Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
13,363 ratings
1,570 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS
May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK
Aug 19, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,553 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

By Abisola S O

Feb 2, 2020

Troubling loading the crime.csv dataset and there was no much support from the team. One has to search a series of options which wasted a lot of time

By Martin K

Nov 12, 2018

the line fir writing code in jypiter notebook were limited to one line,

therefor writing code especially in the final assignment was a bit complicated

By Karen M

Jan 10, 2020

Very useful hands-on labs looking at real-world data sets. Some of the learning material seemed overly complicated, or I would have given 5 stars.

By Aswathy R

Nov 10, 2019

Excellent course for a beginner to learn in detail if we put a little extra effort, as well as experienced person to learn to work on real data.

By ong k s

Oct 25, 2019

It is a great experience after all to learn extracting data from multiple tables with subquery & implicit join.

This is definitely something new.

By ADEEL N K

Apr 7, 2020

This course is good but little bit fast. Videos needs to chunked down as too many things get covered in single video without proper practice.

By Florent M

May 7, 2019

Un bon cours concernant l'usage du SQL. Il reste nécessaire de s'appuyer sur des ressources extérieurs pour appréhender au mieux le langage.

By Mohamed A

Jan 19, 2021

Excellent basic course for SQL. It needs some time for the assignments and the hands on. There practical part is very important to be done.

By Devansh K

Apr 9, 2020

Great course with very useful and cohesive content. The IBM db2 software is a bit slow and difficult to access but otherwise a good course

By Mathijs d G

Jul 7, 2020

Best Course so far in this series. The labs in week 3 and 4 are especially good, with lots of problems to solve on real-world datasets.

By Головатенко В В

Feb 18, 2020

A good level of complexity with enough tutorials to understand it all. Though, sometimes they were repeating something several times...

By Kyle M

Feb 27, 2020

The IBM DB2 database was very buggy and unreliable. I spent much of my time waiting for the database to perform simple computations.

By Petar O

Sep 2, 2019

Some instructions could have been more clear.

Overall communication could be done better (if it's needed).

All on all, i am satisfied.

By prashant g

Sep 2, 2019

this course was awesome i learn many things related to database and in jupyter environment in python and access data through cloud

By Alok M

Jan 28, 2020

It would be great if things got covered in a more structured manner. Week 4 is so damn confusing and took a lot of precious time.

By Ajith B

Jun 15, 2021

Over all it's an awesome course with good quality content. Highly recommended for new learners who don't know anything about SQL

By Michael A

May 28, 2021

I wish there was more hands on work, but it seems like you tested me well, because I spent a lot of time working the problems :)

By Roberto P C

Sep 22, 2019

CRIME.CSV file had an incorrect setup (date format), since that part was not part of the learning I think it should be corrected

By RAVI J

Aug 7, 2020

The database SQL MODULE IS REALLY HELPED ME.

BUT final assignment was difficult .There is no interaction to resolve my problems

By Collin C

Jan 6, 2020

Lots of good material. Much of it is a commercial for IBM. Directions for operating within the IBM data structure is outdated.

By Jason K

Dec 6, 2019

Good course, came away with a solid understanding of basic SQL. The assignments and project were helpful and fun to complete.

By Арсений

Jul 23, 2019

A great and solid introductory course to SQL. I recommend it to those who want to aquaint themselves with databases and sql.

By Serdar M

Nov 7, 2018

the course is not bad, but for the beginners who don't know anything in this course some lessons are not clear to understand

By Pulkit P

Nov 18, 2019

In this course basic was easily explained and it was great course. but wanted to learn more about sql lacked in this course

By Phenil B

Apr 9, 2019

Feels like lectures are being give by an AI instead of an actual teacher. Also some things get repeated in several videos.