Chevron Left
Back to Content, Advertising & Social IMC

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Content, Advertising & Social IMC by Northwestern University

4.7
stars
938 ratings
139 reviews

About the Course

Want your content to go viral? Who doesn't! It takes a thoughtful, integrated approach to make content that stands out in our increasingly oversaturated world. In this fourth course of the Social Marketing Specialization - "Content, Advertising & Social IMC" - you will learn how marketers are successfully navigating today's media landscape. You will learn why developing engaging content for your audience is an essential component in effective social marketing. A panel of experts will unlock the paid/owned/earned media riddle and replace it with an integrated who/what/where approach that utilizes platform-specific messaging to grow your market share. This course also includes an overview of the integrated marketing communications strategy for social and how it is being deployed around the globe, as well as gamification tips to keep your audiences coming back for more. In addition, you will learn the secrets to advertising on Facebook and other social sites. Additional MOOC 4 faculty include: * Judy Ungar Franks (President, The Marketing Democracy, Ltd. & Lecturer, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern) * Steffi Decker (Junior Partner, Chong and Koster) * Joey Strawn (Director of Integrated Marketing, Industrial Strength Marketing)...

Top reviews

AH
Feb 5, 2016

This is my favorite course of the series so far. Information dense, the hands-on class project for this unit will help unpack the mystery of A/B split testing using free online tools. Recommended!

RQ
Sep 29, 2019

I recommend this class for it teaches engagement technics for quick low return and it also teaches nurturing techniques for those that take a while to sell but much much higher return

Filter by:

126 - 137 of 137 Reviews for Content, Advertising & Social IMC

By Avangelina C

Dec 7, 2016

I enjoyed the course.

By Giannandrea D M

Aug 5, 2020

very good course!

By Roxana P

Jan 14, 2019

Good information!

By Michelle E

Aug 22, 2019

Very good course

By Raed A

Sep 28, 2019

good one

By Sister E B

Jun 28, 2016

The content of this course is excellent, and I've learned a tremendous amount. It would be a 5-star course if that were the only criterion.

I've become discouraged about the lack of rigor in the quizzes. A standard practice for students in online courses, if a quiz can be taken more than once, is to take the quiz before studying the material. (This is a research-supported study technique; it focuses attention on key points in listening/reading.) I'm finding that the questions virtually give away the answers. On my trial-run attempt, before the videos, I score close to or above the passing level. Because the multiple-response answers are immediately visible, a student could boost into the generous passing range on a second attempt just by seeing which boxes should have been checked or left unchecked. I can usually achieve a score of 100% on three attempts before seeing any of the material.

Questions could be more difficult by requiring more discerning application of the principles, or by requiring true recall (typing in rather than choosing the information in a multiple choice format). There are dozens of ways to make questions a more rigorous and authentic assessment of student knowledge; I'm sure you know and practice many of them in your face-to-face classes.

The option to repeat the quiz fails as an assessment because the questions are repeated identically even after the incorrect answers have been indicated -- and in the multiple response questions, this means that the correct answers have also been shown. A person with no knowledge of the subject matter should be able to score 100% in a maximum of 4 attempts at the quiz, just by trying each answer on each question. Thus the quiz is not any kind of assessment of actual knowledge.

The assignments do require a demonstration of some ability, but the grading scheme is sufficiently generous that a person who follows the instructions minimally will earn enough points so that, in conjunction with quiz scores, they pass and receive the certificate for the course.

This certificate program has high visibility in social media right now; it would be a shame for the certificate to devalue rapidly when it becomes clear to employers and students that the certificate does not, in fact, indicate that a person has passed any minimal threshold of knowledge or skill.

It may be that the Capstone project is graded quite rigorously, so that any slackers from the previous classes will not earn the certificate -- but that's a bit devious too.

By Hasan F

Feb 3, 2021

Again Update, it is such a loss to see a very well-designed specialization with a very well-taught subject by a very good instructor goes unreliable because it is not being updated. Another thing this course doesn't cover all major social media platforms, but it gives you a very good start especially if your audience is on Twitter

By Regan B

Jun 29, 2020

The slides were hard to read at times.

Great take aways for amplification of messages and ideas for posting messages.

By Niaja F

Dec 19, 2016

Good material, but wish it had more assignments to hold you accountable.

By Aoon S

Aug 23, 2016

The assignment is difficult

By vidushi t

Feb 1, 2016

Topics were not taken in depth and enough clarity. I tried hard to learn in the course but lost track by the end of week 3 and the peer assignment.

By Adam W

Mar 16, 2017

Not very substantive. Seems to be a marketing ploy for those on-screen more than to be anything of use to its audience.