Chevron Left
Back to Supervised Machine Learning: Regression

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Supervised Machine Learning: Regression by IBM

4.8
stars
125 ratings
30 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to one of the main types of modelling families of supervised Machine Learning: Regression. You will learn how to train regression models to predict continuous outcomes and how to use error metrics to compare across different models. This course also walks you through best practices, including train and test splits, and regularization techniques. By the end of this course you should be able to: Differentiate uses and applications of classification and regression in the context of supervised machine learning  Describe and use linear regression models Use a variety of error metrics to compare and select a linear regression model that best suits your data Articulate why regularization may help prevent overfitting Use regularization regressions: Ridge, LASSO, and Elastic net   Who should take this course? This course targets aspiring data scientists interested in acquiring hands-on experience  with Supervised Machine Learning Regression techniques in a business setting.   What skills should you have? To make the most out of this course, you should have familiarity with programming on a Python development environment, as well as fundamental understanding of Data Cleaning, Exploratory Data Analysis, Calculus, Linear Algebra, Probability, and Statistics....

Top reviews

NV
Nov 15, 2020

Very well designed course, great that we could work with our own data and apply the theory. Looking forward to continue the journey.

AF
Nov 6, 2020

Great course and very well structured. I'm really impressed with the instructor who give thorough walkthrough to the code.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 32 Reviews for Supervised Machine Learning: Regression

By Christopher W

Jan 25, 2021

Really good course but it is whistle-stop through the methods. I strongly recommend getting a book to accompany the course if you are relatively new just so you can cross reference some of the methods and functions.

I found some of the examples a little more difficult to apply to the course work because of how they were demonstrated in the lab. This is NOT a bad thing, all good learning, but when you're trying to unpack things it's good to have another reference source handy.

By Nick V

Nov 16, 2020

Very well designed course, great that we could work with our own data and apply the theory. Looking forward to continue the journey.

By Abdillah F

Nov 7, 2020

Great course and very well structured. I'm really impressed with the instructor who give thorough walkthrough to the code.

By Nancy C (

Apr 24, 2021

Before taking this course, I tested similar courses offered by other institutes or universities. I am glad that I chose IBM because it has a good balance of concepts and applications. I learned a lot from this course. and will be using what I learned in analyzing experimental and survey data.

I gave this course a 4 instead of 5 because there was insufficient explanation on the different evaluation metrics.

By michiel b

Feb 15, 2021

Good overview of the different regression models and the theory behind them. Could be a bit more attention to common pittfalls and type and size of problems which are usually addressed by these methods.

By serkan m

May 3, 2021

Thanks very much for this great course. It is comprehensive and intuitive in terms of Regression analysis. It covers all the necessary tools for an essential and sufficient application of Regression analysis.

By MAURICIO C

Mar 25, 2021

It was an exceedingly difficult for me, sometimes JSON files under Jupiter Notebook links made me freeze. But this intensity of challenge brings me an improvement for my skills.

Thanks Coursera & IBM

By Konrad B

Dec 13, 2020

The instructor from videos is amazing. Great tutor. So far the courses from IBM Machine Learning Professional Certificate are really, really good.

By Nandana A

Dec 28, 2020

Learned really about supervised learning and more importantly regularization and some available methods.

By Ranjith P

Apr 13, 2021

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to excel in Machine Learning. This is a Great Course!

By Luis P S

May 4, 2021

Excellent!!! I rather recommend the course for those who need to understand properly and fast!

By Vivek O

Apr 10, 2021

Very well presented. This is without doubt the best series for Machine Learning on Coursera.

By Wissam Z

Jun 6, 2021

best course ever I learned regression and polynomials in a professional way.

thank you

By Goh K L

Jun 5, 2021

Please give the lecturer credit and include him as one of the instructors

By Patrick B

Jun 16, 2021

Great way learn about machine learning development of regression models

By Juan M

Jun 11, 2021

Very well structured course, the explanations were very clear.

By My B

Apr 14, 2021

A well structured course with useful techniques in real life.

By Ana l D l

Jul 21, 2021

like that it uses math and also use programming

By Nikolas R W

Dec 24, 2020

Great course to learn about regression!

By Alessandro S

Apr 15, 2021

Very well organized and explained.

By Rorisang S

May 4, 2021

Excellent!

By Volodymyr

Jul 15, 2021

Super

By Hossam G M

Jun 22, 2021

This course is very great. it focuses mainly on codes and how to get your models trained well with the best results. and for that a prior knowledge of the algorithms and the coding language in addition to the different libraries would be better.

By Gianluca P

Jun 4, 2021

very clear contents and explanations. Regression methods are thoroughly explained. Examples of coding are indeed a very good basis to start coding on the project.

By Pankaj Z

Apr 19, 2021

Very helpful course. There are few ups and downs but overall its helpful.