Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to TCP/IP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to TCP/IP by Yonsei University

4.5
stars
824 ratings
238 reviews

About the Course

You use the Internet through your PC (Personal Computer), laptop, tablet, smartpad, and smartphone every day in everything you do. Through your own PC/laptop, you can easily learn everything about the Internet, and that is what this course is focused on. In this course ‘Introduction to TCP/IP,’ you will learn the operational functions of Internet technologies (which include IPv4, IPv6, TCP, UDP, addressing, routing, domain names, etc.) and your PC/laptop's security and gateway Internet setup and basic principles. In addition, through a simple Wireshark experiment, you will see the TCP/IP packets and security systems in action that are serving your PC/laptop, that serves you....

Top reviews

MK

Jul 08, 2018

Awesome course, though the questions could have been better and the high level details on protocols and all could have been highlighted in a better manner. Non the less, its an awesome course.

AA

Dec 02, 2017

It was so interesting and helpful course. I enjoyed with this course. I got a lot of knowledge about Networking,TCP/IP model, Cyber Attacks and Protecting,Wireshark and etc.\n\nThank You

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 240 Reviews for Introduction to TCP/IP

By Курышев Р Э

Dec 29, 2018

Awesome course that sheded a light on communication technology. The lectures are quite involving but given at straightforward language avoiding use of hard technical terms. I would like to convey my heartfelt thanks to prof. Jong-Moon Chung for the job he has done. Highly recommend the course to all newbies at the telecommunication area.

By Raju D

Nov 18, 2017

This course is just the cornerstone towards networking advanced concepts . All lectures are simplified to be understood ,Hence i enjoyed the course through having essentials concepts .

By Gerald V J

May 22, 2020

This is a very good course for beginners and intermediate computer users. It introduces the basics of TCP/IP and many such protocols in a clear and crisp format. The trainer Jong Moon Chung was excellent and his accent, presentation deserves praise. I recommend this course for beginners and experienced personnel alike. Thanks Coursera for offering this Free of charge.

By Navid R E

Mar 14, 2019

It could be more specific and detailed. His accent was really good though.

By christopher j m

Mar 25, 2020

I had a basic understanding of the TCP/IP, but this intro course was a little more in-depth than expected! It definitely gave me a better foundation to build on. Module 5 could use some improvement. The tutorial on downloading Wireshark was fine, but the follow-on lessons on Wireshark employment left quite a bit to be desired. Overall, I recommend this course. The professor seemed knowledgeable and easily related the material.

By Japneet S C

Jun 18, 2019

This course is just a bunch of random networking videos, without any structure. Also there were couple of mistakes in the videos of first week and Last weeks assignment was a joke.

By Lian A

Oct 05, 2018

Being very new to networking, new concepts were, in general, slowly and logically introduced, with tangible, real world examples/metaphors for abstract concepts. My only criticism is that a lot of information is introduced in the first week's lecture, without reassurance that in-depth, previous knowledge of these concepts is not necessary, so I spent a lot of time researching what would eventually be covered anyway.

By HASSEN H

Mar 17, 2018

I really enjoyed taking the class, was a lot of information about TC/IP protocol. Very well explained by the professor, well organized, details, and assignment were about the topic of the course. I Highly recommend this course for a beginner into the IT major. Good luck for everyone taking this class

By Michael R

Feb 25, 2020

Explained the basics of TCP/IP in a well structured and understandable manner. Recommend the course to anyone looking how a simple connection to internet (www.google.com for example) or a ssh to hostname / ip address works and the what the gateway, router, subnet means. Thank you Professor.

By Soodabeh G

May 08, 2020

Very interesting course. It was somewhat compact and many topics were introduced. Although I finished the modules, I am planning to revisit lectures again. It gave me a great foundation while introducing me to many new concepts such as hashing Vs. encryption & Wireshark project

By zaki h d

Nov 25, 2017

its an amazing course, now i have a good understanding of what tcp/ip is and how data is recieved and transmitted also internet attacks and how to prevent them. thank you to coursera younsie university and professor jon-moon chung for making this course availabe

By Martin E

Oct 16, 2019

Great introductory course in TCP/IP networking, also included a lot of interesting extra reading through the recommendations for each lesson. So after every lesson you could learn more and dig deeper. Wireshark lesson was especially interesting and fun.

By Eslamhafez

Oct 30, 2017

Before this course, I had many doubts of my understanding about how the transmission is happening from one point to another.

This course gives high level and low level definitions about protocols and networking for beginners.

I high recommend this course.

By Mohamed M L M

May 30, 2020

It is a very interesting and useful course and I will nominate it for my friends so that they can benefit from it and the lectures are also a simple and easy explanation and the scientific material is excellent and I wish more courses in the CCNP

By Terence J M

May 12, 2018

A good introduction for those of us who are new to the world of internet protocols. Very informative lectures with clear explanations that don't go too deep into detail as to lose you. Just enough to whet the appetite for more...thank you!

By Saddam A Y A

Apr 29, 2018

the course is very interesting and the way of teaching the subject more interesting

and easy i understand this subject now better than when i studied it before back in collage

and the way of explaining with videos if very good

By Irving F C P

Mar 29, 2020

Curso bien estructurado, inicias con conceptos básicos de tu propia computadora, estudias los diferentes prototipos de comunicación y finalmente analizas los paquetes recibidos de un servidor en un ejercicio practico.

By Manish K

Jul 08, 2018

Awesome course, though the questions could have been better and the high level details on protocols and all could have been highlighted in a better manner. Non the less, its an awesome course.

By Arthur C

Mar 06, 2018

This course is a very comprehensive, intensive and precise introductory networking course. The course materials are well designed to the extent that every screen worth memorize and every sentence of professor's lecture google for further information. I have never come across a course as precise but well-structured as this.

By Har P R

Jun 16, 2020

Course is great. But after completion, it ask for money to provide completion certificate. I just finished but cannot afford to pay for certificate. I hate the way Course designer traps student. If it is free, then why are you asking money to provide completed certificate ?

By frankzhang

Dec 28, 2018

Supper clear especially chapter 1 subnet and routing table parts! It would be better if you can combine the IP4,6 header with wireshark lab together. And the rest of the chapters lack depth but are good for starters.

By Thierry K

Sep 05, 2019

I didn't finish the course on time for various reasons so I missed the deadline for the final assessment but overall my initial goal was achieved: to gain a solid introductory knowledge into TCP\IP i can build upon.

By Suresh C P

Jun 03, 2020

I am already learned about networking but this course update my skills some Topic is very exciting and new for me like Networking Security & breaches and Wireshark projects.finally i enjoy and learn a lot.

By ONGOLU V P R

Jun 14, 2020

This course gave me an overall overview of internet protocols, how the data packets are being transferred between the systems, a brief view of cyber attacks, and an overview of the usage of Wire shark.

By Sanwal C

Feb 17, 2019

It is a good course for beginners to get to know how behind the scene modern day internet works. The course also contains topics related to cyber security threats and how we can minimize those attacks.