Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,116 ratings
1,719 reviews

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV
Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
May 20, 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 1,726 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Daniel G C

Apr 25, 2020

EXCELENTE EL CURSO.

Se puede hacer difícil las lecturas si no tienes un buen nivel de inglés, pero muchas gracias por darnos esta valiosa oportunidad de aprender entretenidamente acerca de esta útil carrera.

By Bianca L

Jun 30, 2020

It was an excellent course, excellent Professor. Just the final exam is a bit nerve racking, especially if you do not study like you should. So make sure you study, take pleeenty of notes and go for it!

By Wankaew

May 11, 2020

It's totally a world opener for me. I have learned lots of new, fresh and useful stuffs from here. Eventhough, there's a lot to read as well as the quizz is quite hard. It's worth to take the course!

By SHIVANI G

May 3, 2020

Social Psychology is an amazing subject which every person must know. I personally liked the way in which the module has been designed. Thank you Professor Scott Plous for the beautiful module.

By OYEBANJI F J

Jul 24, 2020

This course had helped me in critical thinking, developed my social interaction, and enhanced me to be better in social expectations. Thanks to Professor Pious and every other lecturer.

By Lvova A

Nov 3, 2018

For me, this course is hard enough because of an amount of interesting content, and it's great. But for me the second part of the course very differs from the first, so be ready too.

By donnna s

Jul 29, 2020

The professor is very engaging, there's a lot of videos and reading material available in the course, there is a lot of insight to be gained from taking the course.

By Andrew D W

Feb 16, 2021

Found this really interesting and thought-provoking. It's heavy on the reading material so you've been warned, but I also found that created a lot of value for me.

By A A

Jan 31, 2020

This course will give you a lot to think about and discuss with your friends! Thoroughly enjoyed it although there were moments when it got a little boring

By Matias C

Jan 4, 2021

Passionate and funny professor. A lot of very interesting material. Needs to add foreign approaches like the one of Enrique Pichon Riviere and others.

By Najeeb k

Jun 12, 2020

it was a great learning experience. I would like to appreciate Professor Scot for the way the course was designed and conducted..... GREAT!!!!!!

By Hosam E

Jun 3, 2020

Very Good. Excellent teaching from Scott.

Would definitely recommend to anyone would like to go in depth into a human thinking and behavior.

By Sarthak P

Jul 2, 2020

I personally will prefer this course as it is enjoyable to learn but yes at the time the exams are really top so go through it properly.

By abhishek

May 19, 2020

helps me to know myself and others too without being judgmental. Also the professor explains very clearly of each and every topic.

By Pamela R

Jun 12, 2020

The professor is excellent. The effort he has put is commendable. Thanks, Coursera! You are better than many on-campus courses.

By Derick M S

May 29, 2020

Nice course giving an insight into the various daily occurrences and their relation with psychological theories.

By Manu C T

Aug 4, 2020

It is a good course. It is very simple to do and you will understand all tough lessons with simple experiments

By sanchit g

Jul 6, 2020

it was a GOOD COURSE. Informative and easy to grasp. the assignments were very thought provoking and fun.

By MrEdu

Nov 21, 2020

Es excelente la calidad del curso para ser gratis, aprendí muchas cosas y ahora veo todo muy diferente

By Sephamandla N

Oct 28, 2020

I have learnt a great deal about myself in this course and I intend to use that for bettering my life.

By Nurdan K

Aug 14, 2020

It was a great course. I learnt a lot but the videos were too long to watch. It made me tired a bit.

By elia f

Aug 24, 2020

Very very very interesting lessons with a serious final exam.

Many thanks to prof. Plous

By Mariel M B C

Jun 2, 2020

Great course!! I've learned so much! I plan to apply some of the knowledge in my life.

By Rifat H A

Jul 7, 2020

Great course indeed. Thank you Wesleyan University and specially Prof. Scott Plous.