Chevron Left
Back to Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
335 ratings
78 reviews

About the Course

The objective of this course is to give students the most up-to-date information on the biological, personal, and societal relevance of sleep. Personal relevance is emphasized by the fact that the single best predictor of daytime performance is the quality of the previous night's sleep. The brain actively generates sleep, and the first section of the course is an overview of the neurobiological basis of sleep control. The course provides cellular-level understanding of how sleep deprivation, jet lag, and substances such as alcohol, ,caffeine, and nicotine alter sleep and wakefulness. The second section of the course covers sleep-dependent changes in physiology and sleep disorders medicine. Particular emphasis will be placed on disorders of excessive sleepiness, insomnia, and sleep-dependent changes in autonomic control. Chronic sleep deprivation impairs immune function and may promote obesity. Deaths due to all causes are most frequent between 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., and this second section of the class highlights the relevance of sleep for preventive medicine. The societal relevance of sleep will be considered in the final section of the class. In an increasingly complex and technologically oriented society, operator-error by one individual can have a disastrous negative impact on public health and safety. Fatigue-related performance decrements are known to have contributed as causal factors to nuclear power plant failures, transportation disasters, and medical errors....

Top reviews

VR
Oct 19, 2020

As someone who is starting a PsyD this upcoming year I really enjoyed and learned a great amount of info from this course. i highly recommend the course and applaud the instructors and researchers.

HN
Jul 5, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 79 Reviews for Sleep: Neurobiology, Medicine, and Society

By olivier h

Dec 27, 2018

The content is excellent but this is not intended for "beginners" as advertised. The lectures are very interesting and the overall level is high. You need to have some good knowledge about the structure and the working of the brain or you won't be able to follow the lectures (the level is higher than with most MooC here) The main problem with this MooC though is that there is nothing more than academic lectures. The forum are empty, there is no (sense of) community, this long course (12 weeks) lacks some storytelling linking weeks together, and, worse of all, the quizzes are useless: very short, simplistic, you may even pass guessing the correct answers. Such high level lectures demand for high quality quizzes allowing the students to really test and challenge the acquired knowledge. Quizzes and all sorts of interactive exercises must be included in the experience. If we only get video lectures, why not publish a DVD with a companion book ?

By Miranda C

Aug 2, 2018

I would highly recommend ALL students whom are interested in Sleep Medicine to enrol on this most FASCINATING, ENGROSSING and WORTHWHILE COURSE. The course tutors on this online course instill into you the DRIVING FORCE to forge ahead with learning a whole new range of knowledge in Sleep Medicine and Neurobiology. The course is quite difficult, but then my philosophy is that ANYTHING THAT IS WORTH ACHIEVING IS NOT EASILY GAINED and this is TRUE of this Sleep Medicine, Neurobiology and Society course; however, do NOT allow the difficulty of this course to discourage you - TAKE IT AS A CHALLENGE. A challenge that will open up a new avenue of learning and knowledge for yourself and your personal future and future career. GOOD LUCK. And you will NOT be disappointed, you will be entirely IMMERSED and ENGROSSED with this most fascinating course.

By Eric T

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course !

I really enjoyed this course ! All the modules are clear enough to understand the basis of the neurobiology of sleep and to become familiar with basic concepts and mechanisms from neurobiology of sleep and neuroscience. Very Impressed with how detailed and rigorous the course is ! The" honor track" is particularly challenging and fascinating ( especially mathematical modeling of Sleep-Wake Regulation and Molecular biology and Genetics of Sleep)

Thank you Professor Ralph Lydic and Helen Baghdoyan !

By Ahmad D

Nov 19, 2019

I am so proud to learn by many of the best professors of the world who are so oriented and competent character ! I did not know before this course the danger consequences related to sleep as OSA or sleep deprivation especially on the physiological level which I interested in ! Thanks for you to give me the chance to learn this content cross several thousands miles

Thank you,

Ahmad Darwish

By Özgenaz

Jul 13, 2020

This is pretty good course that I have obtained deeper and update knowledge about sleep I wished to learn.

Thank you!

By Jiho s

Nov 16, 2019

Very informative and a great way to learn everything about sleep science and sleep medicine.

