Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,857 ratings

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top reviews

YG

Jul 2, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

NL

Feb 9, 2021

Excellent introduction to Calculus, I wanted to review the material to tutor my child but I am very happy that I learned a whole new way of looking at Calculus.

Thank you so much Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 499 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

By SUBRAMANIAN R S

Oct 6, 2019

COURSE IS VERY GOOD

I LIKED THE WAY OF TEACHING AND THE PROBLEMS IN THE HOMEWORK AND QUIZ SECTION

THANK YOU

By Benjamin N

Dec 2, 2019

Passionate, heart-felt teaching combined with challenging homework make this a course worth investing in.

By Xiyang S

Mar 19, 2019

Great course series to learn, thanks for the work of the staff! Hope to study Multi Variable series soon.

By Keqin H

Jun 13, 2018

Extremely concise lectures. Good aiding graphics. The HWs are challenging yet doable. Highly recommended.

By Karin A Q

Apr 12, 2022

The videos were amazing and the text book was a good resource. The professor explains the problems well.

By Max C

Mar 31, 2020

Very good video lecture. Very good speech for not native english students. But little difficult for me.

By mike

Jun 18, 2021

T​his course was well done and highly recommended secondary to the novel presentation of the material.

By Pavel K

Jun 15, 2019

Good explanation of quite complicated things. Bonus materials are especially useful for understanding.

By Florent C

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course, although the wiki is currently broken and can only be accessed through archive.org.

By Xiaolin H

Feb 9, 2018

Wonderful lectures! Clear and succint! It would be greater if more application examples are involved.

By Dr. N D

May 24, 2022

Very good course to understand the basics of function, limit of function, Taylor series of function.

By Eva N

Nov 19, 2019

This was very useful. Explanations were (relatively) simple and the quiz commesurate to the teaching

By Omar J

Sep 29, 2018

A very challenging course that makes the quizzes and challenges sweet and passing it even sweeter!

By Rep G

Feb 15, 2020

Growth of functions approach is somewhat more effective tool for reasoning than the normal stuff.

By John H

Dec 21, 2019

Great course. Really good videos and the exercises seem to be at a really good level. Thank you.

By Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

By Adam J

Feb 22, 2017

Professor Ghrist is a badass. Re-ordering things to put Taylor series first is a brilliant idea!

By Guido P

Aug 9, 2022

Really useful to help us reviewing fundamental calculus concepts with my kid entering college!

By J a

Sep 16, 2021

only complain would be that its not long enough! good revisit to calculus and quite enjoyable!

By Nesrine Z

Apr 10, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it was very helpful to understand the Taylor series. Many thanks.

By Lijia L

Feb 26, 2017

I like this course very much. Prof. Robert Ghrist is humorous, and the mentor is very helpful!

By Rahul

Jun 14, 2021

Highly recommended to learners of all standards. The presentations are lucid and interactive.

By Jiaming L

Aug 26, 2019

The course is perfect and the professor put all his effort on the program. It did help a lot.

By faraz g

Apr 30, 2020

It was really useful. But, the tests were very hard. I did enjoy this course. Thank you all.

By Sabhrant S

Apr 7, 2020

I liked the difficulty of the questions. Very good course. Thank you sir for your hard work.