Chevron Left
Back to Social Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Psychology by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,538 ratings

About the Course

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Top reviews

IV

Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

AN

Sep 26, 2020

Such a wonderful course, enlightening, compelling and fun! Professor Plous is an amazing source of education and kindness throughout the 7 weeks.

Thank you soon much for this learning opportunity.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,882 Reviews for Social Psychology

By Penphan T

Jul 10, 2020

This is my best coursera MOOC experience by far. Although it's an online course, Prof. Plous and his team put so much effort to make sure that it's as interactive and fun as it can be. I actually signed up out of curiosity, I've always been interested in understanding behaviors and how we function as a person, as a society. Initially, I thought clinical psychology was the way to go but thanks to my experience with this class - I've now discover that what I should have been pursuing all along is Social Psychology ! Thank you Coursera, Prof. Plous and all the minds behind this course for such an amazing education experience !

By benayad c f

Aug 12, 2020

I don't even know how to start. This course is clearly of high quality ! The content is very instructive, very generous in knowledge, and material. It is also very pedagogic, fun, entertaining. I am not usually the type of person who would "expose" myself to others, but I had a special feeling with this course that my made me confortable to complete the assignments, and course to the final exam. Obviously I have learned a lot. Of course, thank you to the wonderful professor Mr.Scott Plous for his amazing teaching and all the contributors and guests (professors, researchers) to the course. I highly recommend. Thank you :)

By Agne D

Nov 26, 2020

When I decided to take this course of Social Psychology, I had no idea how exciting, insightful and meaningful this journey would be. I could hardly imagine how many new things I would discover about human mind, about people, and about myself. Moreover, I had no idea how this course would influence my everyday routine. How it would change my world. To what extent it would impact my life.

The course material is of good quality, and the content is very interesting and original. Very highly recommended for everybody, regardless of your education, profession, age or whatever. The huge thanks to Mr. Plous - you are amazing!

By 呂信德

Jun 5, 2019

JGFDFFFFDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDFR FNNNNNNNNNNNNREFAC GYUFEDDDDDDDDDDDDDDC CDE2EYVUFWTVYID C3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3E3EB GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGWHJKDN E4NODHFG4YUICVCRY4GFWEIO YRIIIIIIIIIII34OGFUDB YYYYYYYYY3GFIOG45O 46Y3HO0DGI3WU8FVX YU43IHD4U3XHJ9 4GRYFFFFFFFFFFFFFJKLZHYT FRV cy5cvh653w3qazsvgftr5vsAQq45GTRBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVBVWDIOWEWSW45GFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTRGFTR44

By Lisa K

Dec 28, 2020

A really enjoyable course with engaging, conversational lecture videos on interesting topics and plenty of bonus material for students to explore further, although the base material for the course will keep you busy enough. There is a lot of reading required for this course which left me playing catch-up at times, although I found all of it to be interesting. I felt that I got a good understanding of some basic Social Psychology principles, and in later weeks the course also focused on how social psychology can applied to address social justice issues and inequality, which I found relevant and stimulating.

By Juan D L A (

Sep 9, 2020

This course must be for everyone, it's not deep and still teaches a lot, I'm not any close to psychology and it was a great introduction of what this subjet means (refering particulary to social psychology) and how useful it is.

It goes from giving empirical (experimental) facts about how the mind does social reasoning and it discusses multiple subjets (individuals, groups, agression, how helpful we really are, etc.).

There are some activities and readings that go beyond what's expected from an online course.

After taking it, I think now that this subjet must be taught to everyone, for example, in highschool.

By Roula H

Jul 27, 2021

Social psychology taught me the correct way to improve and spread the knowledge and awareness which I have been doing since 2010 by myself only , using social media. Beside, it spotted lights on my negative aspects on my personality which I have to work on it .

The way of teaching was professionally and creativity, and the teachers staff was wonderful and patient with us , to some extent, I did not hope to end this amazing course.

Thank you for giving me this opportunity which I dreamed about it since I was 20 years old , now I am 36 years old and by coursera, I achieved my first step from my dream.

