Chevron Left
Back to The Teacher's Social and Emotional Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Teacher's Social and Emotional Learning by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
455 ratings
145 reviews

About the Course

Social and emotional learning, or SEL, programs have flourished in schools during the last decade. While this growth has been impressive, inadequate attention has been paid to teachers’ social and emotional learning. In this course Dan Liston and Randy Testa introduce you to various rationales for why teacher SEL is needed as well as examine and reflect on various emotions in teaching and learning. This course is a part of the 5-course Specialization “The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL)”. Interested in earning 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization?? If so check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first module of this course for additional information. We want to note that the courses in this Specialization were designed with a three-credit university course load in mind. As a participant you may notice a bit more reading content and a little less video/lecture content. Completing and passing the SEL Specialization allows the participant to apply for 3 graduate credits toward teacher re-certification and professional enhancement. We want to ensure the quality and high standards of a University of Colorado learning experience. Interested in earning 3 graduate credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Specialization? Check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first week of this course for more information....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 26, 2020

It is an amazing course for all teachers and educationists who want to dig deep into the subject of social and emotional learning. I learned so many things and I hope it will benefit me in the future.

A
Jan 4, 2019

I was feeling down about my recent teaching experiences and this course has reconnected me to why I began teaching in the first place. I will return to the readings for future enlightenment.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 145 Reviews for The Teacher's Social and Emotional Learning

By Kemal T

Aug 10, 2020

I enjoyed it so much.

By SHREYA M

Sep 26, 2020

Wonderful course.

By Mónica S R S

Dec 16, 2020

Amazing course!

By Graciana L

Nov 15, 2020

Muy interesante

By Dayan S G S

Jul 19, 2020

excelente curso

By Abduxoliqova M B

Sep 25, 2020

understandable

By Jay N

Apr 10, 2020

Great course!

By Deepak S

Aug 19, 2020

Nice course

By nitin m

Jul 29, 2020

Nice course

By SUNANDAR S

Jun 6, 2020

Interesting

By Clara E G R

Dec 4, 2020

Excellent!

By Ruth I M V

Nov 12, 2020

Excelente

By Zaripova M Q

Sep 25, 2020

wonderful

By Tekane C

May 5, 2020

Excellent

By Theresa E S

Aug 20, 2020

good one

By Vasif V

May 7, 2018

Perfect

By Mona A A

Jun 1, 2020

ممتازة

By Nang M T A

Oct 21, 2019

Thanks

By Marlene J F A

Nov 17, 2020

This is an extremely relevant topic, I never thought that taking this course would take me through a know-myself journey! I really loved it and I found it very helpful to improve my teaching development. I have just 5 years of experience, but I have already felt both sides, the positive and negative ones. It helped me a lot to know that it is going to depend on myself how to overcome the negative ones.

As a constructive comment, I would say that the readings are too long and complex for non-native speakers, like me. I would rather videos explaining them like the ones you included in the last week.

Thanks for everything, I´m sure I receive great tools to analyze myself and to find the ways to improve.

By Valerie V K

Aug 17, 2018

This course involves reading a lot of old text passages that feel rather outdated. It feels like it could be offering more modern-day, practical lessons on how to manage the task of managing a classroom. Now that I've completed SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being, I have a better understanding of why the course isn't focused on that: there are many SEL strategies, and different forms of teacher training will be provided depending on the strategy used. Still, it'd have been nice to get an overview of the most common ones used.

By Deleted A

Feb 28, 2018

I loved it. Really inspiring. Just missed more practical exercises instead ob reading, but still love it. The videos are incredible and made me think a lot about different ways of teaching as well as why is it so important to connect with students or people in general and no just teach them something and leave. I have always thougt that we have a lack of feelings, and that we should try to improve this to have better realtionships in general throughout our lifetime. Because we all know we only live once, but If we do it right, once is enough.

By Tierney L

Oct 6, 2018

As a young teacher who just recently left the classroom I could sympathize with much of the content. It really helped me put my feelings into perspective. I cannot say that it was convincing enough to make me want to get another job at a public school, but it did allow me to better communicate to others about why I struggled in that environment.

By Florentina D S

May 2, 2020

Exploring the self- as a teacher is often an overlooked process, but ever so important. The course helped me reflect better as a teacher. The course ware enable me to pull key points for me to work with in the new future, and I'm sure I'll be revisiting the reading material to help me cope in the long term.

By Julieta G

Jul 9, 2018

I really enjoyed thinking about my teaching experience and as myself as a person in contact with others rather than just someone who stands in front of a class. However, I did find some of the readings to be rather obscure.

By Adriana A J

Sep 15, 2020

information is really useful but texts are hard to read, the embedded format in PDF doesn´t allow to make letters bigger to ease the reading, and the questions are really hard LOL!! I had hard times going through quizzes!!