Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Statistics by Stanford University

4.5
stars
162 ratings
15 reviews

About the Course

Stanford's "Introduction to Statistics" teaches you statistical thinking concepts that are essential for learning from data and communicating insights. By the end of the course, you will be able to perform exploratory data analysis, understand key principles of sampling, and select appropriate tests of significance for multiple contexts. You will gain the foundational skills that prepare you to pursue more advanced topics in statistical thinking and machine learning. Topics include Descriptive Statistics, Sampling and Randomized Controlled Experiments, Probability, Sampling Distributions and the Central Limit Theorem, Regression, Common Tests of Significance, Resampling, Multiple Comparisons....

Top reviews

NM
May 28, 2021

very good basic statistics score, explained in detail and all the basics cleared, everyone should go for it

DP
Jun 11, 2021

Very good introduction to statistical concepts that help you build on your intuition.

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Introduction to Statistics

By Hassen P

Apr 16, 2019

It's an Introduction to Statistics and it means it should help those who are new to statistics. But it's way far from that.

The instructor explains topics very very very very and again very summarized. While he drops mind boggling formulas on to the screen, he explains you the 1/100 of the tip of the ice berg.

You just cannot use this course for an introduction to statistics. You need a lot of books and a lot of time to get the quizzes right.

By Margaret A

May 9, 2021

This course covers the most popular statistical ideas (it closely follows the O'Reilly book "Practical Statistics for Data Scientists"), so the material is relevant. Unfortunately, the course is not designed well for comprehension. The instructor glosses over things very quickly, and fails to define crucial terms and concepts. For instance, he never once says "this is the formula for deriving the standard deviation," instead he only ever says "now we will standardize" and you need to know what he means. When calculating probability in the early lessons, he does not pause to help you learn how to assign A and B, nor does he stop to say which values he has assigned to A and which to B. As of May 2020, halfway into what I believe is the first iteration of the course, the Forums were not turned on so we cannot seek help from our classmates, even though about 3,000 are currently enrolled. I'm five weeks in and completely undecided about whether to continue or not; I am not learning statistics; for the most part I am just retaking the tests over and over again until I pass. Please at a minimum turn on the forums for students. But also consider re-recording the Probability section to include more instruction about how to assign variables to A and B, and to more clearly specify what the teacher considers to be A and B in the course examples. IAlso, if the profession consistently uses the phrase "standardize" to mean "calculate the standard deviation" please say that somewhere. n addition, the Week 3 Quiz includes a question not covered until the Week 4 material.

By Grant B

Aug 30, 2019

Enjoyed the course but had repeating problems with the Coursera platform not submitting quizzes for weeks. Coursera provided no support and no communication (zero). Had to contact Stanford administration to get any action on the problem. Still Coursera did not communicate and were slow to respond to the school administration. Finally fixed two days before course deadline.

Critical bugs in the Coursera platform. Absolutely no response from Coursera to flagged bug reports. Absolutely no Coursera support. Cannot recommend.

By Ashish J E

Jan 13, 2021

Excellent content - explains complex concepts in simple words. Though i had prior knowledge of statistics and i undertook this course as part of the Foundation in Data science course, i found this excellent content.

By Patricia R

May 7, 2021

The course is great for those who want to brush up on the foundational statistical concepts for advanced learning. If Prof. Walther offers more educational content that's relevant to me, I'd gladly take it!

By Neha N M

May 29, 2021

very good basic statistics score, explained in detail and all the basics cleared, everyone should go for it

By Shawn W

Dec 23, 2018

Good material, very very dry instructor.

By Céline K

Jun 4, 2021

Really great. I have no background in statistic and probability, rather than high school education 15 years ago and this course was clear, well explained and easy to understand. The chosen example were great as the teacher.

By Derrick L H P

Jun 12, 2021

V​ery good introduction to statistical concepts that help you build on your intuition.

By Samantha T

Aug 10, 2020

Lots of material, personable professor, good course.

By Jennifer W

Jan 6, 2019

Good intro to the principles of statistics

By Juan C R

May 24, 2021

Very useful overview with good insight

By Pratap C

Dec 24, 2020

Very good introduction to Statistics!

By Mathilde K

Jun 2, 2020

Good basic course with good pace.

By Maya M

May 18, 2021

A wonderful course. However, I don't think it's strictly a beginner course because several concepts could be better comprehended with a pre-existing knowledge of the subject. This course makes concepts clearer and enhances understanding.

By Deng_Bledore

Jun 4, 2021

I think there should be formula deduction.

By Ching-hsiu L

Jun 7, 2021

I've completed 10 modules. However I decide to stop learning statistics here although I've passed the 10 modules with high scores.

I think the learning materials of this course are valuable and the instructor, professor Guenther Walther is excellent. However, for global students, this course is awful, comparing with the other beginner level courses in Coursera, A lot of concepts in the videos are not introduced clearly, for example, what is median? How to find the median? How to distinguish dependent variables from independent variables? What is a sample? What is a category? What is replacement for a draw? When should be replacement? I think the instructor assumed every student here is a Stanford student or an American student.

To be honest, this course is not supportive to students because it doesn't open the discussion forum for students to discuss the problems coming from the materials and correct the incorrect calculation in the instruction. In addition, there is not any handout to help students to summarize what are taught in the module or give more examples. Only quizzes, but no exercises. These makes the learning here generate a lot of difficulties and failures despite there are explanations following the quizzes.

In spite of that, I will miss the voice of professor Guenther Walther. The voice sounds sincere and friendly.

I will come back when I think I can continue to learn here. Hope this course will be improved in the future.

By Jiansheng N

Jun 20, 2021

This is simply not an introduction to statistics. The instructor fails to emphasize key concepts by reading the slides.