By Loukianos E P

Jan 16, 2021

Rarely does one stumble upon such a well - structured, captivating and easily accessible course. Dr. Plous and all his helpful staff members have put a great amount of work into making social psychology clear, fun and mentally stimulating. Videos, assigned readings, assignments and extra material create a varying learning environment where complex notions become understood through a combination of theory and practice. Lastly, the peer reviews, the discussion fora and the (optional) online meeting with learners from all over the world are valuable tools which bring you closer to your classmates!

By Sandra O

Dec 29, 2022

I found this course to be both challenging and enlightening. For a person who has not entered college-style learning or completing that style of assignments, I found this course to be the full gamete of expectations and so much more! I have learned about myself, people, and people's actions. What I have learned will assist me in my employment. Professor Scott Plous was an excellent instructor whom I felt I could follow with ease, although I was challenged with my mind, and being I was able to accomplish my goal of completing the course. Thank you to all contributors and Professor Plous.

By Soon G

May 26, 2020

Exceptional course into the world of social psychology. This course has profoundly change how I view society, people and relationships.

The course itself is both well designed and well equipped with the resources you need to learn and explore about social psychology. Spending time to reflect and assimilate the concepts will help you gain a greater appreciation to the course.

Professor Plous is an amazing tutor and also a great story teller. He manages to seamless weave social psychology concepts and teachings into the lecturers. Overall this was a really enjoyable and enriching course.

By Ashna J

Jul 9, 2022

Hi, I appreciate the efforts of Prof. Scott Plous, Coursera Team and all the others involved in bringing this course to us. It was a great experience and I am glad that I completed this course. It was really interesting especially the original video clips from the Experiments, no doubt those were the highlight parts of the course for me. I thoroughly enjoyed it. And not to forget, Prof. Plous and the editing team's efforts to add in some cool effects. Finally I am really grateful to everyone involed, even my peers and I wish you all happy and healthy life! Regards, Ashna Joshi, India

By Nicholas P

Jun 25, 2020

Special thanks to Professor Scott Plous and Wesleyan University for the amazing opportunity to learn Social Psychology. Overall, the course was a great learning tool that exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend taking this for anyone who wants to learn why we act the way that we do.

The course proved very insightful and provided controversial subjects that not only tested my thinking but helped me understand why I thought the things I did. For the low cost of the course, the value you receive is exceptional and again, I highly recommend it.

I only wish the course had a part two!

By NASREEN F

Nov 28, 2020

(genuine review) enjoyed it to the fullest . the course gives you very valuable information and it is very fun even if you like psychology or not . the videos and the readings are very informative and fun. the assignments are easy too, if you dont want to choose creating a social psychology network page they give you other alternatives too , so no worries and full protection of privacy. I am glad that i choose this course and completed it in time. thanks to the full team for making such a good course. STUDYING AND KNOWING SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY IS A MUST FOR EVERYONE according to me.

By Lohana S

Jun 14, 2020

I would like to thank you especially, Professor Plous, for teaching us the way you did it.

It was highly interesting, interactive, fun, and I enjoyed it very much. You made me want to learn more. I have never been to university because I started working when I was 17. And it made me feel encouraged even from home. It helped me keep a daily routine through the COVID19 when I couldn't work anymore.

Thank you, for everything. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is at least a little bit curious about life, about others and themselves and wish to learn things in a fun way.

By Tracy M

Sep 28, 2021

This course was a lot of work, but you get out of it what you put into it. I was at times frustrated by the lack of effort my peers put in but I never found the material or the assignments lacking. You are not at all pressured to join the SPN network; you have the choice to do an alternate assignment in the single case where an SPN membership is an option - it is never a requirement. If you want to learn about yourself and see to a greater depth the patterns of behavior we live every day in society, and you are prepared to put in some work, this is the right course for you.

By Muhammad A

Jun 13, 2020

This course was an amazing experience and I got to learn so much! Professor Scott Plous is truly an amazing instructor and it's a shame that I didn't have the opportunity to be his direct student. Extremely thankful to entire Coursera team to offer such a superb course and I also appreciate this platform in general. Again, truly thankful to Prof. Scott, all the people behind this amazing course and of course, my course mates. Wishing the very best of luck to Coursera. Please continue to flourish and I'm looking forward to that soccer match between Coursera and Germany ;)

By Georgi G

Jun 17, 2022

I took this course as one related to leadership development and I was amazed at the impact social psychology has when working in an organization. It helps understand others' behavior, and it helps understand your own behavior. Dr. Plous is a charming lecturer who is a pleasure to listen to, and the presentation of the material has a great casual feeling to it.

