Chevron Left
Back to Software Development Processes and Methodologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Development Processes and Methodologies by University of Minnesota

4.6
291 ratings
63 reviews

About the Course

Software is quickly becoming integral part of human life as we see more and more automation and technical advancements. Just like we expect car to work all the time and can't afford to break or reboot unexpectedly, software industry needs to continue to learn better way to build software if it were to become integral part of human life. In this course, you will get an overview of how software teams work? What processes they use? What are some of the industry standard methodologies? What are pros and cons of each? You will learn enough to have meaningful conversation around software development processes. After completing this course, a learner will be able to 1) Apply core software engineering practices at conceptual level for a given problem. 2) Compare and contrast traditional, agile, and lean development methodologies at high level. These include Waterfall, Rational Unified Process, V model, Incremental, Spiral models and overview of agile mindset 3) Propose a methodology best suited for a given situation...

Top reviews

MW

May 25, 2018

Week 4 assignment. I kept going back to my submission to see if it’s been graded since I never got any email verifications. Now it says I’ve resubmitted the asisngment. Which I haven’t done.

PK

Mar 17, 2018

The week 4 content was very interesting and the whole course was executed excellently and the content was good enough to justify the course title.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 62 Reviews for Software Development Processes and Methodologies

By Maria W

Jun 06, 2018

I completed the first three courses seven months ago and the fourth course has yet to be offered. I selected these courses because they were offered as part of a specialization. Selling the course as a specialization but never offering the last course is not only very frustrating but false advertising. I would not have paid and taken these courses if I had known that the last course was not going to be offered, and therefore, I could not complete the specialization that was advertised.

By Matteo G

Aug 30, 2018

The course is well structured and the quiz level is proportionate to the level of detail provided in the lecture.

However the peer-graded assignments are "dangerous" and can make you waste weeks, precluding the possibility of proceeding with the course. It's happened to me to receive unjustified poor grade from the same peer more than once, giving a low score to points that were fully covered in my submission. Moreover the peer didn't provide any explanation to support the poor score. Without any control from the course moderator some peers can prevent you from passing an assignment wasting entire weeks. Think about it before paying for this course.

I'm sorry to give a low rating to the course that is not bad at all, but the lack of supervision from the moderator is a huge handicap.

By Francesco R

May 31, 2019

By what I could understand, the fourth course of the specialization will "never" be published (people have been complaining about it not being available since 2018). Moreover, one of the teachers has a really strong accent, which is honestly distracting. Some material is alright, but most isn't, and having to deal with the aforementioned issues makes this course pointless at best, useless at worst.

By Sushaen M

Jul 30, 2019

The course material is not detailed at all. The Lecturers have bad grammar and make many mistakes. Some of the material asked on quizzes is not in the lecture in the first part of the course.

However, the worst part of this course is the Peer Reviewed Assignment system. This relies on the intelligence and capability of random strangers who can sometimes lack basic understanding of the course material themselves as well as English comprehension skills. This in turn can affect your course grade which is just absolutely absurd.

A very lazily designed course by the University of Minnesota. They should be ashamed for putting out something like this.

By Deleted A

Feb 06, 2019

I liked the videos and quizzes however i did not like the peer review projects. One of the speakers was a little hard to follow and understand. I will be looking for courses elsewhere.

By Niyati J

Jul 05, 2018

worst course....

By kurt s

Jun 27, 2018

Poorly produced and difficult to follow.

By Tamer M

Jun 13, 2018

Information is not sufficient

By Chris H

Mar 19, 2018

I am very disappointed by this course. The slides are not available and it seems that no one cares about it. A couple of month ago someone asked for the slides in the forums, but the answer was dismissive and hasn't been updated yet.

The quizzes and projects seem to have not been quality checked, the question phrasing is bad and the answers sometimes don't seem to correspond well with the material taught in the video lectures.

By Kendall W

Dec 09, 2018

As an R&D manager that is becoming more involved in software development, this course by Praveen Mittal and Kevin Wendt was a great introduction to SW development processes and methodologies. The content was immediately useful in my current role. The structure of the course with videos, quizzes, mini-projects, and peer-review grading was well designed and effective for learning the material.

By Xuecong L

Nov 10, 2018

Very overarching, good for beginners!

By Iakovos N

Jan 06, 2019

Really great course give you an ideal overview of software development methodologies.

By Bartas C

Mar 05, 2019

I recommend this course !!!

By Mariami K

Mar 19, 2019

It was very productive, and good experience, support is very helpful, no need to worry about any problem which you might face during process, connected to assignments mostly, cause it might be an issue when it comes to fair grading. So in overall I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in this field, and I continue to complete all the courses I find interesting. Good job, Coursera!

By Afnan A

Mar 21, 2019

This course is well designed.

By Parag M

Jul 20, 2018

Excellent way to dig deeper into Agile frameworks. Instructors were knowledgeable and gave good assignments. Thank you.

By Dana

Oct 06, 2018

It is a good course and the information is useful.

By Peddi K

Mar 17, 2018

The week 4 content was very interesting and the whole course was executed excellently and the content was good enough to justify the course title.

By Deleted A

Mar 24, 2018

good very good

By jouzaa M A

Mar 26, 2018

very good and beatful

By Halima a

Mar 24, 2018

good

By Cristiano S

Jan 29, 2018

Great!

By Noura a

Apr 03, 2018

good

By Deleted A

Mar 23, 2018

good

By rahel l

Jul 09, 2018

The instructors are so knowledgeable and experienced on software development. I have learned a lot. thank You!