 18, 2022

Very informative and well presented. Professor Kenez gives a thorough explanation of why Russia is what it is. It's the history from the Czarist regime to the common era. Thank you, Professor!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 260 Reviews for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

By Cristina C

Jan 5, 2021

Prof. Kenez is an amazing teacher. I learnt a lot with this course. Finally, these classes make you reflect on Russian History but in human condition too.

By Cristina M

Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Kenez taught me very interesting topics, as my knowledge of Russian history was very poor. Thank you Porfessor!

By Diana R

Dec 20, 2021

Excellent class. I learned so much and Professor Kenez was so knowledgeable. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Russian history.

By Han Z

Jun 13, 2022

An excellent overview of the pre-Soviet to present Russia. Thank you very much to Professor Peter Kenez for providing this knowledge filled course.

By Abha M

Feb 24, 2021

Well presented and interesting- a good learning, though I had to read the translation as recording was not clear.Transaltion could be better.

By charles w

Nov 15, 2022

Peter Kenez does a fantastic job. I looked forward to seeing him speak because he is a good story teller. I learned a great deal from him.

By Chris G

Dec 5, 2021

An excellent course with fascinating videos. Well presented. Well thought through and opened my eyes to parts of Russian history. Thank you!

By SANTIAGO H M

Sep 28, 2020

Muy interesante toda la historia de Rusia. En cada personaje y epoca que fueron transcurriendo. Una felicitacion al Profesor Peter Kenez.

By Audrey F

May 5, 2022

Thank you, professor! I really enjoy your classes, they are very interesting and useful! Thank you for making history more interesting!

By Peter A

May 17, 2021

Great overview. Clarified many concepts that were previously unclear or unknown. Especially useful to understand current Putin regime.

By Georgia T

Dec 19, 2020

An excellent brief History lesson about the contemporary Russian History. Great teacher. Fully satisfied. I strongly recommend it !

By miri m

Dec 21, 2020

Fue un curso muy enriquecedor, conducido admirablemente, de forma clara, concisa, pausada, el resultado ha sido genial, gracias

By Matheus B e S

Sep 8, 2022

Aulas super conscisas mas com bastante conteúdo. Serviu como uma boa introdução para a história da Rússia durante o século XX.

By Luis A L B

Mar 11, 2021

This course has been very interesting and productive. And it helps to understand the situation of the current era of Russia.

By Alessandro R d N

Oct 12, 2020

Excellent course! Do not be fooled by having three weeks of lectures as the course is very busy and will require dedication.

By Boutet F

Jan 29, 2022

I would like to thank again Professor Peter Kenez for rhe incredible trip he proposed us in this Russia so often unknown.

By Evelina P

Dec 10, 2020

Amazing instructor,very interesting lectures and the language used very easy for foreign students as myself. Thank you!

By Rommel O

May 4, 2022

I particularly like the industrialization process of USSR and who among classes of people are the sacrificers for it.

By Laura A

Apr 29, 2022

Muy buen curso ofrecido por el Profesor Kenez, una eminencia sobre historia de Rusia. He aprendido y disfrutado mucho.

By Léandre O

Apr 8, 2020

Great course, great professor transmitting passion and interest. It was a pleasure to watch the videos.

By Esmeralda C G

Mar 22, 2021

This course has great content and really accomplishes its purpose: empathize with the Russian people.

By Cyprian B

Nov 9, 2022

very difficult but so interesting. I learned

many things and i can more understand

the war right now

By Ccbrundage

Jul 10, 2021

Very helpful. It was interesting to be presented with a view from Russian eyes to some degree.

By Imane H

Nov 14, 2022

The teacher is very great, and make us have sympathy for the russian people, I very liked it!

By Raheen G

Oct 21, 2020

I would to like to thanks to your team to upload this course. It is very understanding.