Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,194 ratings
1,551 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SA
Apr 22, 2020

The lessons were short and easy to follow, providing all the basics as well as a few more advanced topics, to get student quickly up-to-speed on databases and SQL and their application in D/S realm.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,532 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Nazim S

Jul 8, 2020

best

By Jaladi N

Jun 27, 2020

good

By Golla M

Jun 1, 2020

good

By Vishnupriya.R

May 27, 2020

NICE

By Shahnaz P

May 3, 2020

good

By Naveen S P

Apr 26, 2020

BEST

By Supparkom J

Apr 25, 2020

nice

By Володимир К

Mar 22, 2020

Nice

By TANGIRALA S P S

Mar 6, 2020

Good

By Debakanta S

Feb 18, 2020

good

By Deleted A

Jan 10, 2020

good

By iyyanar

Oct 10, 2019

Good

By Prabhu M

Sep 2, 2019

good

By Nidhi G

Mar 15, 2019

Good

By Mahesh A

Jan 5, 2019

Nice

By ASHISH K J

Nov 11, 2018

good

By Ahmad M B

Mar 17, 2020

Thx

By Josh H

Jan 9, 2020

aaa

By Kiran K

Jun 16, 2020

NA

By Muhammad T A

Sep 11, 2019

<3

By Ali C B

Nov 17, 2020

.

By koradedinesh@johndeere.com

Jan 23, 2020

G

By Mao T T

Mar 22, 2020

Of the courses in this professional data science certificate I have taken, this is probably the best designed one. The labs force you to think and apply what you learnt in the video and not simply make minor modification to example codes. By the end of the course, I have internalized some of the commands. Overall, the labs were rather effective at drilling the concepts into students.

Some of the labs in the second week were rather lazily written. Instead of asking students to practice what they saw in the videos, all labs should contain actual questions that ask students to apply what they have learnt to new examples and problems, forcing them to think about what they have learnt.

The grading system is also in need of improvement. Some graders do not seem to know what they are doing. Simply resubmitting the assignment can result in a drastically improved score simply because the first grader was marking down answers that were actually correct. Perhaps there could be multiple graders assigned to any single assignment and the average score taken, or something to that effect.

By Amy P

May 8, 2019

This is a great course and I particularly appreciated the integration with Python/Jupyter notebooks. As in previous courses in the IBM certificate program, the labs were the highlight. They challenged students to answer questions using real data sets. Going from start to finish - from sourcing and downloading data all the way to analysis - was very helpful in mastering all of the techniques.

A couple of sections felt out of place: in my opinion, the optional database schema topics could become a separate course of their own, while the section on joins deserved more attention. The lecture slides, with the pictures of interconnected tables, were a bit hard to read and could do with an upgrade. Overall though, great pacing, with easily digestible videos. Highly recommend.

By PIERRE A

Feb 18, 2020

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