Chevron Left
Back to Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate by Google

4.8
stars
10,372 ratings

About the Course

Start the UX design process: Empathize, Define, Ideate is the second course in a certificate program that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience (UX) design. In this course, you’ll complete the first phases of the design process for a project that you’ll be able to include in your portfolio. You will learn how to empathize with users and understand their pain points, define user needs using problem statements, and come up with lots of ideas for solutions to those user problems. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Empathize with users to understand their needs and pain points. - Create empathy maps, personas, user stories, and user journey maps to understand user needs. - Develop problem statements to define user needs. - Generate ideas for possible solutions to user problems. - Conduct competitive audits. - Start designing a mobile app, a new project to include in your professional UX portfolio....

Top reviews

TB

Sep 29, 2021

This course is very good & massively designed for student's who are biginner in UX field. The lecturers are also self proffessional experienced UX designer. Is not is great for carrier!!! Pretty cool!

MM

Sep 9, 2022

I love this course! Personally, it took me longer than I thought to complete each challenge, but I loved each step, especially the ideation and research part! I already want to start the next course!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,959 Reviews for Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate

By Kohei M

Jan 14, 2023

Overall, this course is one of my favorite because it provides a lots of practical research methods. Competitive audit is great and practical research method that you can use it from today. At the same time, the research activity was very time consuming, probably it took about 2 hours for me to complete, although the review process was very light. I would suggest to make more steps to complete the research so that you can have more review steps each time. Having said that, this course is great.

By Jonathan B

Oct 20, 2022

Love all this:

- variety of video content + readings + practice quizzes + practical exercises + interactive exercises - peer-reviewed assignments help you get ideas from what others have written - great video and sound quality - links to extra, optional readings - transcripts and closed captions are spelled correctly / grammatically correct - videos sometimes interrupted with a quick course-related question to make sure you're still paying attention - practice quizzes show how you can improve

By Shiven S

Jun 14, 2022

Almost everything I liked in this course. Ideation, Brainstrom design ideas by sketching, How Might We Exercise, Crazy Eights Exercise, and also the audit report. All of these were so engaging and new to me that I was very involved in all of the exercises. The most challenging thing for me was to create an audit report, as the definition of my project is something not too complex and also somewhat unique. The way they've taught this part of the entire course is really easy and understandable.

By Michelle B B

Jan 11, 2022

This course by Google is excellent and very thorough. In general, it's incredibly well designed and as a UX Design course is quite a pleasant experience as a user. They vary the learning between short videos, pop quizzes, short internal readings, optional outside readings and hands on peer-graded projects. I'm learning a lot. This feels like an incredibly fun and effective way to learn a whole new skill set. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get into UX Design.

By CLAY S

Sep 8, 2022

I am finding this course very good and at times challenging because I have set goals to really learn and accomplish so much but have other things that I am working on too. I do know I am making good time and progress and I am happy with that. Thank you for providing this Curriculum and Education in a Focused and Concise way. It is helping me to put hings into perspective and I am learning New things I did no know before. The instuctors explain things very good.

By Beril Ö Ç

Mar 12, 2022

Really a great course! It's well-structured, which covers the important parts of the empathize, define and ideate phases. I've learned a lot with the help of this course.

It was very instructive as the course is based on your doing the activities (practice quizes and assignments). Thus, I had the opportunity to learn while doing them. Also, I really liked the additional readings provided by links, which helped me gain broader perspective on the covered subjects.

By Shreya S

Apr 29, 2022

Great course, I loved the journey from ux research, interviewing potential users, creating personas which feel real and have a believable story. Then, I learned about creating problem statement and potential solutions. The lessona about value proposition were also great.

The last phase of the course, Ideation was really interesting. I learned about competitive audits and and had fun drawing solution in the crazy eight!

Good course overall with good mentors.

By Starve M “ M

Dec 21, 2021

Plenty of linked articles and content. Thorough learning experience. Generally includes an intro video then articles that go deeper into the video concept. This course is more hands on than the intro course. The course ins now guiding me through building my portfolio. The assignments give me a focused project with orderly guidance rather than me making up a case study. Plus the exemplars and peer reviews allow me to compare to see if I'm doing it right.

By Hilal A

Mar 12, 2022

Hey there I'm Hilal ahmad Just completed this course I learned alot of things from this course. Being a software engineer Its an honor for me to share this experience from you guys. So helpul and very much things to learn. how to be interview from someone and interact with some body teach me this course. the problem statment and how to ideate and solution for that problem. learn alot of things I'm so excited and ready to learn next course.

By Andrew K

Sep 5, 2022

Thanks for letting me take this course via your financial aid program, the course is wonderful, consistent and well structured. To give you some useful feedback on how to make this course even better, I would suggest to add some check-up at the end of what shall be completed and how we use it in next UX development stage (wireframing).

