Chevron Left
Back to Sequences, Time Series and Prediction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sequences, Time Series and Prediction by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
3,834 ratings
616 reviews

About the Course

If you are a software developer who wants to build scalable AI-powered algorithms, you need to understand how to use the tools to build them. This Specialization will teach you best practices for using TensorFlow, a popular open-source framework for machine learning. In this fourth course, you will learn how to build time series models in TensorFlow. You’ll first implement best practices to prepare time series data. You’ll also explore how RNNs and 1D ConvNets can be used for prediction. Finally, you’ll apply everything you’ve learned throughout the Specialization to build a sunspot prediction model using real-world data! The Machine Learning course and Deep Learning Specialization from Andrew Ng teach the most important and foundational principles of Machine Learning and Deep Learning. This new deeplearning.ai TensorFlow Specialization teaches you how to use TensorFlow to implement those principles so that you can start building and applying scalable models to real-world problems. To develop a deeper understanding of how neural networks work, we recommend that you take the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

MI
Jun 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, especially because it combines all different components (DNN, CONV-NET, and RNN) together in one application. I look forward to taking more courses from deeplearning.ai.

OR
Aug 3, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn from such great experts in the field and get a complete understanding of all the concepts involved and also get thorough understanding of the programming skills.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 617 Reviews for Sequences, Time Series and Prediction

By Eric L

Dec 11, 2020

If one has seen LSTMs from the previous course and has been exposed to time series there is a little conceptual material to learn from this course, but of course the focus is on tensorflow/keras programming. Highlights were learning how to include lambda layers (which allow one to execute arbitrary code in the network) and how to automate selection of the learning rate.

By yuan j

Aug 16, 2020

I learned some time series models and processing methods, but I think this course is too simple and too shallow, for example, there is no prediction of the situation that contains complex features, and how to combine autoregressive features with other features. Models in this course are very popular and are used by everyone, there is no deep stuff

By Yusuf F M

Jun 13, 2020

A really helpful course for those who have just started their journey in the field of machine learning and AI. Strongly recommended for gaining great insights within the field, though all the materials covered are quiet shallow and practical. Use this as a way of learning the tools, not for mastering the theoretical background behind it.

By Arslan G

Mar 28, 2021

I really wish you could extend the course to multivariate time series prediction, as well as into multivariate time-series multiclass classification. That was indeed the reason why I wanted to learn more about sequence models, as I will be using them in my research on decoding EEG signal. apart from that, it's an excellent course

By Abhinandan T N

Apr 26, 2020

Sunspot example was good, but i preferred to have few more examples to exhibit different types of real data, like data having both seasonal and also trend. Though the concept is well explained using synthetic data confidence on the subject would have more if had real data for all different types.

By Amir H

Dec 14, 2019

Thank you for this very interesting and informative course. I really enjoyed the simplicity in explanation and the hands-on implementations. One thing that I think will improve this course further is to add more intuition and explanation of using particular structures like CNN followed by LSTM.

By Vaibhav v s

Jul 22, 2020

The awesome learning experience with Coursera. So far, I have completed up to the Deep learning specialization. All the courses are well structured with self-learning, live quiz, and assessment. The trainers are good, connect to students, and answer questions. Happy learning.

By FERNANDO D H S

Jul 10, 2020

Good course, I'd liked more the evaluation methodology of the first two courses on the specialization: questionare and coding excercises. Although here we have ungraded excercises it is more rewarding to see that effor translated to the grades.

Thanks again and great courses.

By Eli S

Aug 2, 2019

I was looking for a basic step by step guide to Tensorflow and this course was amazing. I can now use my knowledge in DL from Deep Learning course better. The instructor was great, explained everything clearly. I think it was better if there was programming assignments too.

By Sharad C R

Dec 30, 2020

This course enables you to start using TensorFlow as an off the shelf tool. The idea of this course is to make you comfortable with using TensorFlow for predicting time series data. Theory and statistics behind dealing with such data is beyond the scope of this course.

By Amarendra M

Sep 6, 2019

I think this course will be of great help if one has worked on time series data. I was a complete novice to time series, and found it difficult to relate. However, I learnt a great deal about the tensorflow technical aspects.

Thanks Lawrence for making it so easy :)

By Alfonso C

Sep 20, 2019

The course is great, but I would have loved knowing more about how to deal with multivariate time-series, data sets with many time-series, variable prediction horizon etc.

Hope a more advanced course on time series forecast with tf.keras is under construction! ;-)

By Yogendra S K

May 25, 2020

It was great to start with synthetic data than applying the model to the actual data. It would have been great if assignments were mandatory and new case studies could be practiced. Otherwise course is great to do hands on with tensorflow.

By David R C S

Jan 6, 2021

before this course, I didn't have knowledge about time series and the problem with the course is I end with the same lack of knowledge because it's more like a tutorial about how to build your NN that a understanding of what is going on.

By Yingnan X

Oct 28, 2019

The homework exercise seems to heavily overlap with the demo notebook that I can simply copy and paste the code into the exercise notebook. It would be great if in the future the exercise can be a little harder and involve more thinking.

By Shiladitya P

Mar 19, 2020

I learned the best practices for forecasting using statistical techniques as well as deep learning networks in this course. One point for improvement is to focus on a few multi-variate examples with code, which was absent in the course.

By Adnan D

Dec 7, 2020

It was good totally, but I think the assignments weren't enough also I expected the multivariate time series to be covered but it wasn't, I'm waiting to see this teacher next course soon I wish for better assignments and a cool topic!

By Александр З

Oct 1, 2019

I would like to have more info on window and batch sizes - seems to be pretty important values to work with, but they are not covered in depth.

In general, greate course that shows how to prepare sequences, feed them in to NN.

Loved it.

By Vahid N

Jan 19, 2020

It is very easy to follow this course. I wish some function/object options and arguments (such as why we use Y^hat (hat is usually reserved for estimated values) and not Y in LSTMs) were explained in more detail for curious readers.

By Neelkanth S M

Nov 27, 2020

As with an machine/ deep learning model, data preprocessing is the most underrated part. Taking this course exposes students to various pre-processing nuances that are helpful in training a deep learning model.

By Tobias L

Nov 12, 2020

Nice and short introduction to time series handling in Keras. As with the other courses, this is a simple hands-on course. I therefore recommend to take the DeepLearning Specialization before this course.

By WALEED E

Jul 17, 2020

The course is fantastic. It was a bit short and with some hyperparameters tuning focus, it could have been great. Also, it seems that it is biased to show that LSTM is always superior to RNN networks.

By mehryar m

Dec 27, 2019

I'm so glad to take this course and build my knowledge regarding time-series data and modern approaches to create prognostic models. Thanks to Andrew Ng and L. Moroney to provide this course.

By Siddhartha P

Mar 27, 2020

Few hands on programming assignments could be better for experience as was the case with starting two courses. Overall good course and the structure was well laid. Thanks for building it up

By William G

Aug 16, 2019

Though I feel some aspects of this course did not delve deep enough into the explanations of some functions, the course helped me understand how to use models for time series problems.