Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
2,663 ratings
710 reviews

About the Course

We will introduce methods to perform systematic reviews and meta-analysis of clinical trials. We will cover how to formulate an answerable research question, define inclusion and exclusion criteria, search for the evidence, extract data, assess the risk of bias in clinical trials, and perform a meta-analysis. Upon successfully completing this course, participants will be able to: - Describe the steps in conducting a systematic review - Develop an answerable question using the “Participants Interventions Comparisons Outcomes” (PICO) framework - Describe the process used to collect and extract data from reports of clinical trials - Describe methods to critically assess the risk of bias of clinical trials - Describe and interpret the results of meta-analyses...

Top reviews

MJ
Jan 7, 2019

Although introductory, I do carry out reviews as a researcher. I Learned a lot to improve my systematic reviews through this course. High quality, though the music could be a little less intense.

PS
Aug 22, 2019

Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course is a very good source for beginners which provides an overview on fundamental terminology and steps involved in the systematic review.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 706 Reviews for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

By Lei W

Sep 17, 2016

Meta-analysis 101.

This course introduces some basic concepts of evidence-based medicine and meta-analysis. The peer assignments are well designed, which encourage students to read papers critically.

However, practical and advanced meta-analysis skills are not introduced in lectures. Looking forward to future advanced courses!

By David H

Jan 18, 2021

It was great to learn step-by-step with leading experts from medical research fields. Sometimes it was difficult to skip from one text to another (I would prefer PDF for reading) but even so it was a unique experience! Thank you all who had spent a lot of their effort and time to prepare this course.

By Xiaoyu Z

Oct 17, 2018

Overall good course. You can have view all the basic about systematic review in the field of medicine and public health.

Two short shortcomings in my view: 1. Based on clinical medicine, people in other field may take some time to get through; 2. English subtitle some mistakes, like "now" as "null".

By Dhakshila N

Nov 4, 2020

Thank you for offering the course. It was really helpful. In some lectures about 1 minute (30 s at the beginning and 30s at the end) was wasted for music. I kindly request you to remove that. In addition, some subtitles were incorrect, especially in the lectures in 6th week. Kindly correct those.

By Milagros d P P G

Jun 6, 2020

I will like to thank you for this opportunity. I loved the dynamics of the class, completely clear and concise the information. Both peer assessment were a challengue, because reinforced the critical opinion and knowledges acquired. So, thank you so much ofr the quality of this experiencie

By Dr . G S

May 8, 2020

1.Amazing course by john Hopkins.

2. I would additionally suggest to please give an advanced course also including some reviews on statistical programs for systematic review and explain heterogeneity statistics in detail.

3. Also please include some topics on registration in PROSPERO.

By Ali S

Aug 4, 2020

I will recommend this course to all the research scholars for academic carrier and for individual growth as well. The way of learning in this platform is not only theoretically limited but also how you implemented this knowledge to daily routine basis research has been focused well.

By Nikolaus T

Jul 3, 2020

I love the material, the speaker. But I can't give it five stars since I have trouble taking assignments. It should be done in HMTL file or and upload the link but it just can't. Maybe It can be improved by giving a tutorial or steps on how to assign and answer those assignments.

By Carlos C

Jun 23, 2016

Excellent course for students and researchers who want to start exploring systematic reviews and meta-analysis! There some few minor problem with the materials. Also, I wished there more advanced information regarding meta-analysis. Maybe you can develop an second course :)

By SUROJIT S

Sep 25, 2020

Its a very informative and well structured course with practical examples which help to understand the doing of Meta-analysis for the participant in near future. All the assignments are also well designed. Overall its a great course to start learning about the topic.

By Sofie F

Jul 13, 2020

I like the course very much. It provided a thorough overview of performing a systematic review and meta-analysis. I just wish that they also used observational studies as examples, as I feel not all concepts are easily transferred from interventional studies.

By ANASTASIOS K

Feb 1, 2021

Very helpful course, in terms of understanding basic components of systematic review and meta-analysis, thus useful if one is conducting a systematic review, or simply if they want to read a systematic review and interpret results.

By Seethu S

Aug 11, 2020

I am undertaking a meta-analysis of findings in a particular stream of research in my area of expertise (outside healthcare, in management). This course was useful in terms of guiding me on best practices in meta-analysis. Thanks!

By Johan L

Oct 27, 2017

Excellent introductory course. Both on systematic review and Meta-Analysis. Some room for improvement in the mathematical section of the last part on meta-analysis is possible: either in depth and slower or less math-detailed.

By Yuqing W

Oct 4, 2017

Very informative course with practical knowledge to take away. My one comment is that the content and the course modality is a little dry and I think the learners would benefit even more from this course if it's more engaging.

By Jessica

Jun 24, 2020

This course is great! But I think if there's hand on assignment on how to do the systematic review and meta-analysis would be better, such as the software or the calculation. Thus, we can have more insight during the course.

By Hossam M

Apr 1, 2020

The part illustrating meta-analysis results and related statistical concepts should have preceded reading, I didn't understand many concepts that the whole lectures 7 & 8 depended on.

Other than that, It was a great course

By Abdulmajeed A

May 25, 2020

it maybe better as introduction to be shorter so we no one gets confused or lost. I think this course is more that introduction. However, it was interesting, I enjoyed the course during the quarantine :)

Thank you all

By Dr. E L C

Dec 21, 2019

This course is highly informative, but the focus on health sciences/medical research is very overwhelming for those who are not in the medical field. integrating other examples for social scientists would be helpful.

By Sebawe S

Jan 18, 2020

Great course for a start!

A prerequisite is a general knowledge in clinical research and some epidemiology.

Has a lot of details, and one definitely has to revise it as they go along building their research paper.

By krishna k

Jan 1, 2021

At the end of the course , a small practice to conduct a systematic review should have been there.The course must focus more on the systematic review part per se ,rather than basic biostatistics part .

Thanks.

By Ashley L T

Jan 15, 2020

Really excellent information. Would have appreciated more basic discussion of statistical concepts, or a link to resources for those not as familiar with them or without a background in epidemiology.

By Aya A O

Jan 9, 2018

This is a good introductory course to how and why systematic reviews are performed. I would have liked to have one assignment at the end to try and apply it ourselves but all in all great course !

By Asad U H

Apr 17, 2020

It must include some basics for Statistics involved in Meta analysis, other new students joining from world because they did not study this in their Epidemiology classes in their universities.

By Catia M R P

Aug 10, 2016

The course is a good introduction to the topic, however, it is a pity that there is no follow up to the course. At the end of the course you will not be able to perform a SLR + meta-analysis.