Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Basics by The State University of New York

4.8
stars
2,206 ratings

About the Course

This course gives you an introduction to the fundamentals of solar power as it applies to solar panel system installations. You will learn to compare solar energy to other energy resources and explain how solar panels, or photovoltaics (PV for short), convert sunlight to electricity. You will be able to identify the key components needed in a basic photovoltaic (solar panel) system, such as is found on a house or building, and explain the function of each component in the system. You will also learn how to calculate the electrical demand of a building, how to reduce the overall demand, and then how to design a solar panel system that can meet that annual demand at a given location. You will also compare the different types of pricing models that are being used and key regulatory considerations for grid tied systems (where a house or building is connected to the electrical grid and also generates electricity from solar panels). A capstone design project that entails both the simple audit of a building to determine demand, and a selection of components to design a solar panel system to meet that demand....

Top reviews

EL

Oct 4, 2020

Aprendi mucho en este curso. Los videos explicativos del profesor hacen que todo sea de facil entendimiento. El conocimiento adquirido he podido aplicarlo en mi actual area de trabajo. Muy recomendado

A

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to thank you and your team for this great course, I'm really appreciated, it was very helpful as starting in this field, and I will be the first one who will take all your next courses

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 737 Reviews for Solar Energy Basics

By Elchin R

Nov 8, 2022

DearAll,

Thanks a lot,

It couldn't even suppose that it will be so interesting for me.

Really great course

By kk N

Aug 29, 2022

Bravo..

Thanks to this course I have a brighter idea of solar panels. I enjoyed enrolling for the course.

By Ilayaraja P

Apr 25, 2022

Very good basics course for beginner or those who wanted to understand solar energy. Highly recommended.

By DANIEL A A G

Mar 18, 2021

Very complete course about the basics of photovoltaics. The lessons are understandable and very thourogh

By Mashhour A B

Nov 19, 2020

Excellent instructor, material, presentation, and exercises. Easy to follow, clear, and good knowledge.

By Andres R C

Aug 11, 2020

Excellent course for system design residential, commercial, industrial level, for adding battery sizing.

By Hasnain A

May 6, 2020

The way of teaching is fantastic. I hope he'll make new videos fit those who have completed this course.

By SUDARSHAN D S

Sep 21, 2020

THIS COURSE GAVE AN INCITE OF THE SOLAR WORLD WHICH MADE LOOK INTO MORE ABOUT RENEWABLE ENERGY SOURCES.

By Rajaswi G

Sep 17, 2020

Good course for a student like me and being a farmer child it is knowledgeable can utilize on our farm.

By Francisco J C T

Jul 10, 2022

Excelente curso, con este material pudo empezar a conocer el mundo de la generación de energía solar..

By hussam h

May 22, 2022

An excellent course and I benefited a lot from it and I would like to thank everyone who organized it

By Neeraj K

Aug 24, 2020

I learned pv systems basics which will help me in building new career afterwards.

I liked this course.

By Kumaresh P

Jun 16, 2020

Extremely well experience. Now I can go for designing my PV System for my residence.

Thankyou so much.

By Premvignesh S A

May 24, 2020

Excellent Course!! Thank you very much Professor and Team members.. Happy and Gained Good Knowledge..

By N H

Sep 21, 2021

The topic is very much understandable and all the notes abd video are very much relavent and helpful

By Akshay D H

Sep 14, 2020

Wonderful course! I would like to thank the Professor for providing neat foundation to Solar energy.

By Fco J S

Apr 22, 2022

Buen curso de iniciación. Aprendes desde el cálculo hasta el montaje y elección de placas solares.

By SIDDHANT S

Jul 1, 2020

Superb course. I just loved it and will recommend whoever wants to learn the basics of this course.

By Manish M

Aug 16, 2019

Highly informative and well structured course. For a beginner this is the best course i recommend.

By Andi S

Sep 13, 2021

This course really informative with real example in the daily live. I really enjoy It. Thank you

By Rohit T

Apr 19, 2021

Amazing beginners course for people interested to understand the Solar Energy concepts and PV's.

By ASAAH P

Mar 17, 2020

Very Good, but hope the calculation and selection of the other important accessories be included

By Ira Y P

Mar 15, 2022

Very comprehensive. Not only covering theories, but also practical information in the industry.

By Manoochehr M

May 25, 2020

An excellent course to start learning about renewable energy, specifically solar power plants.

By Soorya P S

Apr 18, 2021

The course ......very interesting, informative and motivating as well. Thanks professor Neal.