Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
5,398 ratings
1,851 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

IA
Aug 25, 2020

A very helpful course. My writing has improved significantly in these 8 weeks. I highly recommend this course to everyone. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani and Coursera for bringing this course together.

AL
Jun 3, 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,897 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By Amitava D

Aug 23, 2020

Course is well designed. So many requirements of writing skill has been explained and demonstrated. Actual recorded interview of the guide level professors has been shown.

I am benefited through this course.

Thanks to Coursera & Stanford University.

By Nair T O

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent! I love it! I have written several papers but I was never confident or satisfied with my writing. I am sure I will do better next time thanks to this course. The best thing about it is the teacher! She keeps you entertained and engaged!

By Karla M R

Jun 2, 2020

I'm a college student and despite having taken several academic writing courses before, none of them compare to this one since it is specifically tailored for the Sciences. It really is a must-take if you plan to become a professional scientist.

By Solveig C V

May 30, 2020

Dr. Sainani's course "Writing in the Sciences" is a pleasure. The materials are organised and clear, Dr. Sainani speaks clearly and slowly, and the assignments are interesting. I learned so much about writing; the process, structure and wording.

By Jingbo H

Apr 20, 2018

very good course for English writing beginners! easy to understand, lots of tips and examples.

the teaching style is perfect.

the voice of the teacher is beautiful.

I strongly advise you to choose this course to improve you English writing skills.

By İlke G

Oct 11, 2021

Dr. Kristin Sainani changed my view on scientific writing. Now, my writing is more interesting and I know where to pay attention. I highly recommend anyone in science to take this course. I wish I discovered it years ago. Thank you Dr. Sainani.

By Marta F R

Feb 14, 2021

A course considered "basic" yet very comprehensive about how to start, or how to improve, your skills on scientific writing. The teacher is really good at communication, and knows how to get your attention and interest. I strongly recommend it!

By Yingying L

Dec 20, 2018

I learned so much from this course! As a beginner for scientific writing, I am so luck that I chose this course to begin. It gave me a good start with right principles! The contents are wide also detailed and contains many exercises. Wonderful!

By Luisa A V d F

Jul 22, 2020

I loved this course. The first half was specially useful for me as a master's student. In the future, i believe the course could be split in two parts, so students can focus more and exercise each part (scicom + scientific writing for papers).

By Mingeum J

Jul 22, 2020

A helpful course to get an idea about different types of writing (academic writing, social media writing, interview and so on) and to learn useful tips of concise writing. Especially recommend for people who speak English as a second language.

By Wanfei

May 21, 2020

This course is really helpful to my future study and research! I learned the correct and efficient way to write a scientific article. And I really appreciate the reviews of my assignments by other fellows, which are helpful for my improvement.

By Lauitiiti F

Jun 16, 2021

This was a very useful course for me. I have taken on key points on writing clearly for both my thesis and personal writing. I haven't done other types of writing but if I need it, this is a useful resource that I would like to come back to.

By Hemalatha T R

Jul 2, 2020

A very informative course for upcoming scientists. I highly recommend this course who has no idea about how to start the work with writing. It has a lot to learn far more than writing. Thank you Dr. Kristin Sainani for this wonderful effort.

By ANANYA S

Jun 7, 2020

This course was an amazing journey for me. It has given me immense knowledge about how to improve Scientific writing. The tools and techniques which I have gained from this course will help me out throughout life to present good publications.

By FengChen

Jul 8, 2018

Still remember the wonderful opening: "for those old here, welcome back; and for those who are new here, it's great to have you." Dr. Kristin is passionate and considerate; it's nice to be with her in the class, and also out of class, I hope.

By Michela O

Aug 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it has been a great journey through all types of scientific writing! I strongly recommend enrollment as this course gives students great tips and tools to communicate science in a very effective and simple way!

By Parvathi J

Jun 25, 2020

Dr. Kristin, in spite of teaching us the skill & science behind writing, words limit my gratitude toward you. It changed me as a writer, now I am second-guessing every word, obsessed with decluttering and listen to active voice.

Thank You!

By Alaa A M A

Apr 9, 2019

The course content was very helpful to understand more about scientific writing. I was glad it also covered other forms of writing and science communication. It would be great if the instructor can provide an additional more advanced course.

By amanda t

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent course. Everything the instructor discusses is incredibly applicable if you are writing a scientific paper or other related writing projects. It is clear and easy to follow and presented in a way that keeps the listener interested.

By Bassamah h

Nov 18, 2017

I would like to thanks Instructor for leading this course in very effective and engaging way. The pros and cons of every step in writting is mentioned very clearly. Thanks also for the coursera team to offer this valuable ccourse for free.

By Beatriz A P

Sep 2, 2020

Very good course! Dr. Kristin Sainani is a great teacher and conveys information interestingly and engagingly. The content is very useful and my writing (and editing) is better now after taking the course. I would recommend it to everybody!

By Shaimaa M R

Oct 2, 2021

it was challenging , condensed but really very helpful course . i was so interested with it , dr. kristin is an excellent teacher that you never feel boring with . i have learned many new skills in writing. i highly recommend this course

By Daniela A M

Sep 3, 2019

I learned many things. I wasn't expecting the last modules on reaching bigger audiences and sci-interviews, but I found them very interesting. Thanks for everything, I don't have a background in life-sciences but I still enjoy the course.

By Trudy B

Jul 3, 2021

This was a really eye-opening and challenging course. I realized i still need to practice a lot of my editing skills. Thank you so much for making this course freely available to all who want to become better science writers and editors!

By Harshi 0

Aug 14, 2020

I was not that great in editing the scientific writings but Coursera has provided a great opportunity to improve my writing skills with the financial aid. Thank you for this wonderful course and this has already made a change in my life.