Chevron Left
Back to Strategy Implementation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategy Implementation by Copenhagen Business School

4.7
stars
655 ratings
124 reviews

About the Course

Even a thoroughly developed business strategy may fail if you don't pay enough attention to its implementation. This rings particularly true with strategies based on innovation or implemented in complex or fast-changing environments. In the 20th century successful implementation leveraged stability and typically proceeded through hierarchy and control. Today the key is to stay vibrant and able to quickly respond to trends in competition and technology while not losing sight of the strategic objective. In this course we'll build a toolbox of techniques to execute today's business strategies to help them succeed. After completing this course, you'll be able to: - Create objectives and goals to guide strategy implementation - Identify organizational structures that fit particular strategies - Understand how to leverage company culture in implementation - Describe how to communicate the strategy so that the organization "gets" it - Detect and mitigate risks to implementation...

Top reviews

PS

Aug 12, 2018

Nicolai does a really good job in explaining Strategy Implementation. I would say that it is the most thorough module that I have been through so far in the Strategy Management course.

BB

Feb 04, 2016

Great course! Definitely my best of the series. Highly detailed with very pointed insights. Slides were also very helpful in ensuring retention of knowledge. Great stuff- bravo!

Filter by:

101 - 121 of 121 Reviews for Strategy Implementation

By Rohit K

Jan 22, 2016

The contents and structure of the course was very good. I enjoyed taking all the sessions.

By Ricardo d P M

Apr 08, 2016

Very good course. But the videos could be condensed in larger and more elaborated movies.

By Sandra L

Feb 20, 2017

I Really Like this course... I got a lot of knowledges about the strategys

By Ricardo V V

Jun 28, 2017

Great course. To be perfect it should be a bit more content heavier.

By Emilio R

Sep 04, 2016

Great material, even though more profundization required.

By Antoine C

Jan 18, 2016

Transversal view about different implementation areas

By Mark P

Dec 13, 2019

Tricky but great. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

By Ricardo J O

Dec 11, 2015

Video quality had some issues.

By Vittorio V

Aug 19, 2019

more use cases

By Fabienne L

Jan 06, 2016

Material was very good and well structured.

I think that one main issue is the assignment. We would need much more info/hard facts to make it much more interesting (i.e. less theoritical).

Moreover, assignments are reviewed by people 1/ who did not necessarily went through the 2 previous courses 2/ did not see our previous documents ie for course 1 and 2 3/ did not necessarily understand the question (one person complained because I did not answer the question "edgy vs. conservative" => I guess she was misled by the support info which were the same as for the first course).

This problem could be avoided by offering a distinct case for each assignment, so that there is no confusion/mis-match.

In any case, "mange tak" for all your courses. I went through 3 so far, and the ones from CBS are clearly the best I had (videos - content and speed - slides/ support documents, quizzes).

By Giosue P

Jul 26, 2018

Very useful course. However, the amount of information to retain is too high. Also the structure of the lectures is a bit ambiguous, the way some concepts are introduced is a bit ambiguous at first, maybe there should be some revision about the way classes are presented to the candidates. Furthermore, the grading policy seems a bit too unfair: the single quizzes account for a 5% only, whereas the final project 70%.

Too many external resources to read.

Overall, very useful, but too dense of information, and a bit uncertain on the structure of the lectures, and of the assignment(s).

By Enelen

Feb 25, 2016

Strategic implementation, something that people generally forget about after creating their "marvellous" strategies and then watch them fail. This course teaches us how not to make that mistake.

The course was nicely organised, though I believe the rubric for the last peer review assignment could do with a bit of tweaking. Rating on a 1-5 scale for about 10 questions clearly showed central tendency problems, as well as lots of subjectivity in the reviews. I hope it can be improved in the future!

By Mohammed A A s

Apr 09, 2019

The text of the course not highlight the importance text .we need to have summarize for each week.

I was difficult than previsions course , not becouse the matterial but due to material content

By Sherin A

Jan 09, 2020

I think it would be better to focus on a couple of companies and evaluate their strategy implementation throughout the whole course, instead of having different companies for each module.

By Andres A

Apr 16, 2018

Quite interesting if its your first time learning about strategy or how organizations work. However, I feel like it does not fit well with the rest of the specialization.

By Jinder

Nov 23, 2015

Shame that the format was changed and the quizzes and assignments were not open. Teaching was as great as the first 2 courses, and slides were useful.

By Roshanay B R

Jan 01, 2018

reviewing process is very late

By Xavier D

Jan 13, 2016

TL;DR -- Good videos but short and not always relevant material; the course should be titled "A First Light Introduction to Strategy Implementation"

The "Strategy Implementation" course is rather a first introduction to the concepts. The material is quite short: only 30 minutes of videos every week and no interviews with "real-life" managers.

The additional articles to read most relate to blue-chip companies that succeeded: Samsung, Toyota, Netflix, Google, and of course the obligatory Apple mentioned in every Strategy course on the planet. However, it would be much more interesting to discuss failures and/or duller companies.

Finally, the final peer-review exercise is a bit broken but that is the case of every MOOC peer-graded approach (cf. https://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/hack-higher-education/problems-peer-grading-coursera to know more).

On the upside, videos are well edited and clear and easy to understand.

By Tristan I

Aug 11, 2019

Not as detailed as other courses by CBS.

By Matthew C

May 16, 2017

I was very disappointed in this course. The material was satisfactory, but the quizzes and final assessment. The presentation of the course could have required less videos.

Quizzes tended to demand absolute answers to very subjective questions, and the quality of feedback on supposedly wrong answers was limited. To satisfactorily deal with the final assessment a student would require much greater insight into the subject company.

By Balaji B

Jun 02, 2017

Not as good and educational as the first two.