I wish to thanks everyone who made efforts and made this amazing course available

By Rebecca H

Oct 23, 2022

This course was great to get started with the design thinking process. I really enjoyed learning about all the tools to help me emphasize with the user more before moving onto defining and exploring ideas for design. The projects within this course really helped me take the learning and practice it with peer feedback. Thank you for offering such an informative and interesting course for the UX Design Process!

By Sudhir D J

Jun 27, 2022

I should have done it earlier. A must course for every designer who wants to provide the right solutions to their customers. There is a possibility that in your organization whether it's big, medium size, or a small size company, you might not get the opportunity to follow these processes due to time/ budget constraints but I insist, you MUST learn these step-by-step processes to become a better UX designer.

By Nomvula N N

Jul 31, 2021

This is a great course ! I have learned so much and I heard this is the most challenging course in all the 7 courses and I get it now. It was really challenging but It is definitely worth it . Creating user journeys and discovering user pain points as my favorite , also creating personas .The hardest was the competitor audit and report , it took so much to do the research . I'm glad I learned all this .

By Sarah M

Jan 13, 2022

This course is a little dense, at least in comparison tot he introductory course. However, it has a plethora of options to learn about the very beginning stages of UX Design - UX Research. This course also allows students to make some traction on their chosen portfolio projects. Lots of hands-on work, lots of reading and video content. Nothing negative about that -- just be prepared for the workload.

By Alexandra

Oct 12, 2022

The Course was very informative and well presented. I've learned the basics of UX research, how to empathize with Users, explored Personas, wrote a User story, identified the happy paths and edge cases, discovered the benefits of User journey maps, created problem statements and hypothesis statement, ideated, started to build my own Portfolio. I'm well on my way to becoming UX designer!

By Anastasiya L

Nov 8, 2022

I truly enjoyed making this course. Gaining a lot of new skills , easy and fun. All the videos are pleasant to watch and listen and extremely informative. Maybe because Im opening the whole new world, for me every lecture and every article were so interesting and not overloaded with unnecessary information. And the tasks that I had to complete along the course were fun to make.

By Yannis M

Jul 11, 2021

This course was a great introduction into the first 3 stages of the design thinking process. These are obviously very dense topics but the course managed to offer a solid foundation to confidently move to the next stages of the process. The assignments were spot on and allowed me to learn what designers are actually doing when working on design projects in companies like Google.

By Nida T

Dec 26, 2021

I liked the instructor very much. The way she explained with the examples. Having animations for examples has really helped me to be persistant and not get bored in the process of learning. The hardest part is the assignments we need that motivation to finish the assignment at any cost. Just allot some time for assignments and we can get it done qucik and efficiently.

By Blessful E

Jul 3, 2022

Actually, it's an Amazing one, but I wanna talk about the (Assignment and weekly challenges) project. the problem is something, the practical Assignment is not probably clear and simple to understand, and second: make a good and understandable example, of the practical work before the Challenge Assignment. thank you... above all, you guys are Amazing.💪🎉🥳🤓

By Jeremy B

Mar 24, 2021

I feel like I learned a lot in this course! I knew a little about UX before taking the course, but had no idea what to do before actually designing stuff. I'd heard about personas and user journeys, but didn't really get how to make them. The materials in the course walk you through it and were really helpful. Excited I've started building my first portfolio project!

By Gabrielle H

Jan 24, 2022

It's a great course, and really makes you do the work that will make you a better designer, and build case studies that you can use in your portfolio. However, it is becoming increasingly harder to grade peer assignments who are not quite as serious about the course - but you need to review to pass - when you, yourself, are also trying to learn from said peers.

By Iveta D

Oct 26, 2021

I am attending this course while working as a UX at a big company. It has been very helpful and up to date I am very impressed as I already did a Master in Interaction Design and this course really helped me sum up my knowledge and put it into action. I have prompted UX research in one of the projects we are working on and it is going extremely well :)

By Veena v

Aug 27, 2021

This course was really deep and clear. Even after completing this course, I gained lot of interest in going in depth in this course. Still feels like there is long way to complete this UX designing because I thought sketching is enough to go further in career seems like there is so so so much to do. I really liked this way of learning and challenges

By Tahta A

Jul 26, 2021

Probably the most challenging course that I took because I got overwhelmed to conduct with real people that I don't know who. The course provides me a set of tools to overcome every step to gain the research that I need for the course. And most importantly It could be implemented in a realistic situation when the first time I step into a real job.

By Muhammad T S

Feb 3, 2022

This course was amazing for me! I learnt alot in this course including how to identify what are the weaknesses and strenghts of our competitors. How to empathize with users, how to think like a user and how to define user correctly using their pain points. I love to be the part of this course. And moving forward to the third one! Happy Learning :)