Chevron Left
Back to The Technology of Music Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Technology of Music Production by Berklee

4.8
stars
1,036 ratings

About the Course

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Top reviews

JJ

Feb 7, 2021

This course gave me a working knowledge of the many parameters of a DAW. I really have a base knowledge to continue my studies and not get frustrated with mental blocks in navigation of the software.

NV

Aug 18, 2022

everything is clearly mentioned, good overall couese. i think it would be better addtional materials are given for various DAW's, because sometimes finding options in daw's were little bit difficult

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 336 Reviews for The Technology of Music Production

By AFONSO F G L R

May 1, 2020

The course has good material and a lot of information for 6 weeks. That's a good moment for review if you already know about the subjects, or introduce for beginners.

By Daniel A C P

Oct 12, 2020

La información fue muy precisa y todo fue muy útil. Te ofrece una visión general pero muy clara de lo que puedes lograr con los recursos que ofrece esta tecnología

By David O

Jul 13, 2017

This was an amazing course. Totally loved the way Loudon delivered it. I will definitely go back and re-do some of the material that was definitely more in-depth.

By Anyela P B

Apr 10, 2020

This course is indeed the best introduction to the world of music production you can have !! It helped me a lot to improve and take my music to the next level !

By Nihan G

Nov 16, 2017

Very intensive and detailed course about technology. You will not find a how to's but you will definitely have a new understanding of sound and the terminology.

By Félix M

Sep 7, 2016

This course is amazing since it teaches you a lot of useful techniques that can be used in the most popular DAWs. It totally changes the way you perceive sound.

By Maria d L L A

May 1, 2017

Overall a great course to be introduce to music production! The teacher is great and it covers a lot of material in a very short time. I totally recommend it!

By Ricardo P O

May 30, 2018

One of the best courses that I have taken. By the end, it gets a little bit complicated about Synthesis of Sound but the knowledge you learn is excellent.

By Sita Z

Jan 26, 2022

What a great course filled with amazing and useful information even though it is fairly old, it is still up to date when it comes to knowledge.

By Oderinde T M

May 18, 2022

This course gave me a good foundation into electronic music production. I am confident to move forward on this journey to making great hits!

By Kumar G M

Oct 21, 2017

Yup a 5 star course . It teaches you from A2Z I mean from basics to advance . Definitely give it try even if you have experience of 4 yrs .

By Albert M

Jul 12, 2016

Addicted to it. Applies to a wide range (from begginers to advanced users) and the interaction with other students is great in the forums.

By Vasil Z

Nov 3, 2017

The amount and quality of information and learning included in this course is something that no can afford to lose. Very recommended.

By Paul M

May 3, 2017

Excellent course. Lots of information and very fast paced. The instructor is very experienced and knows what he is talking about.

By Demestra R H

Dec 12, 2021

Very in-depth and informative course. You'll walk away with sound fundamentals and a good foundation to build on. Focus is key.

By Manu P

Jul 14, 2023

I Learned a lot of information:

Propagation

Midi Files

Audio Types

Folder

Signal Flow

EFX Reverb Dalays( Chorus, Flanger)

Cables Etc

By Felippe A P

Nov 4, 2021

It opened doors that I could not imagine reaching, it is part of the beginning of my journey, this course is worth all my time.

By Rajeesh V C

Sep 11, 2020

This really helped me a lot to improve myself technically.Loved the way of teaching by explaining everything from the root :)

By Wesley I

Feb 26, 2019

Great course, gives all the essential elements on musical production, all concepts, in detail was presented in these 6 weeks

By Дмитрий М

Sep 18, 2017

Thank you Loudon for the company and for the hard work preparing and shooting this course. Hope to see ya in person one day.

By Mariia R

Jan 21, 2021

It is such a great course! Thank you for this opportunity! A total new world just open for me, I am eager to dig in deeper!

By diego a

Dec 22, 2020

it was great i filled a bunch of knowledge gaps i had from a course i took here locally plus learned a bunch of new stuff.

By Georgios N

Apr 16, 2020

Well presented lectures and examples. The lecturer covered a variety of topics with accuracy and completeness. Many thanks

By Igor A

Dec 27, 2019

Great course! Even if i already familiar with technology - it was great to re-learn things in structured way. Thank you!