Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,814 ratings
679 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

PR
Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 662 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Vitor S L

Feb 20, 2019

As an introductory course, the lessons were an enriching experience. I hope there will be subsequent courses at a more advanced level!

By eman m b

Jul 11, 2017

Thank you. The course was very useful and contemporary in the information it provided about current events in the international arena.

By Susana T S

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

By Annesha K G

Aug 18, 2015

Very useful course. Instructor is very good. They way instructor taught is simple & very helpful. Thank you for this friendly course.

By Ignacio V F

May 20, 2021

Excelente curso. Muy bien estructurado y permite acercarse a los estudios de Violencia Política desde la mirada de los terrorismos.

By Ernesto L G G

Dec 9, 2019

Es un Excelente curso que atiende problemas actuales con información veraz y con alto sentido reflexivo que promueve el aprendizaje

By Horacio L

Nov 28, 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

By Fernando M

Dec 3, 2015

Great! Openminded and a place where you can learn things from different areas, such a geography, history o sociology... Weel done!

By Valentina P S C

Oct 3, 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

By Margaux T

Sep 19, 2021

Very interesting & insightful, and the course went far more into depth than I expected from an online course, which is great!

By Stanica E

Nov 8, 2020

It sets a solid ground for further research and motivates practicians to come closer and better communicate with researchers.

By Diean I D R

Aug 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

By Derek T

Sep 15, 2020

A good introductory course for beginners, and a refresher and knowledge enhancement course for experienced CT practitioners.

By Daniil B

Apr 7, 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

By Henrik O

Aug 21, 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

By Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

By Marietjie J

Oct 23, 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

By Judy R

Oct 21, 2020

The course is really difficult but I learned a lot. I hope to take more courses with such profound research. Thank you!

By Miriam E G

Feb 13, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

By Veritatem C

Jul 1, 2021

Muito bom. O Curso nos oferece uma oportunidade para conhecer o assunto e esclarecer muitos pontos obscuros do tema.

By Jeff W

Mar 27, 2020

I learned a great deal during this course and really appreciate all the hard work/time that went into creating it.

By Josefina G

Nov 24, 2019

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo totalmente a aquellos que estudian ciencias políticas o relaciones internacionales.

By Alexandru M G

Dec 6, 2018

Very professionally taught, a great variety of topics, not easy to pass, lean for life ! I strongly recommend it !

By Lorenzo A

Feb 11, 2016

The lectures are very clear and the readings extremely interesting, including many articles written by top experts

By B B

Jan 18, 2021

Excellent course that opens your mind to the word of counterterrorism and the terrorist groups that are in play.