Chevron Left
Back to Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate by Google

4.8
stars
10,404 ratings

About the Course

Start the UX design process: Empathize, Define, Ideate is the second course in a certificate program that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience (UX) design. In this course, you’ll complete the first phases of the design process for a project that you’ll be able to include in your portfolio. You will learn how to empathize with users and understand their pain points, define user needs using problem statements, and come up with lots of ideas for solutions to those user problems. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Empathize with users to understand their needs and pain points. - Create empathy maps, personas, user stories, and user journey maps to understand user needs. - Develop problem statements to define user needs. - Generate ideas for possible solutions to user problems. - Conduct competitive audits. - Start designing a mobile app, a new project to include in your professional UX portfolio....

Top reviews

TB

Sep 29, 2021

This course is very good & massively designed for student's who are biginner in UX field. The lecturers are also self proffessional experienced UX designer. Is not is great for carrier!!! Pretty cool!

AC

May 10, 2021

Beautifully designed course that is user friendly, and SUPER easy to use/navigate. The course has engaging and entertaining content that makes it easy to stay engaged and motivated. Nice job Google!!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,971 Reviews for Start the UX Design Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate

By Tina L

Apr 5, 2021

Really useful course! I am a student that major in industrial design. The course provide me lots of information. And it really help me to develop more kinds of ability and different thoughts with what I major in.

By Esteban R R

Oct 18, 2021

Es mucho mas claro que los mismos curso que tome en la universidad, es intento, hay que ser constante pero los resultados se pueden apreciar en la manera en que uno empieza a analizar las distintas plataformas.

By Oladotun V A

Jun 16, 2022

This is truly an awesome course, tasking and stretching though, but I enjoyed every single moment of the journey. Can't wait to bag the rest of the other courses certificate after completion. Thank you Google!

By Vaishnav M

Jul 19, 2022

It was really interactive eventhough the sessions are pre recorded. One thing that made me do my best is when peer graded assignments are very interactive and all the constructive critisism that mend my ways!

By Nalini M

Apr 25, 2022

I really like the experience so far. This course really pushed me out of my comfort zone and I got a lot to learn from here. The projects and the mentor are just amazing. I am really thankful for this course.

By Fred A

Mar 21, 2022

I really see now how to ideate on a given project and structure my thoughts. I have learned lots of valuable tips and tools that can help me have a better way to organize my ideas and make them come to life.

By Naisargee M

Jul 23, 2021

Before taking the course I wasn't aware that how research is conducted and why it is important. This course has helped me a lot by giving such detailed knowledge and instructor also had very humble attitude.

By Amir H E

Aug 10, 2022

This specialized course taught me to never make decisions for products instead of the audience and users and to always put the user first. Thank you to Google and Coursera for holding this excellent course.

By Robin G

May 23, 2022

Super helpful course to begin walking through the design process. I appreciated the hands-on activities that can be added to our portfolio to showcase our skills. Everything was very organized and logical.

By Daniel I L A

Jan 5, 2022

Muy buen curso, aprendes muchas cosas útiles y técnicas para enfocarse en los usuarios, sus necesidades y la manera de resolver problemáticas, analizar datos y generar soluciones de manera muy práctica

By stephanie r r

Nov 22, 2021

This course has excellent information and guidance that allowed me to get to know my user, know what he wants, how to use it, and for the user to guide me how I can further improve my product design.

By Kristina S

Jan 23, 2023

This section of the UX Design Professional Certificate is really the starting point for this certificate. Finally understanding the steps in more detail and having hands on material to work through.

By Muhammad F B

Dec 10, 2022

really enjoyed it a lot. It covers everything from the course reading to extended material, quizzes, projects, and feedback. The journey of learning this course is really incredible and friendly way

By Samanta Q G

May 25, 2022

I learned a lot, I like that they go deeper into the contents, they allow us to apply it in a very complete and detailed way. I feel that this is one of the courses in which I have learned the most.

By Lucas G

Jun 8, 2021

I really enjoyed this course! Was a nice experience. Sometimes I just think that maybe somethings should come first and others later. Dont know yet. But its a good introduction with good exercises.

By Bruno P

May 6, 2021

The UX Program was created for professionals in any field to become professional User Experience Designers even if they have no previous experience in Design. This is fantastic. Thank you so much!

By Saori T

Feb 28, 2022

For me is very important to dedicate time. So thank you so much for having the feature to extend my deadline. I really like this way of learning because I feel valued and respected. Thanks again.

By Shivangi K

Sep 18, 2022

It's an awesome course being a self-taught designer i can gather lot of information from this course. How to do research fpr your product, interaction with users and focus on User-pain points.

By Carel T B

Aug 2, 2022

A bit daunting at first but when I got into the whole process of doing the exercises (including the optional ones), it got easier and more interesting when I understood what was required of me.

By Ujjawal K S

Feb 10, 2022

The course ie well designed and covers all the basis of user experience before the design process. Course has introduced so many frameworks for empathize, ideate and define the user's problem.

By Sultan A

Nov 19, 2021

This course was very informative, I benefited a lot from it, thanks to all the trainers and people who prepared and prepared the syllabus for this course. Thank you Coursera, thank you Google.

By Tony S

Aug 28, 2021

Research is not my stong suit, and it was a challenge for me to get through this course. Now that I've completed this portion I have developed a new appreciation for UX research and design.

By Shane T

Apr 27, 2021

Course instructor was absolutely fantastic - and delivers the knowledge in such a succinct, charismatic way. The content is superb, and the assignments challenging. A very worthwhile course.

By Hiu W ( W

Jun 5, 2021

This course is very detailed and is as challenging as you make it to be, so I would suggest to complete each task as serious as you can in order prepare for good contents for your portfolio

By Leandro S C

May 31, 2022

This course was terrific. I have learned a lot of concepts and methodologies to apply in UX research. I am very impressed with the google approach. I am looking forward to the next course.