Chevron Left
Back to Smart Contracts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Smart Contracts by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
1,777 ratings
337 reviews

About the Course

This second course of the Blockchain specialization will help you design, code, deploy and execute a smart contract – the computational element of the blockchain technology. Smart contracts allow for implementing user-defined operations of arbitrary complexity that are not possible through plain cryptocurrency protocols. They allow users to implement conditions, rules and policies of the domain applications. Smart contracts are a powerful feature that, when properly designed and coded, can result in autonomous, efficient and transparent systems. You will design and program smart contracts in Solidity language, test and deploy them in the Remix development environment, and invoke them from a simple web interface that Remix provides. This course features best practices for designing solutions with smart contracts using Solidity and Remix IDE. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

DM
Dec 17, 2019

Excellent course! Provided a good overview of how smart contracts adds a layer of value to the evolution in blockchain technology. The hands on programming experience was quite helpful as well.

HT
Apr 8, 2019

Thank you; excellent starting point so I can have a good foundation to learn more Solidity programming; the discussion forum is helpful when I submit the code at the end of the project.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 343 Reviews for Smart Contracts

By Shankaranand L

Oct 4, 2020

A well designed course on smart contracts is so useful in learning all about smart contracts. The reference materials suggested is a must read for better understanding of the concept and the overall technology. Basic fundamental things are well explained in the videos and the tests will help in checking the actual understanding and the learning. Overall a very good course which I would recommend anyone who wants to learn about Smart contracts.

By Pranav P

Oct 3, 2018

The instructor is very detail oriented and perfectly balances speed with detail. However the last assignment i.e project on creation of auction is not very helpful. There is no way to get details on why the code is failing. For eg, in my case I was able to compile the code on my compiler but it wasnt happening on the coursera interface. and there was no way to find out what the error was.

By Chetnathelife T

Apr 2, 2019

Awesome course with all the hands on tool and tips required with perfect amount of pace and exercises to teach get a non developer student enough to be able to converse and understand the language of Blockchain Smart Contracts Developer in Solidity! Loved this course.. Assignment was little challenging with a trick - overall Great Learning Experience! Thx to Ms. Bina R! Kudos to you..

By Sagar

Aug 3, 2019

When i started the course 'Smart Contracts Programming' from the staring of the course i have got information about the topic in clean and filtered manner from standard lecturers..The Excersise problems and Project work were really Good and Easy for beginners like me. ! Yes i enjoyed the learning journey and i really suggest it for my friends......Thank You team Coursera....!

By Vishakh R

Apr 24, 2020

Excellent course to begin with solidity programming for smart contracts , understanding the steps and standard policies for smart contract coding. Also introduces you to the Remix web IDE and it gives an introductory experience for coding and deploying the smart contracts. A very well set up course with all necessary details provided.

By Swapnil D

Jun 8, 2020

I am impressed with the flow and design thinking explained in the course to develop a smart contract. The content has step-by-step process of structuring the requirement, compile using different version and deploy in Remix IDE. Overall a good experience, would recommend people.

By Chanchal D

Jul 18, 2020

These Kind Of Courses Are What Coursera Exactly is meant for . Clear, precise and guiding.

The Course is specifically designed for guiding us through what smart contract is and how to write in solidity . The Tutor was excellent in the explanation and project design.

By Fernando L C

Feb 14, 2021

Great introduction to Smart Contracts and to Solidity Programming. After completing the course you will have a practical idea of how a smart contract looks like and you will be able to implement basic but powerful smart contract. Very informative/pragmatic videos!

By Alejandro A

Jul 14, 2021

It's a good course, more focused on programming. I think it gives good bases for developing smart contracts, but you have to learn from other sources if you want to have a better programming background in Solidity if you want to focus on the backend.

By Theodore T

Nov 19, 2018

This course build on the previous one. Again this is not a difficult course (actually the required demand is not high). As with most educational endeavors, the best way to master these stuff and get better is to do more work that the minimal required

By Maaz R

Oct 2, 2020

For a Blockchain newcomer like me, the smart contract course is detailed and very good. Small code assignments can be added to the course lessons to make them more practical. Last project may include more features. I am very much satisfied. Thanks.

By Pankaj A

Dec 20, 2018

This course gave me a thorough understanding of designing, developing and deploying the smart contracts. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who just started with Ethereum or Blockchain smart contract to go through this course.

By sales s

May 13, 2021

I always wish to find such a platform, where i can test my skills.

And i am surprise to know coursera has all the functionalities and courses i was looking for.

i really enjoyed synchronizing my knowledge with a professional certification.

By Amit P

Nov 24, 2019

Another excellent course with a step by step introduction to programming smart contracts using Solidity. This course has given me the confidence to explore the Remix IDE and Solidity documentation to program more complex smart contracts.

By Kundan K P

Apr 26, 2020

This course was a bit tough to understand but the instructor explained it very nicely, Got to know how solidity and smart contracts work. Expecting to learn more by hands-on learning in the next course of this specialization. Thank you.

By Patrik M

Jun 1, 2020

This is a course that will give you all the tools to understand and apply the basic concepts of Smart Contracts in general but in particular to develop these concepts in the Solidity language on the Remix IDE platform.

By HARUN S

Feb 10, 2020

This course is very well designed to people enhance programming skills. I have C and Php experience and enjoyed a lot while studying. Thanks to coursera platform and Dr. Bina Ramamurthy for her valuable contribution.

By Victor O

Feb 23, 2019

Nice readings and it was very interesting to use the Remix IDE more. The programming assignment was nicely well-defined (if perhaps a little too easy for me).

Would have been nice to see a video about Fallbacks.

By Dipayan M

Dec 18, 2019

Excellent course! Provided a good overview of how smart contracts adds a layer of value to the evolution in blockchain technology. The hands on programming experience was quite helpful as well.

By Hieu T

Apr 9, 2019

Thank you; excellent starting point so I can have a good foundation to learn more Solidity programming; the discussion forum is helpful when I submit the code at the end of the project.

By Azra P

Aug 16, 2020

Excellent. Very structured and step by step approach helps to learn the concepts easily.

Really like Mam's explanation approach very clear and systematic with simple English

By S. M S

May 27, 2021

This course was very good. I have already had the experience of learning from Professor Bina. She teach very patiently and accurately. This course was very useful for me.

By Ibrahim I C

Jul 24, 2020

course made smart contracts easier to understand, i loved bina ramamurthy's explanations and analogies and the extra resources at the end of each module were very helpful

By Khaled n

Jul 30, 2019

some resources must be reordered with the vedios for the student to keep on trying the code in the vedio

thanks alot for the course content its simple and progressive

By AVINASH A

Nov 16, 2018

Good course, well explained for beginners. Along with the course, pay attention to reading section especially referred youtube course of solidity for more examples.