By Demian O L

Jun 6, 2020

The neurobiology section is the only part that is worth the effort, but more importantly than everything else, time. Everything that int that part of the course is just a filler.

By Richie P

Jun 25, 2020

As a student of psychology, this was a wonderful course for preparing myself to work with a medical doctor and to gaining a deeper understanding of neuroscience. Also, the information provided is well stated for a broad audience. The topic is important and sometimes taken lightly. However, as many lecturers explained, educating ourselves on the matters of sleep and implementing our knowledge may have profound and diverse benefits.

By Eirene G M

May 23, 2020

I have searched online, and the one I found here in Coursera given by the University of Michigan is one very great course with a generous helping of knowledge and insights. It equips us better as we navigate the intricacies of Sleep and its impact to life, esp in a country where the study of sleep is relatively young. Thank you for sharing your expertise!

By Natacha S

Jul 13, 2020

That was the best course I never take online long but worthy I learn so much about sleep deprivation and been sleeping in selective task before trying medication for those who claim can not sleep or wake up tired after a good 8 hrs of sleep listen to those lecture they will educated you and your dear one

By D.r : G M A

Apr 20, 2020

Words are incapable ... I have love for you ... That university is Michigan ... you are one individual

Greetings .. My love, my appreciation to all of you .. We specialize in the course, my listening, and whoever taught us all love and appreciation

Your dear veterinarian, Ghazwan Muhammad Al-Sheikh

By Folarin A

Apr 28, 2020

This course was very informative and have recommended my sleep lab make this as part of their orientation for new hires. This course adequately and interestingly provided the science behind the research being carried out in my lab. Thank you for this course, it was truly enjoyable to go through.

By fath N

May 2, 2020

I'm a PhD candidate in Neuroscience and I work on the circadian rhythm dysfunctions in Parkinson's Disease. The lectures were very interesting and useful for me and I have learned a lot so far, I will be back to rewatch some videos for sure and I highly recommend this course.

By Krishna B

Aug 22, 2020

I found this course fantastic! If you're going to take it, please go through the honors syllabus too, it's very informative and interesting and well worth the time you'll spend on it. This course changed the way I view my sleep, and my sleep related behaviors.

By Pallavi B

Sep 12, 2020

This course is one of the best on the Coursera platform. The way it is structured and how it is explained is amazing. I will want to keep revisiting to the course material even in future. It shaped my perspective and my view of sleep. Thank you for this.

By Nicola J

May 5, 2019

Excellent course in which I learnt much about sleep, sleep disorders and the effects of sleep deprivation. Some of the modules I found challenging but all were of interest and I learnt much. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

By Helen B

Aug 6, 2020

Really good course on sleep medicine and neurobiology principles for those who want them. Able to work through at your own pace in video segments that are broken down.

Uses research to back up the information being taught.

By Vincent R

Oct 20, 2020

As someone who is starting a PsyD this upcoming year I really enjoyed and learned a great amount of info from this course. i highly recommend the course and applaud the instructors and researchers.

By Huu K N

Jul 6, 2019

to tell the truth, this is the ever first online class I have ever learnt. This is so amazing, useful for a neurologist like me. Love this and still wait for an advanced course of this online class

By Tauane P d M

Jun 22, 2020

This course was awesome. The instructors explained the materials nicelly, the pacing of the classes was also great. I loved the topics and understanding more about sleep. I highly recommend this.

By JOHN Q

Jan 3, 2018

Excellent course! A great review on stuff I should have remembered but of course have forgotten as I've aged. My thanks to those organizing and teaching the course! Dr Quincy

By Αντωνία Δ

Nov 18, 2020

Very informative and pleasant. You are able to learn without fatigue. It is perfect! Thanks for giving me (and everyone else) the opportunity to learn about sleep in that way.

By Thiago D M

Mar 4, 2018

Very good course! I liked it a lot not only on professional perspective, but also personally to understand the importance of a good sleep and how everything is related.

By Teresa P D

Apr 13, 2020

Perfectly paced. This was NOT an EASY course, but it was just difficult enough. there was plenty of data and studies for each lesson. The quizzes kept me motivated.

By Alexis B

Aug 12, 2018

This is a very good course that bring you an update to the current evidence of sleep and help you to understands the mechanic and purpose of sleep.