Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
2,562 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

We will introduce methods to perform systematic reviews and meta-analysis of clinical trials. We will cover how to formulate an answerable research question, define inclusion and exclusion criteria, search for the evidence, extract data, assess the risk of bias in clinical trials, and perform a meta-analysis. Upon successfully completing this course, participants will be able to: - Describe the steps in conducting a systematic review - Develop an answerable question using the “Participants Interventions Comparisons Outcomes” (PICO) framework - Describe the process used to collect and extract data from reports of clinical trials - Describe methods to critically assess the risk of bias of clinical trials - Describe and interpret the results of meta-analyses...

Top reviews

MJ
Jan 7, 2019

Although introductory, I do carry out reviews as a researcher. I Learned a lot to improve my systematic reviews through this course. High quality, though the music could be a little less intense.

PS
Aug 22, 2019

Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis course is a very good source for beginners which provides an overview on fundamental terminology and steps involved in the systematic review.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 670 Reviews for Introduction to Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

By Adam O

Nov 27, 2016

Great

By Dr V B

Nov 25, 2020

good

By Mangali M

Sep 29, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Sep 26, 2020

good

By gabriela s

Sep 3, 2020

good

By illona o w

Apr 27, 2020

good

By Ahmed s b

Apr 9, 2019

Grea

By Angela

Aug 26, 2016

Good

By Édison M C

Feb 5, 2018

Exc

By Yamile C S C

Jun 22, 2019

OK

By Amani

Mar 11, 2020

T

By GINA K S R

Jan 23, 2020

.

By Hayley F

Sep 1, 2020

Overall, I enjoyed the course, and as someone who has read systemic reviews but not undertaken them, I feel that I have learned a lot. The course is not perfect - some of the information presented is out of date, with the videos appearing to be at least five years old. Much of the course is underpinned by reviews which determined how to optimize systematic reviews, and it is likely that more is now known than when the videos were made. The age of the course also meant that the quoted sections of the Cochrane Handbook are several editions out of date, and the module on search strategies included screenshots of PubMed's old interface rather than the new 2020 interface. However, the underlying principles for both the Cochrane Handbook and PubMed are the same, so this didn't detract too much from the course. The three instructors had varying presentation styles, with one tending to read every word on the slide. Luckily an engaging speaker delivered the majority of the videos.

By Felicitas A d C

Aug 24, 2020

Learned a lot about meta-analysis and systematic reviews. Module 8 took it for granted that everyone has had epidemiology and statistical courses that are used in the module. The course is not only for public health students and professionals but also other members of various disciplines.

There should be an optional module on the basics of the statistical procedures for module 8 for non-public health course attendees. This additional (optional) module will facilitate the use of the statistical procedures mentioned in module 8.

By Mohammadali M S

Mar 26, 2017

It is very useful course for beginners and although those who have done systematic reviews/meta-analysis before in order to improve their basic understanding. There are few shortcomings with the course:

1- lectures frequently refer to biostat and epidemiology classes, but no reference or links has been provided for these classes.

2- The course ends without any lectures on meta-regression and sensitivity analysis, which is a bit confusing as the module 8 promises such lectures.

By M. A R

May 25, 2020

I believe the lecture slides would have been more attractive! There was long discussion (sometimes 15-20 minutes) at a stretch which was sometimes tough to concentrate for students whose native language is not English. Course should included how duplicate records after searching from different databases could be done. Still I am convinced to carry on the course! Highly appreciated! It was just amazing to brush up my current understanding of systematic literature review.

By Taneya S

Mar 31, 2018

It is an excellent course for beginners. It explained in detail everything you need to know to get started with systematic reviews and gave enough examples. It also gave a list of references to read further. I know it mentions that is from the health care field- but they could have incorporated examples from other fields as there is no bar to students in other fields to take this course. None the less the course was very useful and planned very systematically.

By Shorouq S R A

Oct 15, 2018

the course was very professional, yet simple to understand and perfect for beginners and intermediate level researchers. it provided valuable sources for further readings and the peer review assignments, I think should be more than two, because I learn what I learn by applying it carefully for an exam.

thank you for putting this much of an effort to provide this amazing course

By Ana M d A G F

May 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and think it was accessible, even to someone coming from other areas. However, in the meta-analysis theme, the pace was to quick and the accent was sometimes difficult to understand. If the discourse could be a little bit slower, maybe it would be more easy to understand, specially because it is one of the most hard parts of the course.

By Manuel B

May 2, 2016

Well matured course that provides a great digest over a very complex topic and is a fantastic gateway to get started on the topic. Don't expect a terribly engaging set of presentations, but it is factually very useful and worth the time for those relatively new to the subject. I found the amount of content easy to handle on the side, while working full time.

By Lei W

Sep 17, 2016

Meta-analysis 101.

This course introduces some basic concepts of evidence-based medicine and meta-analysis. The peer assignments are well designed, which encourage students to read papers critically.

However, practical and advanced meta-analysis skills are not introduced in lectures. Looking forward to future advanced courses!

By David H

Jan 18, 2021

It was great to learn step-by-step with leading experts from medical research fields. Sometimes it was difficult to skip from one text to another (I would prefer PDF for reading) but even so it was a unique experience! Thank you all who had spent a lot of their effort and time to prepare this course.

By Xiaoyu Z

Oct 17, 2018

Overall good course. You can have view all the basic about systematic review in the field of medicine and public health.

Two short shortcomings in my view: 1. Based on clinical medicine, people in other field may take some time to get through; 2. English subtitle some mistakes, like "now" as "null".

By Dhakshila N

Nov 4, 2020

Thank you for offering the course. It was really helpful. In some lectures about 1 minute (30 s at the beginning and 30s at the end) was wasted for music. I kindly request you to remove that. In addition, some subtitles were incorrect, especially in the lectures in 6th week. Kindly correct those.

By Milagros d P P G

Jun 6, 2020

I will like to thank you for this opportunity. I loved the dynamics of the class, completely clear and concise the information. Both peer assessment were a challengue, because reinforced the critical opinion and knowledges acquired. So, thank you so much ofr the quality of this experiencie