Chevron Left
Back to Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
stars
8,905 ratings
2,737 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to speak better English? This course will help you reach that goal. Speak English Professionally: In person, Online and On the Phone will boost your English speaking skills. In this 5 week course, you will learn how to identify and make a strong personal introduction. You will develop and demonstrate the speaking skills for group discussions: how to agree or disagree, how to clarify, restate and summarize. You will review and practice how to give information and respond to requests on the phone. You will study and role play effective interviewing. You will prepare and give a sales “pitch”, introducing a product or service. Throughout the course, you will adjust how you speak English and you will become more fluent and accurate when you speak. You will demonstrate culturally appropriate body language and tone. As you work through the course, you will complete self- and peer-evaluations. Through a combination of lectures, comprehension and vocabulary quizzes, practice and performance, you’ll gain the skills and confidence to communicate well in English, anywhere in the world. By the end of this course you will: • Change how you speak English • Improve your pronunciation and fluency • Increase your English vocabulary • Identify how culture influences your speech • Use culture to help you speak correctly • Demonstrate the best body language for different cultural settings • Know statements, questions and responses for different settings and situations...

Top reviews

NM
May 2, 2020

I've benefited a lot by pursuing this course. Small pronunciation and word stress has been cleared. I would suggest non-English speakers to take up this course to enhance their English language skill.

GL
Jun 4, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,729 Reviews for Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone

By Douaa S

Oct 26, 2020

It was my first experience having an online course and it was amazing.

I liked the idea and it encouraged me to keep on learning online.

All the courses were clear and the assignments were valuable.

I really appreciate.

By Shahenda M T

Nov 30, 2020

I enjoyed the course alot. I was really fun and the educational material was very satisfying. I improved more and more in pronouncing and stress words. I learned fun facts that are really useful. Thank you so much.

By Arpine

May 29, 2018

One of the most helpful courses I've ever attended. It's great not only for English but also for our behavioral skills. I would be happy to see more expanded courses from you about English pronunciation. Thank you!

By Rocio M M T

Jun 13, 2020

I love that the course allowed for participants to actually speak by recording ourselves. It is also great to hear from other participants during peer-reviews. The course is crafted simply but is very informative.

By bibi k

Dec 4, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. I literally learned many fruitful things like how to present presentation ,elevator speech, group interview and many more. Furthermore the environment of teaching was very amicable.

By Saipriya D

Sep 15, 2020

It was unexpectable and I found many different resources that I never got like this. It is useful for the new learning platform, thanking you who managed and to mentor who teaches well done our job, thanks a lot.

By Osama A B R

Mar 11, 2019

A wonderful course / I recommend this course to everyone...because it is the key to practicing English / improving your performance / learning the etiquette / making it the beginning of more learning and practice

By Carlos V

Feb 15, 2018

F

r

o

m

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

I

n

g

t

h

I

s

course I gained m

o

r

e

c

o

n

f

I

d

ence precisely in the

areas I was looking to polish: Oral conciseness and better structure during calls and while introducing myself and my professional background

By Padmanap

May 25, 2020

It was very effective and the way staff teaches the modules was very neat and perfect. I had great experience while in the course. Also gained enough knowledge to speak English professionally. Thanks to courser.

By Liliana d V A

Jul 28, 2020

Dear Amalia and Leah,

I am grateful for the opportunity to receive your teachings, which were understandable and stimulating. Taking the course filled me with gratification. Thank you.

Best wishes,

Liliana Abascal

By Emanuel B N

May 21, 2018

In this course, I improved my skills to speak in public in different situations. This course also helped me to be more confident to speak English with other person, in a meeting or on the phone. I recommend it!

By Rodolfo H

Nov 15, 2020

I learn a lot in this couse. I am trying to start marketing a software application in the US market, and everything I learned has been very useful to me. I am very grateful for the scholarship they provided me

By Elizabeth R M

Sep 28, 2020

This course "Speak English Professionally: In Person, Online & On the Phone" is an excellent option for the people that want learning skills to speak English professionally level. Thanks a lot to the teachers.

By Muhammad N

May 23, 2020

A bunch of quite beneficial techniques from Georgia Tech University Atlanta, USA, to speak English professionally; when taking an interview or attending an online meeting or even interacting with a new person.

By Ashutosh S

May 10, 2020

This course helped me improve my English speaking skills. It helped me improve my pronunciation,sentence stress,word stress and intonation. Now I know what is needed to become even better in speaking English.

By Ahmad A

May 18, 2021

Thank you Georgia Tech, and your team Specially thanks to instructors Amilia B.Stephens and Leah Attriuah, for presenting this course really awesome, don't lose this opportunity to use this excellent course.

By YERAKALA D

May 9, 2020

THE COURSE WAS AN ABSOLUTE DELIGHT FOR AMATEUR ENGLISH STUDENTS.THE CONTENT WAS EXPLAINED SO SMOOTHLY & PERFECTLY WITHOUT ANY BOREDOM.I RECOMMEND EVERYONE TO OPT FOR THIS COURSE DURING THIS QUARANTINE 2020 !

By Malik H

Nov 24, 2020

I am really pleased to take this course. This course has helped me a lot to develop numerous skills. Thanks to instructors and Coursera. I am really happy and satisfied with this course. Highly Recommended.

By Sergio A M

Aug 30, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken in all my life, it really teaches you how to pronounce correctly. I really recommend this for anyone who is no native speaker and want to improve their english speaking

By Dhinakar K

May 31, 2016

I am very impressed with presentation and content. This course approaches the skills in a systematic way. It will be beneficial to all levels of users. I strongly recommend for nonnative English speakers.

By Sarai R

Sep 2, 2020

This course was very beneficial for me. I will sincerely try to put everything into practice because i know i did not waste my time here, Thank you very much to the instructurs and colleagues. Blessings

By Ghadeer N Z

Apr 27, 2020

an important course that enlightens on useful tips for pefect elevator speech, job interview and online meetings, you will definitely face one or all of them in your practical life, totally recommended

By Mukhtar A A K

May 3, 2020

It was a great and very useful course in everyday applications in our working life. Thanks to everyone who participated in this course and a special appreciation to the lecturers.

Wish you all the best

By Petrov A Y

Sep 17, 2016

It is a great course. It contains many necessary information for good speaking and understanding English. Also I am very fond of links to another web-sites where I could listen to dialogues and talks.

By OMAR G

Jul 19, 2021

I am thankful for having had the opportunity to participate in this course. I liked the way it was strudctured too. It's worth trying to develop or improve English skills or just to remember them.