Chevron Left
Back to Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis by Stanford University

4.8
stars
609 ratings
136 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

MR
Nov 1, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

SB
Oct 10, 2020

Very important course. My suggestion to the Prof. if he can increase the course length and include more details that would be much better or he can come up with advance course on the same series.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 132 Reviews for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

By Mojtaba A

Oct 27, 2017

Great teacher

By Antonio C

Oct 14, 2020

big course

By Christiano F d C

Oct 4, 2020

Very good!

By Pablo E

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent

By Hakobyan Z

Oct 20, 2017

Thanks!

By swapnil s

Oct 12, 2016

Great!!

By Andy P

Oct 18, 2016

great!

By anuj

May 30, 2017

best

By Stylianos T

Feb 24, 2017

A very good introduction in social and economic networks.

I recommend this course to everyone that wants to learn how networks are formed, understand the basic concepts and get an intuition on the possible networks that he/she could form.

The professor is talking clearly so you won't have a problem in understanding him.

One thing that was missing for me was in Week 2 when he was talking about "eigenvector centrality", for me the most objective measure, the explanation was really poor and you could never understand the concept based on what the lesson offered.

By KM

Aug 21, 2018

The chemistry disciplinary knowledge cautions the utilization of the idea of diffusion because diffusion in chemistry is more of systematic random process then the idea of diffusion in this lecture. If you could enhance and clarify the Week 4 lecture of the Praeto Efficiency, Utility, and Pairwise in additional examples the brevity of the lecture could build the idea into a few slides to sharpen the idea earlier. Think about adding more examples of the Centrality examples, I thought the Centrality was interesting.

By Carlson O

Apr 22, 2017

Very comprehensive as an introductory course. The content is very actual and the lectures' flow is objective. Also, I liked the quiz inside the lectures as they helped in retain the subject. I have some hard difficulties with the mathematics as I'm very rusty with the mathematics (more than 30 years of rust). I'm from the compute science area so I would like to see more practice in algorithms. However, I would like to congratulate the Stanford University and Cousera teams for the course. Great job.

By Fernando I P M

Aug 3, 2020

Buen curso en general. Sin embargo, podría estar más actualizado en términos de aplicaciones para el año 2020. Especialmente en trabajo con datos. Además, algunas evaluaciones adolecen de elementos que no están contenidos en el material, y si bien uno puede intuir a aplicar la teoría bajo otros contextos, muchas veces los resultados no son tan intuitivos, quedando algunas dudas respecto a esos contenidos más que clarificar dicho tópico.

By Alejandro A R

Jul 15, 2018

Greatly insightful and resourceful content for future research. As a recent university graduate interested in graduate school I found the course challenging meaning determination and consistency contributed to the successful completion of the course. Rewatching lectures and seeking external support helped me comprehend concepts through application.

By GIAN M

May 4, 2020

Very interesting course, I raccomand it. It gives me a lot of notions and different view of networks, even if I'm already working with them. Very notable also the lot of references by which you can expand your knowledge and look for all the details of the field you are interested in.

Keep attention on the level, it is not for beginners :)

By Felipe O G C B

Aug 25, 2016

It's a quiet complex topic in general terms. It is well covered, but In my opinion there should be at least an exercise per video, explaining something similar to the in-video questions. It should have a demonstrative part rather than just talking about it and showing the formula.

By Mateus d C C

Jan 19, 2021

Great course, a bit complicated sometimes. The course is very structured and the classes are ordered is a natural way. The tests weren't hard and I think the course could focus more on experimental exercises.

By Justin K

Dec 10, 2018

Excellent course. The labs are the best. Pajek and Gephi will be handy for network graphing and analyzing data. Thank you Professor Matthew Jackson. Your work is very good for reference.

By Simon N

Jun 6, 2020

Interesting survey of modern network theory, from Erdos-Renyi random graphs, to SIS ("flu") models, and games on networks. Rather academic at times, without the rigour.

By Harkeerat S

Dec 22, 2016

The course is vast. The Professor is to the point and doesn't lack knowledge in his field.

I'd recommend this course for anyone interested in Economics. Loved it.

By Michael S

Jan 24, 2019

I loved everything so far, the quiz questions are well selected, but, I believe there are some notions which should be explained further mathematically.

By Tianduo Z

Nov 1, 2016

Very complex topic, very well presented. The materials are great! Would have been better to made mathematics pre-requisite clearer.

By Robertas K

May 31, 2020

Some quizzes have wrong answers, but overall it was quite a good introduction into network analysis.

By ND B

Sep 17, 2020

I request Prof Jackson to speak more directly into the mike. At many points he is not audible.

By Sebastian H

Oct 15, 2019

Hohes Anforderungsniveau, mathematische Fähigkeiten sind zwingend erforderlich.

By Jose

Jan 23, 2018

This course is very good to introduce to the theory of networks