Chevron Left
Back to System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services

Learner Reviews & Feedback for System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services by Google

4.7
stars
18,745 ratings
3,550 reviews

About the Course

This course will transition you from working on a single computer to an entire fleet. Systems administration is the field of IT that’s responsible for maintaining reliable computers systems in a multi-user environment. In this course, you’ll learn about the infrastructure services that keep all organizations, big and small, up and running. We’ll deep dive on cloud so that you’ll understand everything from typical cloud infrastructure setups to how to manage cloud resources. You'll also learn how to manage and configure servers and how to use industry tools to manage computers, user information, and user productivity. Finally, you’ll learn how to recover your organization’s IT infrastructure in the event of a disaster. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● utilize best practices for choosing hardware, vendors, and services for your organization ● understand how the most common infrastructure services that keep an organization running work, and how to manage infrastructure servers ● understand how to make the most of the cloud for your organization ● manage an organization’s computers and users using the directory services, Active Directory, and OpenLDAP ● choose and manage the tools that your organization will use ● backup your organization’s data and know how to recover your IT infrastructure in the case of a disaster ● utilize systems administration knowledge to plan and improve processes for IT environments...

Top reviews

DC

Feb 12, 2022

This is a course which I enjoyed. It gave a good insight of the learning methodologies which we have often heard of but not given due importance. Also, the brain facts is cool :) My 5/5 to this course

CS

Aug 1, 2020

The best course so far. I feel like this course actually showed us things we would be doing day to day in the workplace. It's nice to problem solve since that will probably be a big chunk of the job.

Filter by:

2901 - 2925 of 3,607 Reviews for System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services

By PJ D

Aug 11, 2020

A couple of the courses were very detailed an involved and gave me literal headaches. But I enjoyed this. The end tasks of you having to write out a review for different hypothetical companies was great. IT wasn't a "pick from these answers" test and it made me actually think and word things for myself. I also really enjoyed Devan (I think that's his name) as an instructor. Something about him really clicked. It didn't feel like he was reading off a script the whole time.

By Mohamed M K

Mar 9, 2022

It was a very useful experience for me and the most interesting thing that I learned in this course is to go deeper in the field of information technology and know what is happening behind the scenes through a very important field which is IT infrastructure in general. The moments I struggled with were the abundance of information, especially regarding Active Directory. And of course I look forward to taking the next course in IT Support Specialist certification .

By Roberto V B

Feb 26, 2019

Everything in this course is Great but I cant give it 5 stars because most of the Qwiklabs do not grade properly or do not work at all. I'm only thankful that they are not part of the grading process in this course and are only used for example purposes and visual/physical learning understanding.

The rest of the course content is in Depth and definitely more than enough to understand the basics and complexes of System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services.

By Diana D

Oct 10, 2020

This course was really well done, and covers a lot of ground in a relatively short amount of time. I wish the subtitles/transcript had been edited by a human being because I found loads of errors. A significant amount of those errors used incorrect jargon, changed the meaning of the sentence, or were incorrectly transcribed due to the speakers' pleasant accent. It would make the course more accessible for all learners if the text were accurate.

By John K

Jul 13, 2020

The course, by and large, is stellar. Easy to listen to presenters with clear concise explanations of concepts. My only concern is the LABS in the later stages of the course were not at all clear or complete. And why were there so many times a course segment that was either just click and continue (no questions or steps to do at all) or labelled as optional? What's the point of putting it in if students have the option to skip it entirely?

By Ewa ( B

Nov 2, 2020

The course was very informative overall. Lots of information about Windows PowerShell commands and the Linux command-line. I wish there was more hands on labs towards the end of the course on topics such as backup, disaster planning, system administration, and possibly several sample system administration/consultation videos. Towards the end of the course there was a lot of supplemental reading information and less learning videos.

By Todd M

Jun 23, 2020

As with all of the courses in this program so far, the course is presented well and the material appears to be very beneficial, but the sub-titles are awful. They're incorrect very often and appear to be created by a computer system with no human correction or oversight. I personally read the sub-titles during the initial video overview and then again when I review the material. Unfortunately, its hard to follow when its wrong.

By Paul P

Jun 21, 2020

This was a great course, though a little on the difficult side. Part of the reason is because the tools in this course are not used by an average user. For example I didn't know that Active Directory Service comes free with Windows Server evaluation copy. As soon as I found that out I created my own Domain and connected a PC to it in a virtual instance. It helps to try this on ones own to tie it all together.

By Gabriele G

Feb 15, 2019

The true Sysadmin-to-be course. From Platform services, through Web Servers and Database Servers management up till Cloud applications to IT infrastructure, Role based access control and Directory services this course shows you how to manage multiple clients in small-large organizations and master the IT infrastructure in every business. Maybe too detailed on Active Directory and not so much on Web Servers.