The only criticism I have is the nagging persuasion elements in regards to climate change and animal rights. I wouldnot have minded it as much if there was a notice at the start that this is part of the course.

By Zsofia B

Jun 21, 2020

I've learnt so much from this eye-opening and thought-inducing course, I'm beyond grateful and recommend it to anyone no matter your background. It is very well designed, full of interesting and relevant experiments around the main concepts, all grouped into digestible weekly material. I only wish this course could be included in the curriculum for everyone all over the world, as I strongly believe it would improve society, by becoming aware of our biases and helping to improve ourselves to be better and more compassionate people. Sincere thanks to Professor Plous!

By Sierra W

Aug 2, 2022

This social psychology course is wonderful. I have taken a similar course at my university. While it, too, was very informative and engaging, this course blows the ground courses away! There is so much information here, with input from scholars across space and time. Also, resources in psychology are provided that will serve students for years to come. This course was very in-depth with several assignments and a final exam, and you should expect to put in as much time as you would any college course. I highly recommend this class to anyone in any field of study.

By Lee A

Jul 26, 2022

Good day Prof. Scott Plous and team

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, Coursera, Wesleyan University team for an excellent course. It has helped me advance intellectually in my overview of society as a whole. Yes, I still have lots to learn, but your course has made me more observant . I am thus aware bias, while not allowing others or circumstances to determine my – me .

I was busy with your course when my Dad passed on, and the online concept was an advantage, enabling me to complete.

Thank you once again.

Regards

Lee Abrahams (Louetta)

By Monica M A

May 31, 2020

It's been an amazing journey! It was my first course in Coursera and I cannot be more satisfied with the experience. The way it was organized, the topics, the materials and the presentation gave me what I appreciate the most in a class: enough to pursuit for more. It's been almost 4 years since I took a class of any kind so was not sure if I was "in shape" for an area with so much to learn and analyse, however the course kept me hours reading, consulting and discussing.

Thanks very much to professor Plous and the team who made this course possible for us!

By YASH C

Jun 11, 2020

This was a wonderful experience I have ever felt in my lifetime since the teaching by Prof. Scott Plous is amazing. The graphical effects he used while teaching is undoubtedly wonderful idea. I think I have paid more attention in this course than my university subjects!!. And all the collections of the great psychologist's research and videos is truly a treasure. I am very thankful to Prof. Scott Plous for providing such a intellectual concepts in such a beautiful manner. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!!.

Thank you from bottom of my HEART !:-)

By Sue R

Jun 5, 2020

Social Psychology, with Professor Scott Plous, was a stimulating and engaging course. The video lectures and readings were excellent and I learned a great deal of fascinating and useful information from them. The assignments were challenging and creative and I enjoyed completing them. I also loved engaging with students from so many countries and cultures in the discussion forums. If you have any interest at all in this topic, I highly recommend this course. I'm extremely happy that I decided to take it and can't recommend it highly enough!

By Kubra

Mar 26, 2019

I am glad that i took the course.It made me decide and realize what i really wanted to study/do and make my future plans.Very useful stuff to use in daily life/at work etc. I am aware of more things now and the more i know the more i get comfortable with people/society/kids etc. and how to deal with them.And i really know now what i really wanna do in the future ☺ Hope they will prepare other levels of the course too for those who like to continue learning about social psychology but cant study it.would be amazing.thank you for the course ✌

By Rhonda D

Jun 18, 2020

I found this course pretty interesting, and learnt a lot in these past few weeks, about myself and my relationships with others, that I have kept applying DAILY. Even the final exam method you have used made me THINK and THINK sooooo much to ensure I understood the question correctly in order to answer effectively. The applied questions were a good test of our true understanding.

Thank you Professor Plous, the Mentors who respond to us in the discussion forums and ALL the persons involved in the creation and conducting of this course.