Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
433 ratings
87 reviews

About the Course

You may have noticed that what is new often behaves differently than what has become accepted over time, whether it is in a market, or a technology, or involves people and firms. Much research supports these general ideas, and this course builds on them to help you develop a perspective on managing innovation. That is, you will build your capability to lead and design your organization in effectively implementing innovation initiatives and achieving their strategic intent. To do this, you will learn a set of frameworks, tools, and concepts that can help you address several important challenges in managing innovation. The first challenge regards how to successfully implement innovation efforts within established firms and alongside established businesses. You then investigate the particulars of managing innovation when disruptive technologies are involved. Other topics include leadership of new product development teams, planning and evaluation of innovation initiatives, and management of innovation across organizational boundaries, as happens with alliances or virtual firms....

Top reviews

MJ
Feb 25, 2019

THE COURSE MATERIAL WAS WELL DESIGNED AND INSTRUCTORS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PROVIDED GREAT INSIGHT INTO THEORY AND PRACTICE OF INNOVATION MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL MANAGEMENT.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

DS
Jun 20, 2020

Thank you Professor Geoff Love for providing such an insightful class! Your analysis in each lecture videos gives me a great understanding of the mechanisms of managing innovation initiatives.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 88 Reviews for Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives

By Mehwish J

Feb 26, 2019

THE COURSE MATERIAL WAS WELL DESIGNED AND INSTRUCTORS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PROVIDED GREAT INSIGHT INTO THEORY AND PRACTICE OF INNOVATION MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL MANAGEMENT.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

By Damien C L S

Jun 21, 2020

Thank you Professor Geoff Love for providing such an insightful class! Your analysis in each lecture videos gives me a great understanding of the mechanisms of managing innovation initiatives.

By Kehinde A

May 4, 2020

This course had great depth and Professor Love made it easy to understand and conceptualize with his simplistic approach of explaining relationships and fundamentals of innovation concepts.

By Danial A

Feb 13, 2020

The course is overall great with a balance of knowledge and learning. However, the peer-graded assignments are needed to be revised such that the self pacing of the course is enhanced.

By Gilnei J L

Mar 11, 2019

I'm following up the courses and so far this one was great. I do have now a lot of arguments and real case studies to understand next steps for a successful innovation management.

By Dhinesh A D

Apr 20, 2020

Course offers strong foundation on Managing Innovation at the firm level. Enjoyed learning it and highly recommended for individuals who seek to improve their managerial skills.

By Benjamin D

Jul 19, 2018

Good instruction. Thorough and detailed explanation. A lot of content combined into the class compared to some of the other classes in the specialization.

By Vijila E

Dec 30, 2018

A very practical course which gives directions for implementation of Innovation. I have initiated some of the strategies in my own organization. Thank you!

By Alejandra A A

Jul 4, 2019

This course really lets you get to know the insihts of how to manage an innovation...and which elements to assemble so that you get to do it well!

By Natalia S

Oct 8, 2019

Excellent course for wide picture for innovation management. Great examples and explanations. I will use to support current innovation project.

By Mohammed A

May 9, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The topics discussed I can directly relate to them. Dr Love has prepared the course outline really well

By Bo L

May 7, 2019

Professor Love is extremely knowledgeable and very passionate in managing innovation. I love the course. I learned so much from it.

By Nada A

May 27, 2020

One of the best courses on this topic. I totally recommend to everyone who wants more about innovation and management.

By Joseph A

May 24, 2017

Recommended for leaders who want a big picture perspective and strategy how to foster innovation. Excellent lecturer!

By Douglas D

May 25, 2017

By far, this is one of the best classes I have taken so far both on Coursera and through the University of Illinois.

By Ismahan E

May 11, 2020

An absolute gem of a course that will prepare you well to become that desirable innovation strategist and manager.

By Peter v B

Jan 30, 2019

Amazing course with so many good academic information which is very useful in real cases. Teacher is really good!

By Rossana L T R

Jun 22, 2020

excellent professors and material ! it requires some previous knowledge on management or business administration

By Carlos A C A

Jul 14, 2019

Really good course to get into innovation. It helped me to develop skills that I couldn´t recognize that I have.

By Roderick F

May 8, 2020

Awesome course. Excellent Professor.

By Ashish K S

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent Course. Highly Recommended

By Divyani H P

May 19, 2020

it was nice course and knowledgeable

By Andrew C

May 2, 2018

Great class on Strategic Innovation

By MD M A

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent experience with Coursera

By Sanjay H R

May 11, 2020

Great Course! Highly Recommend !!