Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
1,999 ratings
664 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

J

Sep 26, 2020

I'm an electrical engineering student in 6th semester. In this course I learned many new things regarding, a pathway to PV specialization, special Thanks to coursera authorities and respected Sir.

Filter by:

651 - 671 of 671 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By B.VOOTLA P S - M

May 12, 2020

good

By Diya R

Apr 25, 2020

GOOD

By Aritra G

Aug 18, 2021

O

By Pompilia B

Oct 13, 2019

Not focused on what I thought it will be. Quizzes that ask you question after question about the history pf PV in USA and certifications and which institution offer what certification and which certification depends on you being a qualified technician - I DON'T CARE. This isn't what I signed up for and I will not be paying to get a certification because I do not want to go through the pain of filling a 15 questions quizz about this.

By Carles M B

Mar 20, 2022

The course contents are great to start in the PV world, but I had a bad experience with the capstone project, as I had to resubmit it because some people (who are also paying to do the course) asseses my project very bad with no logical reason (it was properly done, following all the prompts, and some other people had assessed it correctly).

By Swaathy R

Jun 7, 2020

Nice course to get started with the solar basics. Can include few more MATH quiz sections felt it like those are very few..

By Kamal E

Jul 25, 2021

it's an average course with low level contents , so i do not recommend in case you are looking for it to learn in depth

By Jorge B A

Jan 23, 2021

Me parece que el curso es básico, se podría tener mejor material y profundizar en algunos temas

By Keith L

Nov 29, 2020

Good basic overview, but too much on installing a personal system.

By Abdul A

Jun 24, 2022

it is the best course i have learnt about solar

By Arik M

Nov 22, 2020

need more deep PV sizing details

By Mohammed A

Sep 5, 2021

easy beneficial course

By 6004_Akshaya K

Sep 5, 2020

....

By Mathieu P

Jan 29, 2022

2 star for presentation, for teacher very perfect when he speak. Slow and audible, this is perfect for me. Good stuff to learn, not too fast, not too expert level, not too beginner, just at the right place. But I remove 3 star because the course was free, but after 1 week they said we need to pay to continue.... This is so bad !

By Brian P

May 29, 2020

Course was good and informative and happy it was a SUNY school, but I was disappointed by multiple participants (specifically from other countries) that used recycled final projects. This is seen when peer reviewing final projects (which is a requirement).

Kind of left me with a bad taste. Too bad since it was good.

By Julián C

May 16, 2020

Is a very good course, but need a administrator in the final proyect that some person don't have the skill or goodwill to correct seriusly. This is so irritating.

By Master_ F

Nov 1, 2020

It's a little hard but fun

By Mustansar H S

Mar 5, 2021

Very amazing course , we learn alot of many new calculation Thankk you Coursera to provide this amazing plat fome for learning and also for eraning

By Nawaf G S A

May 24, 2020

I did not know there was a project and i want my certification please

By Shreyash S

Jul 4, 2020

The answers to the quiz keeps changing answers.

By Venkata l

Jul 18, 2020

I want to unenroll the course now