Chevron Left
Back to Security & Safety Challenges in a Globalized World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Security & Safety Challenges in a Globalized World by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
270 ratings
103 reviews

About the Course

Security and safety challenges rank among the most pressing issues of modern times. Challenges such as, cyber-crime, terrorism, and environmental disasters impact the lives of millions across the globe. These issues also rank high on the agenda of politicians, international organizations and businesses. They also feature prominently in the public conscience and in governmental policies. In the current, interconnected world, security challenges are becoming increasingly complex. Facilitated by developments as globalization and the spread of networked and hyper-connected technologies, new safety and security challenges arise and impact local, national, regional and international levels, which dramatically increases their complexity and scale. As such, solutions to contemporary security challenges require a wide array of actors operating on multiple levels of governance. The course will introduce you to the broad theme of security and safety in an increasingly complex world. Together we will search for answers to important questions: what is security and safety? How can we understand complex modern-day security and safety challenges? And how do we deal with such challenges? This course combines scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from terrorism studies, to crisis management, to medical science) with real-life cases to explore and understand complex modern-day safety and security challenges....

Top reviews

AR

Oct 26, 2018

Excellent course. Now I know the two important concepts of security and safety. Leadership in South Asia only remain struck to the old idea of security, and they neglect the critical safety issues.

NR

Jul 03, 2020

Great course! Introduced all the basic fundamentals of safety and security. Was simple, well-explained, and I loved the addition of real life diverse examples to help contextualize everything.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 101 Reviews for Security & Safety Challenges in a Globalized World

By Carlos A

May 30, 2017

Tremendous course. It uses several cases of study to illustrate the students on the topic and also provide various practices to support the learning process.

Amazing.

By Ben W

Mar 04, 2017

I have taken several MOOCs from several Universities and think that the Dutch ones (Universiteit Amsterdam & Universiteit Leiden) are amongst the best. I used to live in Leiden so I must confess as little personal bias, but what I really applaud is the way that the instructors actively encourage you to find out more than what's just required to obtain a pass mark. I think I'm now quite an expert on Volcanoes!

By Sarath C

Aug 27, 2018

This is an interesting course for Security and Crisis Management Professionals. The content is crisp and can retain the participant's attention throughout. The included readings and case studies seem apt for the design of this course and enhance the conceptual ideas explained by the faculty. The course will serve Crisis Management and Security professionals well by aligning us to right concepts.

By Vivekanand P

Jul 17, 2020

The journey through this course was very intriguing. Being a Safety Professional, the course content on security gave a broad perspective on the requirement. The assignments gave opportunity to unlearn events and the different security aspects which need to be looked into in this globalized world.

By Marco W

Jun 15, 2017

Conciously set up to initiate the students in a friendly manner. The interaction with your peers in the course will definitely help you. Great course, you will enjoy it.

By Pelayo I

May 22, 2020

This course was an absolutely great experience! The 6 weeks didn’t feel that long, and the 6 modules were well organised so I felt determined and motivated until the end. As an Undergraduate candidate, this course helped me study and understand the basic concepts of the Security Studies bachelor program (BSc) which I intend to pursue at Leiden University, and how to structure and write a case study as it’s done in this field of study. So, if you’re also looking to apply for University or simply interested, I highly recommend this course to you! :)

By Tofail A

Jun 14, 2019

Security & Safety Challenges in a Globalized World is a true obstructs nowadays. Coursera is providing this value added education in association of the university of Laden. It's our gratitude that we have an opportunity to learn from world prominent university's instructors. The potentials I instructors are highly competent and strong knowledgeable in the assigned area. I am enjoying the course.

By Nichols A

Jul 20, 2020

Insightful discussion about safety and security issues as a complex problem of the modern socities, as well the cultural and historical side of these disciplines. Please do a more detailed course about these topics, this one let us with the desire of enter in more deeply discussions about this fantastic field!

By Ashok K

Dec 25, 2017

I think that this course is a necessity for many people in the world to learn and help their respective countries as well help our beautiful world. Which has given us so much already ! My thanks to the whole team at Coursera and Leiden University to make this amazing course possible online.

By Alina A

Mar 07, 2017

The objective of the MOOC "Security&Safety Challenges in a Globalized World" is to develop and disseminate knowledge in the field of security and safety through lenses of the interdisciplinary approach.

By Atta R

Oct 26, 2018

Excellent course. Now I know the two important concepts of security and safety. Leadership in South Asia only remain struck to the old idea of security, and they neglect the critical safety issues.

By sangram d

Jun 09, 2020

It's an important course in the present situation regarding security and Safety all over the world. I enjoyed the course that will build my life.

By Edwina E

Jul 12, 2017

Great course, interesting cases and insights. It has truly broadened my horizon (my daily work is data privacy & security). Highly recommended!

By Sabine B

Jul 19, 2020

I learnt so much and made use of all the extra material! Thank you, great course.

By Robert M W

Jul 22, 2017

Outstanding course, outstanding experience!

By Mona A A

Jul 16, 2020

good

By Nicolas C T

Jan 28, 2017

Definitely a very light course designed for beginners and to promote the Leiden's 3 Years International Studies Program in Safety and Security! Somewhat very disappointing to me! Useful to note the not so realistic 3 peer-reviews awaited in that course... Two of 1000 words and one of 350-550 words! Totally unbalanced!

By Akshay K S

Mar 11, 2017

Brilliantly framed and paced, the course offers a wonderful exposure to the safety and security issues at play today. Loved the Explore, Understand, Do mechanism, will definitely use that if I face a case where it's use is warranted. Highly recommended for anyone looking to get a deeper understanding of the importance of privacy, different level of stakeholders involved and the risk everyone faces when an issue gets out of hand. Thank you for such a great course !

By Silvia M

Jul 07, 2020

A very informative and super detailled course. All the Videos were highly professionall and understandable. All the topics and themes were extremly interesting and highlighted the importance of Safety and Security in a Globalizd World. Thank you for this great opportunity, your time and comittment. I will warmly recommend this course to everyone interested in protecting and caring about about our common Goal:Security.

By Borremans J

May 25, 2017

Course provides a very good introduction in the fascinating world of security and safety challenges in a globalized world. The analytical tools provided are easy to understand and useful in tackling these challenges in a systematic, scientific way. Other tools stimulate synthesis so that the global view isn't lost. By any standard an excellent course stimulating individual work and res

By Eman S

Aug 17, 2020

This course was excellent for me, and I learned a lot from it, and I believe that I acquired new skills in thinking, seeing situations, discovering them, understanding them, trying to evaluate them and working on providing effective solutions, I would have missed a lot if I had not taken this course.

By Gabriela Q S

Sep 12, 2020

What I loved the most about this course is that it brings academic and theoretical background to a subject that sometimes is learned on the field, as you execute it. The case studies were specially helpful (and quite interesting!). I highly recommend this course.

By Machiel N

Mar 08, 2017

This was my first MOOC course, but I enjoyed the course. The lessons/videos were clear and precise and the course contains a lot of relevant information in the field of security and safety cases. The cases and interesting assignments were relevant and interesting.

By Natalia H F

Mar 08, 2017

These course shows youhow to analyse a current security conflict by applying diferent perspective and knowledge from different fields of study. It is surely one of the most valuable courses to join if you are interested in Security and International Relations.

By Rooholamin R

Oct 27, 2018

I always wanted to know more about the concept of security and its aspects.before passing this course I just knew about the military aspect of it but now I'm able to explore a crisis and understand and then learn from it.