Chevron Left
Back to Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,296 ratings

About the Course

This course offers an introduction to social impact strategy and social entrepreneurship, including key concepts, an overview of the field, and tools to get started as a changemaker. Students will learn how to innovate and design new ideas and new organizational forms to implement those ideas. Students who take this course will be better prepared to launch social impact organizations of their own invention. By moving through four stages, Define, Design, Pilot, and Scale, students will turn their passion for changing the world into concrete plans for launching a nonprofit or for-profit venture designed to achieve a social goal. This course will allow students to systematically think through problems; develop and test an innovative solution; assess risk, competition, and performance; and spread impact in a way that is financially sustainable. Students who complete the course become eligible to apply for an in-person educational experience, called the Global Social Impact House. GSIH is a seven-day residential program that provides fellows with the tools, community and training they need to advance their ventures. Workshops are customized to the needs of fellows and explore advanced concepts in business models, design thinking and leadership. The program is also designed to help fellows build meaningful, global connections while living together in an inspirational host location. For more information on the Global Social Impact House, please visit: https://csis.upenn.edu/residential-program/gsih/...

Top reviews

DA

Invalid date

This course has broaden my mind in innovation as a means of solving social problems, lecturer is so good. I recommend it for any one interested in social impact and entrepreneurship.

BZ

Invalid date

This course has helped better my understanding of social entrepreneurship as well as help me figure out my next steps towards furthering my pursuits in the social entrepreneurship world.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 361 Reviews for Social Impact Strategy: Tools for Entrepreneurs and Innovators

By NAST P

Oct 3, 2020

Thank you for this. I have learned a lot about social innovation, social entrepreneurship, and social impact.

By Sudhanshu M

Mar 5, 2018

Some really good content, took it as a high school student and had no problem at all. Would recommend to all!

By Vanessa P

Apr 20, 2020

This was an excellent course with easy to follow curriculum. The readings and quizzes were very imformative.

By Nikita M

Mar 11, 2019

Very interesting and useful course to get the basis of social entrepreneurship and learn about useful tools.

By Sanjay S

Sep 5, 2020

Comprehensive course that illustrates the various models, challenges, opportunities for Social enterprises.

By Mikko J

Oct 30, 2016

Excellent overview with the necessary detail. Good, progressively deepening selection of optional readings.

By Peter H

Nov 12, 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learnt some powerful concepts to apply in my social enterprise design

By Tiffany R

Feb 7, 2022

Practical, logical frame work for understanding social impact and for helping you develop your own ideas.

By Ashay

May 1, 2020

The best thing about the course is examples of Coco and Carlos which take you along the course very well.

By P R G

Mar 12, 2022

very well explained. Learned many valuable things. Thanks to Prof Peter Frumkin and Thanks to Coursera

By Apichart T

Jul 28, 2017

Good Course to know how to make goods to society, not only for profit, but for you and people around you

By Ane G

Apr 21, 2020

Quedan muy claros los conceptos y se comparten herramientas muy útiles y fáciles de poner en practica.

By Ericka C L d O

Mar 27, 2022

Very complete and easy to learn. I loved the methods used by the professor! It's definitely worth it.

By Helder P

Sep 3, 2019

Brilliant course, really good mix of theory with practical examples and tools you can use right away.

By Joanne N

Nov 29, 2020

Great tools and frameworks to utilize when thinking through how to define an idea for social impact.

By Anirudhan T

Jan 1, 2017

very easy to understand and the real life examples made a huge difference in the learning experience

By Samarth M

Oct 9, 2016

It is very useful for an aspiring entrepreneur like me. Thanks Peter and Suzi for the lovely course.

By Serkan A

May 18, 2020

If you are thinking to build a startup company which has social impact. This is definitely for you.

By Lillian S

Mar 1, 2018

Thank you for the well designed course and the opportunity to learn more about social innovation!

By Bryan W

May 15, 2020

Great takeaways. Great flow and feel to the presentations. Really enjoyed taking this course.

By Guilherme F

Nov 22, 2016

Great introductory course for those who want to understand the social entrepreneurship world.

By Nancy C

Sep 13, 2021

Very useful tools. Also like the short clips of each class which makes it easier to learn

By Ronald T

Aug 30, 2020

I particularly appreciated the alternate Theories of Change and the 5 Roads to Scaling.

By Achsania H

Dec 3, 2019

very useful course, learn a lot of tool how to make a social entreprise in this course

By Priyanka M

Apr 1, 2019

Informative, practical and actionable - just what I needed at this phase in my journey.