Chevron Left
Back to Summary Statistics in Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Summary Statistics in Public Health by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,066 ratings
279 reviews

About the Course

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 22, 2020

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AB
Apr 23, 2020

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 279 Reviews for Summary Statistics in Public Health

By Michail S

Jun 28, 2020

Excellent Professor in regards of his way of making the content both complete and easily aproachable and conceivable

By Dr K K

Jul 22, 2020

Excellant course and challenging practice sessions for assessment .... understood well about the basic concepts...

By Nguyen T L P

May 18, 2020

I found this course so amazing and fancy. I was really enlightened about some knowledge I had been confused before

By Munawar P V

Nov 29, 2019

Really informative and practical. The additional examples and quizzes gives practical insight into the subject.

By Barbara O

Sep 9, 2020

Best instructor ever, drew me into the course, organized gives lots of examples and a summary. Thank you sir!!

By Thanaporn T

Jul 3, 2020

This is a really informative, well design course with great teaching techniques. I did learn a lot, thank you!

By Xinyuan L

Feb 26, 2020

Professor used a lot of examples to make the concepts more understandable. And the professor is very humorous.

By Philipe M

Feb 15, 2020

Excellent course. Give all base you need to become to understand statistics and jump in your first analyses!

By Avneesh A

Feb 4, 2020

Professor McGready is an amazing teacher and explains the concepts well with substantial amount of examples!

By Julia R d S C

Sep 19, 2020

Um ótimo curso para quem quer rever alguns conceitos básicos de bioestatística, mas também para iniciantes.

By Diego F S M

Jan 2, 2020

Very informative course with great emphasis in translating theoretical background to lab/research settings!

By Mohammed A

Sep 29, 2020

Absolutely phenomenal course. Learned quite a lot and the examples that are given just stick to your brain

By Sandeep K

Jun 21, 2019

one of the best course to start with statistics, the quiz is tricky

I would recommend it for the beginners

By WC D K

Aug 8, 2020

The concepts were explained very clearly. Thank you very much for your generosity in sharing this course.

By Rupok C

Jun 2, 2020

Great interactive course on fundamental statistics and how it is applied in the field of health research.

By Bhalchandra V

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent course, very relevant examples from clinical field and thorough explanation by the Instructor.

By Nadia F

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you for this course! I'm looking forward to taking the three other courses of the specialization.

By Richard M

Aug 4, 2019

Excellent introduction to a challenging subject for me. I look forward to continuing this course set.

By Yazan Q

Jun 17, 2020

Very clear thought process throughout the course with an intelligent way of explanation and teaching

By Temy R

Nov 10, 2019

It is very easy to understand. Easy language and many examples help me to learn a lot. Thank you!

By Lucky S

Aug 17, 2020

the course is amazing. absolutely loved it. never knew biostatistics learning is so interesting.

By Catherine M

Oct 6, 2019

enjoyed this class - appreciated the careful explanations and the examples from actual studies.

By Eduardo V C

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course!. I strongly thank John Hopkins University and Coursera for this opportunity

By J V

Nov 13, 2019

This course is a perfect stepping stone for understanding statistics in public health research

By Njoroge J G

Jul 15, 2020

I loved it. Absolutely amazing. I am more confident now as I continue my journey in research.