Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Sustainability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Sustainability by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
1,012 ratings
352 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the academic approach of Sustainability and explores how today’s human societies can endure in the face of global change, ecosystem degradation and resource limitations. The course focuses on key knowledge areas of sustainability theory and practice, including population, ecosystems, global change, energy, agriculture, water, environmental economics and policy, ethics, and cultural history. This subject is of vital importance, seeking as it does to uncover the principles of the long-term welfare of all the peoples of the planet. As sustainability is a cross-disciplinary field of study, this foundation requires intellectual breadth: as I describe it in the class text, understanding our motivations requires the humanities, measuring the challenges of sustainability requires knowledge of the sciences (both natural and social), and building solutions requires technical insight into systems (such as provided by engineering, planning, and management)....

Top reviews

KF

Dec 19, 2016

It is a well prepared course. Contents are carefully organized and plenty of concepts and examples are included and analyzed. Overall, it is a excellent course to get an overview of sustainability.

JW

Nov 29, 2015

This was my first Coursera course, and I wasn't sure what to expect; but was very pleased with the organization, timescale things were run on, and overall neutrality of the course. Very well done!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 355 Reviews for Introduction to Sustainability

By Valerie G

Aug 18, 2019

Very interesting and complete, with a great mix of theory and real-life examples. Highly recommended!

By Pedro D T A S

May 17, 2017

Everybody should do this course! Amazing how things are well explained and detailed! I am fascinated!

By Micaela S T Q

May 19, 2020

I am very grateful to Professor dr. Tomkin for his clarity, impartiality and transmitted knowledge.

By SURENDRA L

Apr 23, 2017

This is a great course, provides overall view of our life's with and without sustainable practices.

By Marcelo R d S B

Jan 28, 2016

Muito bem estruturado, professor com didática, conteúdo muito bem embasado com dados globais reais.

By Md. S A Y

May 28, 2020

Very much effective course .....I found a lot of statistics.It enrich my knowledge one step up....

By Shannon S

Nov 17, 2019

Very informative and well-organized lectures and readings. An excellent course. Highly recommend.

By Lalit J

Jul 02, 2018

The way course content was set and the way it was explained was very good and easy to understand.

By Marianne R

May 30, 2020

A necessary course for all aspiring environmentalists like me. Informative and straightforward.

By Rodrigo M V

Apr 26, 2020

Muy completo, los videos muy fáciles de entender en cuanto al inglés y la forma de explicarlo.

By Rick V

Feb 16, 2017

Professor Tompkins' discussed topics that were both informative and relevant to today's world.

By Kevin A Q M

Apr 30, 2016

Muy buen curso para entender el sentido de sostenibilidad y cómo hacer frente riesgos futuros.

By Daniel T

Nov 16, 2015

excellent course, content and professor. Very enlightening material delivered very digestibly.

By Denise G

May 13, 2020

Interesting study! I've learned a lot and goes way beyond my previous sustainability mindset.

By Silvana P

Feb 13, 2020

I am very happy about this course. It was very well done and I really enjoyed it. Many thanks

By Leandro B

Feb 02, 2016

O curso permite novas abordagens, bem como desenvolver novas visões sobre a sustentabilidade.

By Samantha L S E

May 23, 2020

A very engaging course that covers broad concepts and is thought-provoking at the same time!

By Madhur S

Apr 21, 2020

Great Course for beginners and Extremely well structured by Dr. Tomkins and the University

By Gabriel S G

Jan 09, 2016

Superou minhas expectativas, abrangendo áreas que não imaginei que estudaria sobre a área.

By Sujith V

Aug 06, 2019

It was personally an eye-opener towards sustainability for me in so many ways. Thank you.

By Cédric B

Oct 05, 2015

Great material, very interesting courses, I would highly recommend this course to anyone!

By Kesmat E D

May 06, 2020

Very insightful! I enjoyed every moment of this course and I would totally recommend it.

By Hamed V

Feb 24, 2016

It was great! Especially, Prof, Tompkin is conveying the fact in a very tangible manner.

By Dr A A

Jan 02, 2017

Highly recommended for who wants to know multidisciplinary linkages of sustainability.

By Sumit K M

May 11, 2020

Really a nice course. Instructor is very nice and easily explains difficult concepts.