Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy and Electrical System Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy and Electrical System Design by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
426 ratings
123 reviews

About the Course

This course supplies learners with the insights necessary for properly planning, and therefore successfully installing, a photovoltaic (PV) system per design specifications. It directs learners through the important steps of initial site inspection and evaluating appropriate locations for PV systems, and features unique elements of residential, small, industrial and utility-scale solar applications. The course probes key design concerns – including load, efficiency, and mechanical and electrical design – as well as aesthetics and tools for planning. Learners experiment with calculations needed to design a PV system, exercising newly gained knowledge about site selection, layout, code compliance, system components, and wire sizing. This course is targeted for engineers who have interest in entering the solar power sectors. It is also appropriate for HVAC installers, architects and building code inspectors. Learners should have a basic grasp of electrical engineering, physics and mathematical concepts. Those who are unfamiliar with how PV works, the elements of a PV system, and/or solar power ROI should take the first course of the specialization, Solar Energy Systems Overview. Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, hands-on exercises, project work, readings and discussions. This is the second course in the Solar PV for Engineers, Architects and Code Inspectors specialization. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/XjkKzbXqA6s....

Top reviews

DP
Jun 1, 2021

GREAT CONTENT TALKING ABOUT THE TECHNICAL PART OF SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM DESIGNING AND DATA PROVIDED BY PROFESSOR WAS EXCELLENT FOR HAVING A PRACTICE OF DESIGNING THE SOLAR SYSTEM OF OUR OWN HOUSE.

SB
Jul 15, 2020

100% Efforts by Instructor.\n\nIts amazing to learn how each aspects is being covered in the course.\n\nPRACTICAL Videos of the each parts of the solar was very impressive.\n\nJust Excellent!!!!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 126 Reviews for Solar Energy and Electrical System Design

By Aishwarya M

Sep 25, 2020

Too much info to deal with, but still enjoyed because of trainer and fellow mates using forum

Thank you all

By amin

Dec 20, 2020

very interesting and clear course. i find it very

beneficial for me thank you for the opportunity

By Danish M

Aug 12, 2021

It is a good course for understanding the concept behind the Solar System Design and their parameters

By Venilson N

Jun 20, 2021

This was a great practical course and I will use the knowledge obtained to design my own PV Systems.

By Yasser M

Jan 17, 2021

Course content was perfect, but the data could be prepared and presented in a better manner.

By MOHD S

Oct 15, 2020

the amazing course actually I have learned many more things about solar energy.

By Michael A S M

Aug 27, 2020

It's a good overview, but it's just focused in the overall terms and code.

By Cristian S

Dec 16, 2020

Its great for starting and knowing about the Solar Systems Instalations.

By Noaman R

Aug 6, 2020

A good course. Highly recommended for Solar energy professionals.

By Akhtar A

Mar 18, 2021

one of best solar energy courses . Thanks to Coursera Management

By camilo a m s

Aug 24, 2020

Curso introductorio, pero cubre superficialmente temas avanzados

By Federico R F

Jan 8, 2021

Useful course to learn pratical and theoretical concepts.

By Vikash K

Sep 29, 2020

very good. all practical knowledge you gain from here.

By Juan D Z L

Aug 5, 2020

It was interesting and well understand course

By Juan J G

Sep 25, 2020

I think some theory on batteries is missing.

By anas a

Oct 20, 2020

good information has been gained

By T S K

Jul 15, 2021

EXPLANATION IS GOOD

By Juan A P O

Jan 28, 2021

Buen curso.

By Aws A

Dec 1, 2020

Great

By Sriram S

Oct 29, 2020

nice

By Mohammad I

Sep 27, 2020

Nice

By Michał K

Jan 10, 2021

Nice practical view on the topic. But the whole course was quite chaotic - for me it seems like much information was repeated many times - it could be organised better.

I would like to see also proffesional P&ID's of some example systems with an explaination - not only diagram sketches.

By iradukunda T T

Sep 14, 2020

this is the great course for the beginner just for us to know general knowledge about solar design.

I would like to ask if there is any way that you can offer certificates from designing softwares like homer and PVsyst.

thank you

By Abdelmaqsoud M R S

Aug 22, 2020

need to add practical material for connecting the system

By wael a

Aug 9, 2021

It's theoretical, not practical.