Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
1,981 ratings
658 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

J

Sep 26, 2020

I'm an electrical engineering student in 6th semester. In this course I learned many new things regarding, a pathway to PV specialization, special Thanks to coursera authorities and respected Sir.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 663 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By Bhushan A P

Aug 13, 2020

Good Experience

By Mohan S

Sep 18, 2020

Good learning

By Muhammad A H

Jul 17, 2020

learned a lot

By Mayank D

Sep 14, 2020

Good quality

By ADHIL R

Aug 17, 2020

Good course.

By seif e

Aug 22, 2021

very nice

By Moayad A D

May 5, 2020

very good

By Hussein M A

Nov 8, 2019

perfect

By Matias P

Dec 3, 2021

bueno

By Javier E B L

Jun 12, 2020

great

By vijay k b

Jun 4, 2020

❤👌👌

By MOHAMMED M A M

Apr 6, 2020

great

By nishant j

Nov 7, 2020

good

By Jakapure A B

Aug 20, 2020

Good

By Amit R

Aug 20, 2020

good

By Mr. A K

Jun 4, 2020

GOOD

By Tina k

Jun 2, 2020

GOOD

By Lipika D

May 21, 2020

good

By B.VOOTLA P S - M

May 12, 2020

good

By Diya R

Apr 25, 2020

GOOD

By Aritra G

Aug 18, 2021

O

By Pompilia B

Oct 13, 2019

Not focused on what I thought it will be. Quizzes that ask you question after question about the history pf PV in USA and certifications and which institution offer what certification and which certification depends on you being a qualified technician - I DON'T CARE. This isn't what I signed up for and I will not be paying to get a certification because I do not want to go through the pain of filling a 15 questions quizz about this.

By Carles M B

Mar 20, 2022

The course contents are great to start in the PV world, but I had a bad experience with the capstone project, as I had to resubmit it because some people (who are also paying to do the course) asseses my project very bad with no logical reason (it was properly done, following all the prompts, and some other people had assessed it correctly).

By Swaathy R

Jun 7, 2020

Nice course to get started with the solar basics. Can include few more MATH quiz sections felt it like those are very few..

By Kamal E

Jul 25, 2021

it's an average course with low level contents , so i do not recommend in case you are looking for it to learn in depth