By Maximus B

Nov 23, 2018

Very good course, good job on the videos! I liked learning about all of these important subjects. One recommendation is that the audio in many of your videos (at least the microphone) seems to be going into one ear. It would be easier to concentrate if the audio was set to Mono rather than Stereo because of it being off-center. But I was still able to focus enough and learn the material. Thank you!

By Victor L

Nov 12, 2018

Lots of info was covered in this course. I almost feel like it could have been split up into two parts. Maybe that was just my experience but I felt that it was quite a lot to take in and understand. Along with that I feel that the previous course could have focused more on Powershell/Linux exercises since it was difficult for me to grasp the concept from the small amount that were in the course.

By Alexander N A

Mar 24, 2022

W​ould have loved to have more practical expoure to the concepts and services mentioned, especially the lab on trying out the Windows Active Directory which did not quite work out.

O​verall, it was an eye opener to learn about the many concepts, terminologies, services and how an effective systems administration policy could be the deciding factor for the success of any IT enabled business today.

By Ethan W

Oct 31, 2019

A lot of this information was too big to be covered in such a short time. If I had to suggest an improvement, I would probably suggest making the lessons less specific and more general - in this way, there would be a lot less information to digest at once. In a few of the lessons, each sentence spoken was a new thought with new information given, making it hard to follow along with.

By vignesh r

Jul 1, 2018

Need some more detailed explanation on AD. Most of the sessions instructor suggesting too many items in supplemental reading. Also supplemental are too advance while studying. Need lab on active directory because previous courses can learn from home system but this one need server OS and need hands on experience like creating new user account, setup domain, applying group policies.

By Carlene C

Apr 14, 2021

Sometimes the information was confusing and difficult to follow. The labs were most frustrating and anxiety-producing. The course is too long and arduous. The IT jargon is overwhelming for someone with little technology proficiency. Overall, the course was interesting and the support was excellent most of the time. The encouragement received when asking for help was exceptional.

By Cynthia D S

Jul 26, 2020

Excellent material. Very comprehensive. I would give this course 5 stars except for two things: 1) the convoluted QwikLab instructions and 2) the Active Directory section of the course. On this last item -- did anyone notice that the Active Directory screen shots are utterly horrible? Not viewable? This was deeply disappointing. Otherwise I would give this course 5 stars.

By Dylan P

May 6, 2021

I liked most of this course. The content covered was good and the design of the course generally made sense. There were multiple parts where I found myself stuck, due to a sudden dump of information in long videos and/or multiple challenging labs. I think the core content is good and could be great with some tweaks to pace the content.

Overall, I would recommend the course.

By Brent K

Jun 5, 2018

The course was overall good, but I had a problem with the final assignment. Nowhere in the instructions for the assignment could I find where it said you needed 5 process improvements for each. Only in the peer review rubric was that information present. I didn't pass the first time because I didn't bother with the peer review rubric until I started doing the peer reviews.

By Ian S

Jun 21, 2018

Lots of great information. I really wish there was more interactive assignments using Google compute engine. How can you discuss virtualization, and not require students to demonstrate it? The same could be said about most of the course topics. Overall, I would recommend the course for it's scope and organization of material. The instructor is engaging and easy to follow.

By Deleted A

Jun 30, 2020

I think personally this course is good for beginners who will dive into the world of IT, especially in the administration of systems and infrastructure services, which in this course there is also a lab for participants to practice directly what has been learned, this makes this course memorable. By practicing directly, participants can better understand what is learned.

By David M

Aug 19, 2019

I feel like I learned a lot of valuable information. However, I would have liked to be challenged more; since the labs were ungraded it felt like they were less important, and I was a little disappointed that the final project wasn't peer-graded. That being said, I thought it was fun to consider how to make recommendations for Systems Administration in the final project.

By fahim h

May 18, 2020

A bit too fast, and not enough time taken to build fundamentals. More visuals/animations - especially for the active directory parts would have helped a lot. Either way, I applaud the teacher for trying to tackle such a big topic in such a small setting - it must have been very challenging trying to compress all this into a digestible, introductory course. 4 stars.

By John K

Apr 18, 2022

Presenter a little hard to understand at times. Blurring words together but overall was fine. I would have benefitted more from the course being better organized to explain options and tools and do a a better job in integrating them together since this was probably the most important course of all. Overall, was very good and I appreciate the team putting it out.

By Oliver M

Jun 1, 2022

This was definitely a task. I appreciate the opportunity to take this course because I needed the discipline. It would've been great if there were some more hands-on real-life scenarios but I definitely got value from this course. Google, thank you for giving us the chance to take this course and further our insight into the evergrowing world of IT!

By Michael F T D O T N

Aug 17, 2020

Parts of the course where easy to understand, but some parts where difficult due to the lack of clarity and terminology used in the us. but i got there in the end.. sometimes in the course especially week 5 the video would complete but the green tick to say i watched the video had not come after the lesson so i had to reload the videos.