Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.6
stars
15,156 ratings
1,925 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,943 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By David J

Mar 10, 2022

Learned alot. The repeated excersises help you to understand the syntax. Probably my favorite so far. I do suggest you take notes.

By ANANDA S P

Aug 12, 2021

The course perfect fit with contents , hands on lab and mostly ibm_db2 200 MB free access. Really great learning and hands on too.

By Adeyemi N

Dec 11, 2020

The course is succinct and easy to follow. I learnt valuable SQL queries I use now for my web development projects. Thank you IBM.

By Alexandros G

Jan 21, 2020

Cool course to learn SQL basics and a nice touch regarding (ibm) cloud.I would recommend for intermediate to junior programmers :)

By Nataliya S

Aug 12, 2021

The course is enthralling and informative. You can put the knowledge in practice lessons at once. thank you for the great course!

By pritee k

Jul 8, 2021

best ever course loved to learn lots and also on the way to complete the extra join, view in the week 6 thnx for a great course

By maitreya k

Oct 28, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE TO EXPLORE BASICS MODULATIONS IN DATABASES AT A WIDE EXTENT.HELPED TO OVERVIEW THE FOUNDATIONS OF DATA SCIENCE.

By Nadeem S

Mar 20, 2021

The hands-on practical provided in the course was the best to learn & remember the concepts with concise tutorials. Thank you!

By Siddhartha K

Apr 21, 2020

From being a layman in this field, this course taught me a lot. The course structure is amazing. Thank you Coursera and IBM.

By Werner J

Aug 28, 2019

This courses is easy to follow and takes you from the fundamentals to quite advanced topics quickly, but with comprehension.

By Marwan K

Aug 9, 2021

I​ am really glass to pass this course with 100% in hard.

T​hank you Coursera.

T​hank you IBM

T​hank you to all instructors.

By Pratik M

Jul 15, 2021

Awesome course, enough amount of SQL taught along with hands-on labs. There is also an extra module (advanced)(optional).

By RAJIV K

Apr 24, 2020

Fantastic professional course covering all aspects of SQL for databases and how to use it with latest data science tools.

By Manivannan D

Feb 13, 2019

Really a good one that the assignment to establish a connection with Database and learn more about the cloud environment.

By Anupam G A

Aug 27, 2020

Its a good course with relevant content and lots of hands on training to help get a good grip on SQL, Highly recommended

By Jason C

Nov 11, 2019

This has many hand-on assignments, which helps understand a lot. No doubt this is the best course for SQL beginners ever

By John C

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent Course !

Well planned and very detailed with additional information to cover all aspects of databases and SQL

By Ahmed E R

Mar 20, 2020

it was really really good

and the instructor is great and i enjoyed all the course

and i can do some pretty things now

By David P

Jul 13, 2019

Great Course to learn and understand SQL. The material is concise and to the point, but explains each topic very well!

By Ali H K P

Feb 12, 2021

Great course, it give me a tour through SQL queries which includes some beginner level to advance level of SQL queries

By Sumit B M

Sep 27, 2020

Clear cut, concise, neat & clean concepts. Very nicely explained each and every topics with lucid examples. Loved it.

By Parth P

Mar 11, 2020

SQL is an essential part of ML. Learning through this course will surely add values to your curriculum and knowledge.

By Zichan W

Mar 5, 2021

This course is well-structured and very clear. The hands-on lab is helpful to apply what you learned in the courses.

By Aldy P S

May 17, 2020

I did SQL Course from Coursera from having null knowledge of SQL. Now I am ready to practice into real world dataset

By Sandesh R

Jun 24, 2020

This course is very helpful for me. basically this course teaches how to connect sql with python and their module.