Chevron Left
Back to Schizophrenia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Schizophrenia by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,052 ratings
242 reviews

About the Course

The main goal of this class are to gain an introductory exposure to the nature of the psychiatric disorder known as schizophrenia as revealed by the scientific method. We will discuss a broad range of findings from the scientific investigation of biological and psychological factors related to schizophrenia and its treatment. More specifically we will learn about: (1) key symptomatic features through discussion and enactments of interviews with actors portraying many of the cardinal features of the illness, (2) what brain imaging studies (MRI and fMRI) and neurochemistry have taught us about the neuroscience of the disorder, (3) scientific psychological data and theories concerning cognition, emotion and behavior in schizophrenia, and (4) current, evidence-based somatic and psychosocial approaches to treatment. A brief historical overview of the recent emergence of the psychiatric category of schizophrenia will be presented as well....

Top reviews

EA
May 26, 2020

Given information is very clear and easy to understand.\n\nI really appreciate that it is just the most important parts and not the whole science or odd information.\n\nThank you, I learned so much.

JQ
Nov 16, 2017

INTERESTING COURSE. I HAVEN'T GIVEN SCHIZOPHRENIA MUCH THOUGHT OVER THE YEARS, BUT AFTER THIS COURSE A FEW RELATIONSHIPS AND UNDERSTANDING OF THEIR RELATIVES MAKE MORE SENSE. THANKS SO MUCH.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 241 Reviews for Schizophrenia

By Annie J

Jul 17, 2020

It was very interesting and informative. Definitely worth the time. The professor was amazing. Thanks a lot. :)

By Allison K S

Jun 3, 2018

Very informative. Brought clarity to questions I had regarding schizophrenia and the most recent developments.

By Rico C

Oct 22, 2020

This course, particularly those related treatments, provided better insights and updates with current trends.

By Rethabile t

Aug 27, 2020

very interesting as it goes hand in hand with my current studies and helped me know more about schizophrenia.

By Anushka B

Jul 20, 2020

Various aspects of Schizophrenia have been elaborated on and discussed in depth. Great learning experience.

By locille r

Jun 20, 2020

The lectures are thorough, interesting and informative that keeps you motivated to finish, no matter what.

By Vivek S

Jul 22, 2020

A VERY NICE SHORT COURSE ON SCHIZOPHRENIA WITH SOME FUNDAMENTALS ON NEUROSCIENCE AND BRAIN IN PARTICULAR!

By Gretchen J

May 1, 2018

Very easy to follow overview of the illness which will be helpful in my daily interactions with patients.

By Tatiana C

Nov 23, 2020

EXCELENTE CURSO, MUY CLARO. ME A DADO UN PANORAMA PARA SEGUIR ESTUDIANDO SOBRE ESTE TRASTORNO. GRACIAS

By Laura B

Dec 16, 2019

It is great to be able to learn more about Schizophrenia to reduce the stigma related to this disease.

By Каляткина А

Apr 4, 2020

interesting course, lots of new information for me, easy to remember. Mr Kurtz is an excellent lector

By ANJU. K

Jun 29, 2020

it was a nice experience for me to gain more knowledge about schizophrenia& its symptoms& curation.

By Jakub F

Jun 27, 2020

Very Interesting and carefully conceived course offers in-depth knowledge taught by professionals.

By Silvia F

Jul 22, 2019

Nice Course. I have learned a lot about schizoprenia and understand better persons who suffer it.

By Brian

Apr 15, 2018

Thorough, detailed and the instructor was very charismatic and clearly passionate about the topic

By Angelica R

Jun 2, 2020

Excellent course, I really enjoy every week with interesting lessons, examples and explanations.

By Julie K

Apr 26, 2020

Great course! Easy to understand difficult concepts about schizophrenia. Prof Kurtz was superb!

By Silvia C

May 31, 2020

Very interesting and very good information on the subject !. glad to have found this course!!!

By Brandt v S

Nov 8, 2020

Excellent course and really informative - with references - for evidence-based interventions.

By Natalia H

Apr 13, 2020

LOVED THE COURSE AND THE PROFESSOR. HE WOULD EXPLAIN THE MATTER IN A CLEAR AND ENGAGING WAY.

By Prabhleen A

Aug 11, 2020

The course is planned perfectly and every aspect has been described in a well planned way

By Swavik D

Sep 16, 2020

An excellent, comprehensive course on schizophrenia with a great instructor. Five stars.

By Milagros S B G

Aug 13, 2020

It's a good course I learned a lot.The information is very clear and easy to understand.

By Ruken İ

May 17, 2018

Thank you so much for giving this brilliant course. I recommend everyone to take it!