Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,708 ratings
468 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG
Jul 2, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL
Feb 9, 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.\n\nThank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 463 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By Florent C

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course, although the wiki is currently broken and can only be accessed through archive.org.

By Xiaolin H

Feb 9, 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

By Eva N

Nov 19, 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

By Omar J

Sep 29, 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

By Rep G

Feb 15, 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

By John H

Dec 21, 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

By Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

By Adam J

Feb 22, 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

By Nesrine Z

Apr 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very helpful to understand the Taylor series. Many thanks.

By Lijia L

Feb 26, 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

By Rahul

Jun 14, 2021

Highly recommended to learners of all standards. The presentations are lucid and interactive.

By Jiaming L

Aug 26, 2019

The course is perfect and the professor put all his effort on the program. It did help a lot.

By faraz g

Apr 30, 2020

It was really useful. But, the tests were very hard. I did enjoy this course. Thank you all.

By Sabhrant S

Apr 7, 2020

I liked the difficulty of the questions. Very good course. Thank you sir for your hard work.

By CMC

Jun 26, 2018

The course is rigorous. I managed to learn something about Big-O that I did not know before.

By 黎健钊

May 1, 2017

learn a lot about calculus which is different from China Calculus Book, Thank you so much...

By Jerry M

Dec 26, 2016

This is an excellent course! I enjoyed the problem sets and the Bonus Lectures. Well Done!

By Yu S

Jun 18, 2021

Very clear explanation, except that part related to big-O, maybe more notes will be better.

By Ash K

Apr 22, 2021

Very beautifully taught by Robert Sir! The visualizations and bonus material were awesome!

By Carlos A G R

Jul 7, 2020

Excellent course. Thank you very much for providing this course. And for sharing knowledge

By Zhu L

Aug 19, 2018

This is an excellent course, thank you professor, your analysis process helps me a lot!

By Huang-Yu C

Mar 22, 2018

I learn a lot by participating in the class! Thank you professor~ and also thanks UPenn

By Jairnic13 p

Jul 10, 2020

This is an exceptional course. I learned about Calculus from another perspective here.

By Ian C

Apr 14, 2020

I didn't have the time to complete it, but this is an excellent and worthwhile course

By Much Z

Jan 14, 2019

I THINK THIS IS VERY HELPFUL FOR ME.THANKS FOR TEACHER'S TEACH AND COURSERA'S FAVOUR.