Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Sustainability by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,918 ratings
621 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Top reviews

KF
Dec 18, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW
Nov 28, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 616 Reviews for Introduction to Sustainability

By Jin Y

Jul 22, 2020

Very thorough and sufficiently challenging. The explanation really allows you to understand a lot of very foreign concepts easily. Thank you!

By Olena M

May 26, 2020

The course is comprehensive, although I pretty much knew everything about the topic it helped me to arrange the knowledge and systematize it.

By Denis L

Nov 6, 2019

great course which give enough details on a high scale of sustainability from a science point of view to economics and a more modern approach

By Francisco M M A

Aug 22, 2020

Very interesting and important information to understand our current situation and learn that we are in the time to make corrective actions.

By Joel S

Mar 18, 2020

The wealth of information was enlightening. I feel I have a much better grasp of the underlying science and issues for a sustainable planet.

By MANISH P

Nov 10, 2020

This course teaches concepts that are crucial for anyone trying to take action against climate change and achieve sustainable development.

By Lori A B

Jan 14, 2020

Great course, this helped me decide whether or not I would like to pursue a degree in this field (I decided in the affirmative). Thank you!

By Alpana D

Jan 9, 2020

It is a very good introductory course. It has really widen my knowledge about the topic and how to see factors important for earth system.

By Sandeep

May 16, 2019

This Course is moderate and very informative and can be done by anyone and there will be no need of any prerequiste knowledge required.

By Gan K H

Sep 11, 2015

I like how the lectures are delivered. It is very engaging, and the content has been very useful. Level of details is also good for me.

By Gustavo S L

Aug 21, 2020

this course was very interesting and will be very useful in my every day life, thank coursera to put it for free during this pandemic

By Robert U

May 22, 2020

A great course with a lot of new informations. It is very useful when you want to put in practice the things Mr. Jonathan teaches us.

By Shabarish P

Apr 27, 2020

A very good planned course. The instructor is awesome. He explanation is excellent. The whole course is prepared carefully. Thank You

By Egehan Y

May 31, 2018

Excellent course with a great professor. I have learnt a lot from it. It would be nice to have some more up to date sources, however.

By Leung K W S

Nov 13, 2020

Great insight! Very good foundation to grasp the principle of sustainability from a social science perspective. Highly recommended.

By ANANYA C

May 23, 2020

Ideal course for those who want to have a wholesome idea about sustainability over the period from centuries back to recent decade.

By Pichakorn J

Apr 6, 2020

This course gives me understanding and has inspired me to study more deeply on this topic. Thank you Prof. Jonathan Tomkin so much.

By Tamanna S

May 12, 2020

The course has significantly improved my understanding of key concepts with real-world examples and excellent additional material.

By Jade P

Apr 23, 2017

Great Content and Structure. I really enjoyed the course, it gives a good foundation about the huge topic which is sustainability.

By Charles M

Feb 4, 2017

These lectures are really helpful for people to understand current issues all the world; consequently, very one should learn them!

By Alejandro O G

Jun 13, 2020

Es un curso que vale la pena realizar! Aprenderás mucho sobre la sostenibilidad en la Tierra y los cambios que están ocurriendo.

By Macarena G

Mar 20, 2017

Fantastic course! It is worth doing if you are interested in Sustainability issues. I have learnt many things during this weeks!

By Nishant R

May 11, 2020

This course is very good & i enjoyed this course very much especially the videos and quiz are very much effective .

thank you

By Fabio E S C

Jun 22, 2020

A very good online course. I learned a lot about how I can change and contribute to a more sustainable future for all of us.

By Giada M

May 26, 2020

I really liked this course. It is very professional and give you a wide overview of all the issues related to sustainability