Chevron Left
Back to Databases and SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Databases and SQL for Data Science by IBM

4.7
stars
12,140 ratings
1,374 reviews

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BS

May 21, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

Aug 20, 2020

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,356 Reviews for Databases and SQL for Data Science

By Ibrahim A

Apr 07, 2020

Please review this course assets! especially IBM DB2 cloud service's availability !!!

By Xinxin Z

Aug 27, 2019

The cloud system has so many problems which will prevent us to submit our works.

By Shuang.W

May 02, 2020

so many stuff are out of dates and some instructions were very unclear.

By Tanner L C

Nov 16, 2018

Very poorly done. Not enough information on working in the cloud.

By Oleg S

Sep 29, 2020

every material in course not match interface of the programs

By Nitika K

Sep 20, 2020

Not suitable for non computers background students.

By Ray Y

Jul 15, 2019

WHY FORCE ME USE THE IBM CLOUD? SO COMPLICATED

By abdelkarim b

Mar 04, 2020

The IBM tools are so unfriendly to new users

By Abhilash L

Jun 20, 2018

Last few lessons are not clearly explained.

By Roderick W

Apr 05, 2020

The voice-over makes me wanna sleep.

By Long N K H

Jun 11, 2020

The Lab env sometimes has trouble.

By Ashwin D

Apr 29, 2020

Expected more from an IBM course.

By Bharat B B

Jun 28, 2020

needed to update many topics

By Fei C

Nov 01, 2018

hard to use sql server

By Usman R M

Apr 27, 2019

not well designed

By mohammad s

May 22, 2019

very simple

By Hakki K

Jul 09, 2020

Hi,

I completed entire program and received the Professional Certificate. On the Coursera link of my certificate "3 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week average per course" is written. This information is not correct at all, it takes approximately 3 times of that time on average! I informed Coursera about it but no correction was made. It should be corrected with "it takes approximately 19 hours study per course" or "Approx. 10 months to complete Suggested 4 hours/week for the Professional Certificate".

Here is the approximate duration for each course can be found one by one clicking the webpages of the courses in the professional certificate webpage: (*)

Course 1: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 2: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 3: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 4: approximately 22 hours to complete

Course 5: approximately 14 hours to complete

Course 6: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 7: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 8: approximately 20 hours to complete

Course 9: approximately 47 hours to complete

This makes in total approximately 169 hours to complete the Professional Certificate. As there are 9 courses, each course takes approximately 19 hours (=169/9) to complete.

(*): https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-data-science?utm_source=gg&utm_medium=sem&campaignid=1876641588&utm_content=10-IBM-Data-Science-US&adgroupid=70740725700&device=c&keyword=ibm%20data%20science%20professional%20certificate%20coursera&matchtype=b&network=g&devicemodel=&adpostion=&creativeid=347453133242&hide_mobile_promo&gclid=Cj0KCQjw0Mb3BRCaARIsAPSNGpWPrZDik6-Ne30To7vg20jGReHOKi4AbvstRfSbFxqA-6ZMrPn1gDAaAiMGEALw_wcB

By Zach E

Oct 25, 2020

all the proprietory IBM Watson and cloud services stuff just distracts from the meat of what I wanted out of the course series. It's not user friendly and required so many steps that had nothing to do with data it was far more frustrating than helpful. I hated every step of the first 5 courses. I'd really like my money back.

By Sophie V

Jul 27, 2020

The worst course I have ever done. All participants were confused in the final assignment and the instructions were very poorly organized. Lack of clarity and the instructions being very outdated and incorrect lead to thousands of annoyed and stressed students. Waste of time.

By Xirui Z

May 26, 2020

Hi there, in my opinion this course in too short for a beginner and the logic behind the database and relational schema is not very clear. It looks like an instruction book for IBM user, I cannot feel the interaction with the interpreter. But thanks a lot anyway!

By Kolin H R

Jul 03, 2020

This is very much focused on the IBM cloud. For someone who is not familiar with it will have to spend a considerable amount of time trying to find which is where. Course documents are outdated specifically on creating DBs on the IBM cloud.

By Ivan B

May 23, 2020

Google Simulating Environment has the bugs and when you writing to Support, this rich guys stat you to do a free "PROD" testing : no way, it's theirs bugs, and I have my own. What the hell are paid for?

Shame on YOU IBM for such solution!

By Tonia M

Sep 29, 2020

If you do not have prior knowledge of DB2 and IBM Watson this course is not for you! The instruction to connect the two programs to complete the final project are inadequate at best. Would not recommend this course!

By Facundo O

Jul 19, 2020

Not a course for beginners. It advances way too fast and the topics are not explained thoroughly as to truly understand them from a beginner standpoint. Would suggest looking for another course...