Chevron Left
Back to Strategy and Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategy and Sustainability by IESE Business School

4.6
stars
338 ratings
114 reviews

About the Course

Business and environmental sustainability are not natural bedfellows. Business is about making money. Sustainability is about protecting the planet. Business is measured in months and quarters. Sustainability often requires significant short term costs to secure a sometimes uncertain long-term benefit. To some activists, all executives are exploitative, selfish one percenters. To some executives, all activists are irresponsible, unyielding extremists. And yet engaging with the issue isn’t optional – all businesses must have a strategy to deal with sustainability and, like any strategy, this involves making choices. This Strategy and Sustainability course based on Rosenberg's recently published book by Palgrave (http://www.palgrave.com/la/book/9781137501738) that encourages learners to filter out the noise and make those choices in a hard-nosed and clear-eyed way. Prof. Rosenberg’s nuanced and fact-based point of view recognizes the complexity of the issues at hand and the strategic choices businesses must make. He blends the work of some of the leading academic thinkers in the field with practical examples from a variety of business sectors and geographies and offers a framework with which senior management might engage with the topic, not (just) to save the planet but to fulfill their short, medium and long-term responsibilities to shareholders and other stakeholders. This course promises to be both engaging and thought-provoking, aimed at anyone who wishes to gain a deeper understanding of a subject that is no longer perceived as a choice but a necessity for future managers and business leaders alike....

Top reviews

NC
Nov 18, 2021

Great teacher and great content! I think this course is a great starting point for somebody who start learning more about sustainability and would like to develop its strategy in the company.

JB
May 20, 2021

I really enjoyed this course!! The content is accessible to all and includes lots of case studies from across the globe and in a variety of industries. I highly recommend this course!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 116 Reviews for Strategy and Sustainability

By cristina c

May 12, 2021

Very well organized, easy to follow and comprehensive!

By Upakul

Jun 13, 2021

The best course I have done with Coursera until now.

By Burak A G

May 28, 2020

Very clear, to the date and well planned outline.

By Ariadna M

Nov 17, 2020

Very well organized course! got a lot from it!

By Juniefil J S

Nov 15, 2020

I had so much fun and learning! Thank You!

By Dr. A S J L

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent Course. Lot of learning for me

By Abdulrahman M A

Jun 19, 2020

Thank you for this beneficial course

By Ham N

Dec 3, 2019

Great course, I learned so much.

By Mauricio J M P

Jul 20, 2019

Great course, clear methodology

By Chris J

Jun 2, 2020

Great introduction to the topic

By Zrinka P

May 22, 2018

it was great course which

By Javier D

May 23, 2020

Insightful & Inspiring.

By Marcelo D S

Oct 15, 2020

Excellent course!

By Nooryusazli - F Y

Sep 21, 2021

Excellent course

By HANA A A A

Sep 15, 2019

Thank You!

By Luciana d S M S

Sep 12, 2017

Excelente!

By Amit G

Jul 26, 2021

Excellent

By Michele M

Jul 4, 2020

Great!

By Ashish V

Jul 22, 2017

good

By Lucia K

Mar 15, 2017

G

By Matthew T

Jan 25, 2021

Well taught, but fairly basic information. It's perhaps best used as an introduction to sustainability concepts in the private sector. There are connections between "business mindset" and "environmental mindset" that were not explored such as systems thinking. Dr. Rosenberg's list of environmental categories missed an important one, and that is the environmental professional. These individuals may not be present as activists or advocates, but their expertise can be hired to inform a company's approach to sustainability as well as to help build a company's relationships with the broader environmental communities.

By Dina H

Jul 22, 2017

It is a coherent and very well structured course! Professor Rosenberg has done an excellent job in making the content understandable and in extracting really the main points one should keep in mind and apply when developing a sustainable strategy or assessing one.

Content wise the course is not heavily loaded. I would personally prefer even more readings, obligatory or at least recommended on the side. However, throughout the course, one can easily catch some names and works that have determined the development of sustainability studies.

By Frank J

Apr 7, 2017

Thank you Mike, for providing such a Course! When I looked for Courses on corporate sustainability, I found less than expected. Hence, being happy to have found this. I really enjoyed the Course and I strongly recommend it. And for someone who had already dealt with this Topic before the Course, the Content could have been Little more detailed and comprehensive. But since the Course addresses not only People who deal with the Topic on a regular Basis, obviously it is understandable why it is designed like that.

By Maya B

Jun 4, 2021

I enjoyed the teachings and the professor Mike Rosenbergs lectures were entertaining and informative. However, I did not enjoy the peer review assignment as there was only one student out of 5 who was kind enough to give me feedback when they failed me. I think there should be an IF function in place where, if a peer gives you a failing grade that they cannot leave the comment field blank. As otherwise how does one know if this person even read your paper or was just randomly picking numbers?

By Ana M T

Apr 26, 2021

This course really put into perspective many of the decision taken by the company I currently work on. I finally understand some of the unexpected decisions made. Also, it has given renewed interest in aays trying to capture the "why" behind all of our actions. It is a great course of introduction to sustainability for the working professional.