Chevron Left
Back to Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.7
stars
575 ratings
216 reviews

About the Course

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Top reviews

RS
Sep 14, 2020

I found that course had a central theme, the incompatibility of the Communist structures with an increase in the standard of living, that was well documented from the time of Lenin to that of Putin.

MM
Apr 13, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 217 Reviews for Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

By James G P J

Apr 13, 2020

As an "adult learner" well beyond my college years, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Kenez's knowledge and understanding of Soviet Union and Russia and his perspectives on historical and current events in Russia and Eastern Europe were insightful and informative. I heartily recommend this course to anyone looking for a good understanding of modern Russian history.

By Howard G M

Mar 14, 2018

Well done. I will be taking a Russian History at Emory this Spring and this course: Russian History: from Lenin to Putin will have prepared me well. For me, taking this course was a bit of a rush since I do not need a certificate and had to reschedule it in order to complete it. That is the only thing I do not care for at Coursera; I am not allowed

By Elena M

Jun 13, 2019

I'm native Russian and obviously I studied russian history at school and had a short course at the university. This course gave me a deep understanding of the reasons, the connections and the order of historical events, which I couldn't get anywhere else before. This is my first week, but I can't stop watching it and I already got to Week 3.

By Jay v R

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent course that showed me a really broad picture of Russian history in the 20th century. Professor did an excellent job in opening various aspects of such a complex topic. My only concern was that his English was a tiny bit broken and he spoke quite slowly (so I watched everything on 1.25x speed). All in all it was a great experience!

By Svetlana K

Jul 22, 2019

Professor Kenez, has such a noble way of speaking, that it is a true pleasure to listen to him. He gives an extremely well structured and a very clear account of the life in Russia, a grand and complicated country, in its most significant eras. Million thanks to Prof. Kenez for his outstanding job. Низкий поклон.

By Robert K

Apr 27, 2018

Major featers: exellent narration, informative and perceptive, unbiased and thought-provoking.

I liked the structure and the way the topics were identified and discussed. My knowledge of Russian history greatly expanded and I learned interesting ways of approaching and explaining historical events.

Thank you.

By bonnie

Nov 20, 2019

Having just come away from Russia, I couldn't but take this course. It has in no way disappointed me.. In fact it has upheld a certain mystique and majesty that I've always visualised Russian history as having.

Thank you so much! I shall re visit the course over and over again till I maintain a100% Score!

By Gabriel H B

Nov 27, 2017

Pretty good for a short Coursera course, though it's much easier to follow if the subject matter is already familiar to you. To get the most out of it I recommend reading a short book about the history of Russia in advance, such as "Russian History: A Very Short Introduction" by Geoffrey Hosking.

By Farhan S F

Jun 7, 2020

This course is my favorite. Professor Peter Konez is highly knowledgeable and he gave me a detailed analysis of Russian history. The best thing about his course was not taking any bias. Every subject matter was explained in a set of stories. One of the best courses Coursera has offered so far!

By Khadija M

May 4, 2020

very informative, if you're looking for some course which is light and at the same time provides you with immense knowledge without burdening you; this is definitely the one. Sir Kenez teaches with such a calm soothing tone that you fall in love with history all over again. definitely a 10/10.

By Kejie Y

Jan 17, 2020

A fascinating course on a fascinating topic. Prof. Peter Kenez's teaching style is intriguing - he gives a well-paced lecture and highly meticulous account of the various topics throughout modern and contemporary Russia. I love listening to the lectures and have a "heady" feeling learning.

By Alex S

May 18, 2020

This course has been very worthwhile. Highly recommended to anyone with more than a passing interest in the subject. It's actually somewhat incorrectly named, as the history taught predates Lenin and includes a bit about the Romanovs/pre-revolutionary Russia.

By David B

Apr 20, 2020

Thank you for a great course and re-igniting my interest in Russia history and culture. The presentations were detailed and thought-provoking. I enjoyed the final essay work, and learned much just from the exercising of grading other student's work.

By Dionisio A M

Apr 7, 2020

It would be unimaginative to talk about how informative the course is (very), or how accurate (very, also). It’s the kindness and humanity with which professor Kenez delivers his lessons the thing that sets this course apart. I 100% recommend it.

By Sumved R

Apr 19, 2020

Peter Kenez's amount of knowledge and understanding is the backbone of this course. The events are explained as a first hand account. Its easy to understand. The views are unbiased and neutral which gives you the freedom of critical thinking .

By justin b

Jul 2, 2020

Exemplary Course! Wonderfully done. Easy to follow, English spoken clearly and slowly. Tests were not too easy just right for a course of this magnitude. If you offer specialization in russian history I would be willing to take it.

By Beatriz m d

May 30, 2018

Ha sido una experiencia maravillosa,le doy las gracias al profesor Kenez por acercarnos un poco más a un país tan bello y a la vez tan hermético como es Rusia.

No hago el ensayo al no optar al certificado.Gracias profesor,saludos,Bea.

By michelle o

May 10, 2020

I knew practically nothing about russian history before this course, I learned so much and it held my interest. The lectures are full of insight and sensitive to the ramifications of decisions made by those in power, thank you!

By Wendi F

May 26, 2020

Very good course. Lots of material/event happened during this time. I especially enjoyed researching my assignment at the end and bringing in my knowledge on the subject as I previously lived in a former Soviet Republic.

By Miko T

Aug 18, 2020

Very good course. The discussions cover a huge range of topics and personalities. Dr. Kenez's lectures were unbiased and full of cool information. He talks about the different eras as parts of a well-connected narrative.

By Sarah A

Mar 4, 2020

This is an excellent overview of Russian history from Lenin to present, and is perfect for the beginner. Well taught and explained, and quite comprehensive for such a short (3 week) course. Thank you, Professor Kenez!

By Julian A N G

Apr 24, 2018

The lectures provide very interesting information. Moreover, Prof. Kenez offers his opinion/analysis throughout the lectures which makes the course valuable since it is the perspective of an expert. Excellent course.

By WonJun K

Nov 21, 2018

A thorough review of modern Russian history. The professor is very intelligent, but you might need some background knowledge to fully appreciate the lecture. Nevertheless, still a great course for sheer beginners!

By claire d

Jun 14, 2020

I absolutely think I have learnt a lot about Russia from this course and the professor gave me a picture of different period of times and helped me to draw connections between events, which is very usefully .

By Daria P

Aug 2, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Professor Peter Kenez presents all the information in a very interesting and understandable for everyone way without prejudice, only facts. Thanks for this fascinating course.