Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
529 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

You may have noticed that what is new often behaves differently than what has become accepted over time whether it is in a market, technology, or with people and firms. This course helps you develop a perspective on managing innovation. That is, you will build your capability to lead and design your organization in effectively implementing innovation initiatives and achieving their strategic intent. To do this, you will learn a set of frameworks, tools, and concepts that can help you address several important challenges in managing innovation. The first challenge is in regards to how to successfully implement innovation efforts within established firms and alongside established businesses. You then investigate the particulars of managing innovation when disruptive technologies are involved. Other topics include leadership of new product development teams, planning and evaluation of innovation initiatives, and management of innovation across organizational boundaries, as happens with alliances or virtual firms. You will be able to: - Analyze innovations and their impact on organizations - Articulate a research-informed perspective on innovation - Utilize frameworks, tools, and concepts to address challenges that arise in innovation This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

MJ
Feb 25, 2019

THE COURSE MATERIAL WAS WELL DESIGNED AND INSTRUCTORS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PROVIDED GREAT INSIGHT INTO THEORY AND PRACTICE OF INNOVATION MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL MANAGEMENT.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

DS
Jun 20, 2020

Thank you Professor Geoff Love for providing such an insightful class! Your analysis in each lecture videos gives me a great understanding of the mechanisms of managing innovation initiatives.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 105 Reviews for Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives

By ADEBAYO A

Aug 20, 2020

Innovation obviously involves different stages. Ideation sort of come off easy for all but the most challenging part is the other side of innovation - EXECUTION. This is were companies struggle to birth their vision. A lot of this is attributed to the organization's leadership style, core rigidity due to core capabilities, less collaboration amongst functional systems/units, people and the organization's inherited culture. Strategic Innovation: Managing Innovation Initiatives, has helped in addressing this less popular side of innovation by addressing the above listed elements whilst torching the path to efficient execution of innovation initiatives. Glad to be a recipient of this wealth of knowledge

By Kareem S

Feb 22, 2021

This course and its sister courses provide you the necessary framework to think, plan and execute strategic innovations within a startup or an established entity. It met all expectations one would expect to derive from such a learning endeavour.

By Hafid H

Dec 20, 2020

Excellent, the course leads you directly to the core execution of innovation. The 4 modules are organized into 4 management function and each module dig deeply into how to execute with real life example of success and failure.

By Mehwish J

Feb 26, 2019

THE COURSE MATERIAL WAS WELL DESIGNED AND INSTRUCTORS WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PROVIDED GREAT INSIGHT INTO THEORY AND PRACTICE OF INNOVATION MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL MANAGEMENT.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

By Kehinde A

May 4, 2020

This course had great depth and Professor Love made it easy to understand and conceptualize with his simplistic approach of explaining relationships and fundamentals of innovation concepts.

By Danial A

Feb 13, 2020

The course is overall great with a balance of knowledge and learning. However, the peer-graded assignments are needed to be revised such that the self pacing of the course is enhanced.

By Jhonny P S G

Dec 28, 2020

It has been an excellent course with excellent bibliographic material and very educational and well prepared videos. Thank you very much for the knowledge imparted. Congratulations

By Gilnei J L

Mar 11, 2019

I'm following up the courses and so far this one was great. I do have now a lot of arguments and real case studies to understand next steps for a successful innovation management.

By Dhinesh A D

Apr 20, 2020

Course offers strong foundation on Managing Innovation at the firm level. Enjoyed learning it and highly recommended for individuals who seek to improve their managerial skills.

By Massimiliano M

Mar 19, 2021

Fact-based, excellent research backing the lessons, and very practical. I could immediately implement the concepts in an innovation initiative that I am leading at work.

By Benjamin D

Jul 19, 2018

Good instruction. Thorough and detailed explanation. A lot of content combined into the class compared to some of the other classes in the specialization.

By Vijila E

Dec 30, 2018

A very practical course which gives directions for implementation of Innovation. I have initiated some of the strategies in my own organization. Thank you!

By Alejandra A A

Jul 4, 2019

This course really lets you get to know the insihts of how to manage an innovation...and which elements to assemble so that you get to do it well!

By Natalia S

Oct 8, 2019

Excellent course for wide picture for innovation management. Great examples and explanations. I will use to support current innovation project.

By Mohammed A

May 9, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. The topics discussed I can directly relate to them. Dr Love has prepared the course outline really well

By Bo L

May 7, 2019

Professor Love is extremely knowledgeable and very passionate in managing innovation. I love the course. I learned so much from it.

By Gonzalo M B

Jan 11, 2021

Excelente explicación de todos los conceptos, muy integrador de todos los temas.

Se aprendió mucho y ahora mucho para aplicar

By Nada A

May 27, 2020

One of the best courses on this topic. I totally recommend to everyone who wants more about innovation and management.

By Joseph A

May 24, 2017

Recommended for leaders who want a big picture perspective and strategy how to foster innovation. Excellent lecturer!

By Douglas D

May 25, 2017

By far, this is one of the best classes I have taken so far both on Coursera and through the University of Illinois.

By Ismahan E

May 11, 2020

An absolute gem of a course that will prepare you well to become that desirable innovation strategist and manager.

By Peter v B

Jan 30, 2019

Amazing course with so many good academic information which is very useful in real cases. Teacher is really good!

By Rossana L T R

Jun 22, 2020

excellent professors and material ! it requires some previous knowledge on management or business administration

By Carlos A C A

Jul 14, 2019

Really good course to get into innovation. It helped me to develop skills that I couldn´t recognize that I have.

By Ramiro C

Feb 25, 2021

Really complements the first part of the course, and opens the mind on how to approach an innovative initiative