Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Systems Biology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Systems Biology by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.3
stars
503 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

Top reviews

SV
Feb 6, 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR
Aug 7, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 103 Reviews for Introduction to Systems Biology

By Rene R I

Jan 16, 2016

Great course! It explains very generally but clearly all different aspects involved in Systems Biology. The material used is good and so are the articles used for learning.

By Balu R

Aug 8, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

By PALE L

Nov 16, 2020

This course has been a very instructive course for me. I would like to thank ISM and Dr. Iyengar for his sacrifice for sharing his knowledge!!!

By Ganeshan J

Jul 7, 2020

Really helpful in both gaining confidence and knowledge! Such a wonderful online platform to expand our knowledge in our field of interest

By Cristina B

May 3, 2020

excellent introduction by one of the most outstanding expert in the field, Prof Iyengar

many thanks from Cristina , Milan , Italy

By Lun X

Jul 19, 2016

Ravi is a great researcher. This class is taught with great clarity and expertise. Subtitle is much less impressive though.

By Nurzhan A

Jun 16, 2020

A fantastic introductory course. One should really treat this as an overview that needs to be followed by further study.

By Amirhossein M

May 18, 2021

Coursera make it different...

I'm pretty lucky to find a systems biology course like this.

By Doreen B

Jun 7, 2019

Great introduction and overview. Exams are especially well thought out.

By Zhengyuan X

Jul 24, 2018

Really great course! Can't wait to learn more about systems biology!

By JOHN Q

Jul 18, 2017

fascinating, difficult, and interesting course. Thanks so much!

By Mac D G

Jan 14, 2018

that corse was really beneficial and useful for me. Thanks a lot

By Adriana A C T

Jul 20, 2020

aulas muito dinâmicas e muito bem explicadas, adorei o curso.

By SHERRY C B

Jul 12, 2021

This online course is very helpful and very educational.

By KOUMENE T G I

Mar 2, 2016

Very very very interesting!!! First step in a new field.

By Areej Q

Jan 26, 2018

This course was very engaging and extremely insightful.

By Reghan M

Sep 1, 2021

Its a good course, covering wide area in Biology

By Oluwafeyikemi O

Oct 13, 2021

Wonderful, I really learnt a lot

By 刘文昊

Feb 6, 2016

A good step to learn this area.

By Mrinal V

Dec 29, 2015

3rd week and I am loving it! :D

By Aakash S

Feb 23, 2019

Dr. Iyengar was a cool guy.

By Aditya A D

Jun 10, 2020

Good course content!

By changhao l

May 18, 2016

It's very helpful!

By Udara R A

Apr 30, 2021

very informative

By keeran s

Jun 11, 2019

NICE EXPERIENCE